We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from hell.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas 2000 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlas 2000 Hotel to your Saves list
Atlas 2000 Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas 2000 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broekhem 33 / 35, 6301 Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel from hell.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was the 5th of April 2013 when my classmates and I first arrived at the hotel, i'm not sure if it was the unfriendly faces we were greeted with, or the odd smell in the air which put me off first. Of course, it was a school trip, so we weren't expecting much. Our suitcases were heavy so naturally we took the elevator; which to our amusement didn't have any doors, we found this funny, but not particularly safe.The rooms, oh dear god, the rooms. firstly when they say a room for three, they mean two 3 foot beds and a bumpy mattress on the floor. Oh well, at least we could now use the toilet after a long coach ride. Oh wait. No, the toilet wouldn't flush! And I kid you not, the shower might as well of been a hose pipe dangling from the ceiling! The walls were incredibly thin, and the doors wouldn't lock properly.The food was okay, but the waiters were intimidating; asking fourteen and fifteen year-old's if we were going to smoke, what they described as "Puff puff". Oh dear. All i can say is, please don't stay at this Hotel, there is so much more to be said about it, none of that being positive, unless of course, you find sleeping under stained bed sheets, and washing yourself with a hosepipe comforting, then Atlas 2000 Hotel is the place for you!

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    11
    9
See reviews for
4
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited this hotel with my boyfriend's parent's, one of who is in a wheelchair. Before visiting the hotel was called to ask if they could accommodate someone in a wheelchair and we were told yes, they had a larger room for this. What they failed to explain that this room was a family room with no direct access to the bathroom from the second bedroom and that in taking this room "they were too full" to give us also a second room (of any size).

The bedroom was not totally clean (for example, used cigarettes in the ashtray on the balcony and hairs in the sink). The TV was missing working batteries and when we asked for new ones they said they would look for some. Later we were given two non-working and corroded batteries. The internet was also not working.

The overall attitude of the manager was that he couldn't be bothered.

On the plus side, the town centre is a pleasant walk's distance from the hotel and there was plenty of parking (extra charge).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the more expensive rooms and perhaps look elsewhere if you have someone who is disabled i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

very nice hotel when you book the right room!! is really important, because when you arrive you think you are in the oldest hotel ever!! they have a complete new building behind and that is very nice and worth your money!! so, be sure you book a deluxe room, they all have balconies, and SUPER boxsping beds...so check this with the hotel. the old part is really terrible, sorry to say..the entrance of the hotel and the elevator and hall is not nice at all. But bar, breakfast room and people are nice.. breakfast is ok. we did not eat lunch or diner, so I dont know. we booked a weekend with entrance Thermae 2000. very cheap in high season for 125 euro's pp(incl breakfast, 2!! nights,deluxeroom + entrance thermae 2000, wich is on weekend day 31,50 + entrance casino)we had a splendid weekend. the centre is NOT 10 minutes walking though ...that is NONSENSE... it is at least half an hour,we used the car, but parking enough and at the hotel parking is free.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My partner and I had been touring Germany by car and had planned to stay our last night in Valkenburg so that we had a reasonably short journey back to Calais. I had read the previous bad reviews but it did not deter us as we wanted a large hotel to ensure we would get a room after a long drive. What a lovely surprise the hotel was. The previous review in 2008 was for a room in the main hotel with the new annex being built. We had a room in the new building and it was very nice. The room was large with modern furniture and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was fabulous with a modern bath and a separate shower, all in pristine condition as the building is new. There was a small balcony that overlooked the car park and it was very quiet at night. The room cost 70e but with the tax you have to pay came to 73e.

For dinner we went to the restaurant where it was a set menu which changed every day. When we were there on a Monday it was hot bread and garlic butter, mushroom soup, a choice of steak or fish with sauces (with vegatables on the plate) with chips and a salad, followed by a chocolate ice cream dessert for 20e each. It was OK but nothing special.

We then spent some time at the pleasant bar, and during the evening we had 5 small beers, 3 brandys and 2 cokes and that came to 27e. Later in the evening we found out that there was also a bar menu but we did not know about this until after we had dinner, which was annoying. It would have been nice to know there was a choice of where to eat. The information in the room brochure did not mention the bar food.

The hotel is in a very good location, being only 5 minutes walk from the centre. There is not that much in Valkenburg - a supermarket, a variety of shops and lots of bars. We walked around every where in about an hour. I understand this town has a Xmas market, which would make it very busy, but in September it was quiet.

I would definitely use this hotel again when we tour as long as we get a room in the new annex, as I do not know if the main hotel rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a number of friends as we were all going to a wedding.

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in and was soon nicknamed “faulty towers” Upon arrival at the hotel we found the car park which was mentioned on the web site had become a building site where a new block was being built and we had to park in the street. Our room was tiny and looked like all of the furniture had come from the 60/70’s – the bedside table interestingly looked like it had been fitted with a car radio and was made of pinkish Formica!! It was a double room with two single beds, one of which appeared to be a child’s bed and was at least a foot shorter than the other one.

The room had two good size windows but when undoing one they both came open and a child could easily have fallen out – onto the building site below – luckily as we stayed at the weekend there were no works going on but I imagine these would be noisy.

The bathroom was so tiny you could sit on the toilet, wash your feet in the shower and your hands in the sink all at the same time!! And the ceiling tile above the shower was disgusting.

Although all rooms are decorated in the same way some are a lot more spacious, although one friend had a bathroom which was too small to fit the sink so this was in the bedroom area!

Breakfast was ok; it was continental but a fair variety of items.

Whilst I would not recommend that anyone stays here the town of Valkenberg was lovely, very pretty and plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

Spent two nights at The Atlas Hotel in December 06. The hotel was clean and homely. The room was spacious and comfortable. The food was good, although our evening meal was a 'set menu', there was no choice. I don't know if it was because we were with a coach trip. Perhaps booking privately would make a difference. All in all I would say it was a lovely hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

i went on the same football tour as my friend who has left a comment and i think he has been quite reasonable with his review. everytime we went out to play football, things had gone missing, although i enjoyed the green soup the rest was awful. i did quite like the food but one day we went out and i found my toothbrush 5 doors away in a different room. i would strictly advise people to stay away from this hotel if staying for a lenghty time. okay for 1 - 2 nights

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas 2000 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas 2000 Hotel

Address: Broekhem 33 / 35, 6301 Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas 2000 Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Atlas 2000 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas 2000 Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas 2000 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.