We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, suitable for large groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Eurotel

Save Saved
You added Atlas Eurotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas Eurotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwewe Weg 7, 6301 Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, suitable for large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in a big room of 4 single beds with my dad and my brother. We stayed for one night as we had a booking at another hotel but we arrived one night early.
the room was big and the beds were small but comfortable. Extra pillows and blankets in the closet. Tv was small and we didnt try turning it on, but i think its a good idea for the hotel to update to LCDs. No fridge in the room, which is very common in Valkenburg hotels and not very convenient. Bathroom is pretty big with shower stall and bath tub.
Breakfast room was very nice, breakfast was decent but coffee wasnt very good.
Wifi kept disconnecting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An average budget hotel, my poor rating comes from a failed heater. That meant I had to sleep in my clothes, not amused and even then I was still a bit cold. The bed was fairly comfortable, but I've had better. TV was acceptable for range of channels but to my surprise it was an old-style TV not flatscreen as it is common almost everywhere I've been. Breakfast wasn't too bad, didn't enjoy the coffee sadly. It must be said that it's super convenient for trains to/from Valkenburg, quite literally a 2 minute walk away with half-hourly trains for much of the day and only 14 minutes away from Maastricht. Germany is not far away although I was touring Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg this week. Staff were friendly and helpful, but I'm not in a big rush to return. Shower was of reasonable quality, was sure welcome in the morning!

I did have a mixed grill in the restaurant which was quite nice but rather expensive in my view.

If there's nothing else in the area, I'd go for it but not hugely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You get a very good impression of this hotel as the public rooms are very comfortable. Lovely dining room, bar and lounge area. There is even a downstairs smoking room which is shut off from the other rooms, must be handy for smokers when the weather is very cold! This becomes a disco on Friday and Saturday nights which keeps going until 3.00 am! No smoking allowed then!
Unfortunately the rooms aren't up to the same standard - our room was very tiny and smelt badly of damp. Our friends in the next room asked for and received a better room but we decided we could put up with it for 2 nights. We soon wished we had moved as the noise from upstairs is terrible. You can hear the people above you walking about, showering and flushing the loo!
The food was good although the service is very poor - thank goodness breakfast is self-service! I did check a room on the top floor and these was much more pleasant. Perhaps the rooms on the ground floor were once staff quarters? Avoid room 116 if you can and unless you intend to go to the disco at the weekend avoid the rooms above the bar.
It is very close to the town centre so convenient for the procession in December, the Christmas markets and the numerous cafes and bars.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and the rooms above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a no-frills, nothing extra hotel. We chose this place for 2 reasons - the location (easy driving access to Maastricht, NL and Aachen, Germany) Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights and had plenty of time before we left to check out Valkenburg, which in itself, a lovely little town that's definitely worth a second visit.

What's Good --> The hotel (in general), the room and the bathroom is clean - no doubt about it. It may be dated and traditional looking, but clean. And the reception was always pleasant, especially the morning shift. Adequate breakfast spread - bread, cheese, ham and eggs. The bed was comfy.

Minor Complaints --> The bath area is pretty small.. Couldn't move around without bumping into something. And we had a room that was strategically smacked right in the middle of a spotlight shining from the hotel's awning which bathed our room in colorful changing shades of green, blue, red and yellow throughout the night. But by the 2nd night, we were too tired to notice the lights. Oh and, parking is charged at EUR2 per exit, which was a hassle since we were coming a going a lot!

Also, we stayed on a Friday and Saturday.. and things got rowdy in the streets on Friday night that carried on till about 3am. This is of course, no fault of the hotel, just a bunch of young people who drank too much and decided to shout their conversation.

All in all, a decent hotel :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main road - there's major upgrading roadworks and also drunken indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worc's
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One long day to get there and one to get back, a 5 day tour became 3 days in Valkenburg. A nice town in a good location, handy to the three countries of Holland, Germany and Belgium. The reason for being there was to attend the Floriade at Venlo, Holland, 80 kms away. This is a garden festival held only once every 10 years.
The hotel was in line with most coach tour hotels. more than adequate but tired and needing modernisation The staff were efficient friendly and helpful
The food however was awful. I never know if the coach company pay so little, or if the hotel just don't care. No fresh vegetables, so little effort in making a meal enjoyable, no choice. After finding out the menu for the last day we took ourselves of to a nearby restaurant to cheer our taste buds up.
The hotel was in a good location, a short walk to the station or the town centre.
I would return to the town as I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Room 144 was large, quiet and perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here as part of a coach group in May. On first arriving the room I was allocated was dire. There was an electric socket hanging off the wall, with wires protruding. The room was none too clean and the bed old with a very thin mattress with holes in the sheets and the toilet seat was hanging off.. I turned around and walked out. The tour rep complained and was told no other rooms were available. She refused to accept that and another room was found. Much cleaner and more comfortable but no drawers to put any small clothing items away and the only plug found to be able to use a kettle meant unplugging the TV and standing the kettle on a chair as there was no bench space. Don't expect any tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, they are not provided although they did relent and reluctantly provided them the first night. We were also told we wouldn't be offered tea or coffee after our evening meal but could pay for it.

The twin room friends were given was tiny with no room to walk between beds and they had to walk sideways against the wall on one side and window on the other to get into their beds. Their shower room was also very small and gloomy.
Staff at meal times often looked as if they would rather have no customers than a full hotel, The breakfast was the same each morning, scrambled egg with bits of hard ham mixed in, hard boiled eggs, plastic cheese, yogurt, cereal but we had to constantly ask for milk to put on it and bread.
The evening meal was a little better, soup, a choice of either meat or fish each evening and a pudding, all very well cooked and nicely presented.

This hotel really needs some attention to the state of the rooms and I'd be reluctant to class it as 3*

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed for three nights over New Year with Travelsphere trip. On first arrival all looked ok until we went to our room which was not only tiny but very depressing and dim until the energy bulbs warmed up. The bed was comfy but the decor and furnishings were dire and initially we just wanted to find another hotel. However, I'm glad we didn't as the hotel itself was really good. The staff were pleasant and the atmosphere in the bar was good with a nice variety of very strong beers. Two bottles of 7.5 percent beer was 7 euros.
On New Years eve the management pushed the boat out with a great firework display and free sparkling wine, sweet pastries and cheeses at midnight.
The town centre is a few minutes walk, just come out of the front of the hotel walk about 20 metres to the end of the road and cross over to the left by the traffic lights and again across that road and that's the start of the centre. There are loads of nice little bars/cafes/shops etc to keep you amused for half a day.
Maaschrict is just a ten minute ride away and I'd well worth a visit, again lots of shops and bars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Eurotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Eurotel

Address: Nieuwewe Weg 7, 6301 Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Eurotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Atlas Eurotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Eurotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Eurotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.