We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine and artistic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fleur

La Fleur
Plenkertstraat 16, 6301 Valkenburg, The Netherlands
+31(0)43 6013780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Valkenburg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Steenokkerzeel, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine and artistic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A dinner at La Fleur is not a normal meal, it's an experience. From the setting and beautiful decoration, to the quality of the food and its superb presentation. A cup of coffee it's an experience in itself. Good service. There is an artist hidden in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The menu is small but the dishes perfect! It is not often that I am this impressed with a dish at a restaurant but to have everything I tasted make me say wow is a first. Which is why I thought I would write my first review ever for a restaurant.
Thank you for a very memorable night La Fleur. Sorry for eating the chocolate decoration on the desert plate. Not sure I was supposed to do that as it must have taken ages! Oops :-/

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food is ok to good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is good solid dining, nothing fancy, but nothing that you are going to say ... why did I come here? We found something on the menu for everyone - 3 kids and 4 adults.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cHICAGO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a place that has more candles than the Vatican. Service was average. 4 Cheese Pizza was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delights...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We found La Fleur purely by chance........ An Autumn evening, it was still comfortable to sit on the terrace. The menu read as a challenge for any great Chef. The decor also made me slightly dubious as to the restaurant's 'philosophy'..... Were they trying their luck here in this commercial corner of the Netherlands......???? All was soon revealed, and from start to finish the food and service were of the highest standard. I ate a Classic lobster thermidor, the wines were super, and the atmosphere is such that one can forget time. Very enjoyable, relaxing and friendly. Chef Pierre Schmetz has a varied and colourful background and ranks, in my opinion, alongside the Classic Cuisine greats.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fleur also viewed

Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 

Been to La Fleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.