We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Ruins & Velvet Cave

Castle Ruins & Velvet Cave
Daalhemerweg 27, Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“unexpected delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had heard very little about the caves beforehand, but was surprised by the size of the complex and the artwork therein. We took the train, and the local guide was very good with the explanations for the origins, the war years, the cold war years, and the more recent artworks. As previously commented by another, it is very difficult to take photos as the train doesn't stop much. Nevertheless I got a couple of good shots to remind me of an interesting site.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    104
    37
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The castle ruins are just that ruins. I didn't pay to go inside, because after seeing the outside littered with graffiti it didn't seem like a worthwhile investment. There are many other sights to see while you are there. This would be the last of the list.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“town cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I would recommend the train to see the caves but it is hard to take photo's while moving and unless your video has light it will be hard to get a good view

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice caves intresting to visit specially with christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The caves in Valkenburg a specially nice to visit in december at christmas time. Though a little commercial ( nog much santa items lots of normal stuff + food items) its cosy and attractive.
Just worth a visit. Whole of Valkeburg is made attractive arround christmas. Lots of bars, hotels and restaurant choice.
In the summer Valkenburg has lots of tourists there is lots to do in the surroundings.
Visiting the coalminers cave is worth while too. Old coalminers give guided tours and tell about the life the had under the ground. Interesting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Valkenburgh is an absolute delight at Christmas with all the streets, open spaces, shops, restaurants, cafes and bars beautifully decorated and sparkling with a vast amount of lighting. As we wandered through the paved streets we caught glimpses of the floodlit Castle Ruins which is quite a climb up to it and worth the effort. The castle was built in the 12thC, destroyed in the 17thC. Escape tunnels lead to the Velvet Caves.These with the Municipal Caves house the Christmas Markets. The Romans started excavations about 2000 years ago mining the marl to use as building material. There are wall paintings and plaques expressing the past and a guided tour is not to be missed. Although they are reffered to as caves truly they are ancient mine workings. We acquired a street map to explore the rest of the town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Ruins & Velvet Cave also viewed

Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 

Been to Castle Ruins & Velvet Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Ruins & Velvet Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.