We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved my perspective of Valkenburg Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Valkenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel Valkenburg to your Saves list
Parkhotel Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 68, 6301CJ Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly Parkhotel Rooding)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Improved my perspective of Valkenburg Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My previous two trips to Valkenburg were marred by poor hotel experiences – the hotel rooms were outdated, poorly ventilated, beds were uncomfortable, and overall in need of a total refreshing. But the third visit was a charm – the Park Hotel has it all: nice restaurant, good parking area next to the hotel, great beds, nice indoor pool & fitness area, and an overall quiet location that resulted in my best stay yet in Valkenburg. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the center of town and the historic sites - making restaurants easily accessible and eliminating the need to drive & find parking elsewhere. Hotel rates were reasonable and included an extensive breakfast buffet. Will definitely use this hotel the next time I visit Valkenburg.

Room Tip: If you smoke, book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
13
46
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Parkhotel is situated a few hundred meters from Valkenburg's center, so it is quiet but you can walk to the old town in minutes. The hotel is large and has an old feel. However the rooms have been renovated and look modern. The standard is not really op to 4 stars, though and decoration is a bit bare. There is plenty of food for breakfast at the buffet. You have to pay for parking, which is a bit surprising, There is also a sauna and swimming pool but we did not have a chance to visit it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A fantastic hotel, and very nice staff in a very great place, the village were this hotel is situated is a gem in Holland, this hotel is very old, full of history and very well preserved, the room where a stayed was modest but nice, this hotel has all so great leisure facilities, I highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel for more than 10 years. In that time it has evolved from being an historic (its more than 100 years old) but somewhat run-down family affair to a friendly, if still quirky, modernized hotel. The process is still underway and you may share the dining room with a crew of painters! New rooms have been added and these are very clean and comfortable, if a little small. Most of the older rooms, which are large with high ceilings, have been modernized, although some of the changes -- electonically controlled showers in the bathrooms, for instance -- are just annoying. Service is good and friendly, the breakfast is excellent. Location is a little out of the center of town, but the leafy surroundings are very pleasant. Value for money has gone down as prices have risen over time with the modernization. Still, its a grand old place for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was very dissapointed by the service in the hotel, The room are not comfortable even though they have just been renewed, they have nothing more than very basics, no safe, fridge, table or a kettle. The service was very slow; We ordered a taxi for 3 days, not a word was said to the driver about our destination, and everyday, it was a different scenario to explain to the driver our destination as my husban d and \i dont speak Dutch. In short, you feel you are in no man's land. I am surprised it is rated as a four star.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th seem to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Arrived at the hotel late friday evening for two nights and yes it looks quite nice from outside. When you step inside the hotel it does look tired and dirty but that is because they are having a refurbishment in the hotel so the public areas are not that clean, but then we started to think what have we come to. We got our key card from check in, reception staff very nice and welcomming. We started walking through the hotel and there was dust and wood on the floors it didnt look good. We got to our room on the top floor we had a suite, opened the door and the only way to describe the room is WOW the refurbishment is amazing, the room was so big, the bathroom amazing just everything you need to make you stay enjoyable and relaxing. The one bad thing about the room is that the beds are two singles but comfortable to say the least. We had breakfast both days again which was faboulous and dinner one night which was to say the least amazing for the money. All staff are so polite just wish all hotels employed staff like this. All in all a very nice stay at the hotel just a shame about the building work but cant really complain never actually heard any noise. I would definatley want to return to the hotel later this year early next year as i think it will be the best hotel in valkenburg once all the refurbishment is done I just beleive it will be amazing. Just if you are planning to go soon look past the building work and see the amazing work they are doing to the hotel. I Just hope they dont raise the prices of the rooms/ suites when the hotel is done cos i really want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

I stay here because a convention I attend takes place here. The location is quite good with the restaurant giving excellent views of the town. The breakfast selection and the room is quite nice. There is also a terrace outside with seating. Rooms are dated but with high ceilings and with charm and character. I got excellent room rates but this was because of group rates for the convention. The staff was very helpful as when the modem on my laptop refused to work, they let me use their reception computer for internet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Valkenburg

Address: Neerhem 68, 6301CJ Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly Parkhotel Rooding)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Valkenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parkhotel Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Rooding Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Valkenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.