We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy and Costly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Valkenburg

Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Valkenburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parkhotel Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 68, Valkenburg 6301CJ, The Netherlands (Formerly Parkhotel Rooding)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Creepy and Costly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Here are the positive aspects about the hotel: good location, very good swimming pool, nice sauna,friendly staff.

Negative apects: very creepy, expensive breakfast, not enough towels provided for swimming, fitness room with really inferior equipment.

Not a terrible place to stay but I would not stay there again. Something about this place is really creepy. Like the setting from a "B" grade horror movie from the 40s. Under other circumstances one could say this place has a certain atmosphere. Unfortunately that atmosphere is "Creep-ville."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
30
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The area is nice but the room is small and also the bathroom. I find the Roomrate too high. However the breakfast is excellent and this we enjoyed. This place is close to Maastricht which is a very nice area to shop or to have dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went for a weekend getaway at Valkenburg and choose the Parhotel, it was already dark when we arrived, and I couldn't shake the feeling that the hotel was a part of the movie "The Shining", it's not that well pointed out and when you drive up there, you really think Jack Nicholson will be coming out, shouting "Here's Johny". But in daylight it looks plezant with some history behind it.
Okay, I booked a stay in hotel and made an error in the dates, for some hotels this would be a hurdle not to overcome and it would left me behind with a guilt trip to remember towards my wife. Not at this hotel, they didn't made a fuss out of it, re-booked the room and made sure the diner - reservations were booked.
So a very good start from what turned out to be a great weekend, after checking in and settling in at the room we went for the included diner, we didn't expect much of it and were already making some plans to visit another restaurant the next day when it wasn't great. But to our surprise, the food was excellent and original, the service was nice, and the grandeur of the hotel added some flavor to it all. Needless to say we ate there the next day as well, and again the kitchen was able to surprise us with a nice 4 course meal.
The breakfast area is a bit disappointing, but the view is marvelous, with a great lookout over the town and that makes up a lot. The breakfast itself is complete and the staff is very helpful to satisfy every need. So this was a great way to start the day! We shopped until we dropped so I can't comment on the pool and sauna, because we didn't visit it, although it was one of our criteria to pick this hotel, but we just didn't had the time...

So to sum it all up, very nice stay, with a very professional staff in all the area's , reception, bar, restaurant and general. We searched around for Jack Nicholson, but didn't find him, next time, we will try again.

Room Tip: We didn't choose a room but it seemed to me that every room has the same standards, so it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a two night new year package and decided to stay a further night. The hotel itself is situated within walking distance to the village and sits up on a hill (unusual for Holland!!!). We had a room on floor 3 which was lovely. Included in the deal was dinner and the food was beautiful. One thing I would recommend is to ask for a specific table as on our first night we were placed at the door to the restaurant. When we asked to be moved, we were told that we could not. Our waitress said that the manager had said no but did nothing to appease us as customers. He in fact ignored us for the rest of the night, attending to every table except ours. I found this quite disappointing especially since there were two tables which were unused while we were there. The following morning, the restaurant manager did approach my partner and asked which table we wanted for dinner that night but did not apologise for the previous night. Despite this, breakfast and dinner were very nice, lots of choices at breakfast and a set menu for dinner but top quality. The hotel has leisure facilities (pool, sauna etc) which were great although the steam room was never working. It was a great way to relax with the pool on one level and the sauna on another. Be warned though, the dutch like to go naked in the sauna!!!

Room Tip: Ask to pick a table if you are staying for dinner and take your swimming gear but remember that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My previous two trips to Valkenburg were marred by poor hotel experiences – the hotel rooms were outdated, poorly ventilated, beds were uncomfortable, and overall in need of a total refreshing. But the third visit was a charm – the Park Hotel has it all: nice restaurant, good parking area next to the hotel, great beds, nice indoor pool & fitness area, and an overall quiet location that resulted in my best stay yet in Valkenburg. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the center of town and the historic sites - making restaurants easily accessible and eliminating the need to drive & find parking elsewhere. Hotel rates were reasonable and included an extensive breakfast buffet. Will definitely use this hotel the next time I visit Valkenburg.

Room Tip: If you smoke, book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Parkhotel is situated a few hundred meters from Valkenburg's center, so it is quiet but you can walk to the old town in minutes. The hotel is large and has an old feel. However the rooms have been renovated and look modern. The standard is not really op to 4 stars, though and decoration is a bit bare. There is plenty of food for breakfast at the buffet. You have to pay for parking, which is a bit surprising, There is also a sauna and swimming pool but we did not have a chance to visit it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A fantastic hotel, and very nice staff in a very great place, the village were this hotel is situated is a gem in Holland, this hotel is very old, full of history and very well preserved, the room where a stayed was modest but nice, this hotel has all so great leisure facilities, I highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkhotel Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Valkenburg

Also Known As:
Parkhotel Rooding Valkenburg
Address: Neerhem 68, Valkenburg 6301CJ, The Netherlands (Formerly Parkhotel Rooding)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valkenburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Valkenburg 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Parkhotel Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Valkenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.