We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
kildare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel and grounds are spectacular. Its very old world with pool, spa and church on site. Excellent food and attentive staff. Bikes are available to hire but should be free of charge to guests. An orchestra was playing at 2pm on the grounds on the day we checked out. I definitely did not want to leave it was so peaceful & tranquil but alas with their prices its was time to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    81
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
92
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The beautiful buildings of this splendidly restored complex, with additional buildings where needed, are set in a lovely countryside location in the only hilly part of the Netherlands. The courteous staff could not have been more helpful and considerably added to the delight of our stay. The Champagne buffet breakfasts made a good start to each day and there were plenty of things to explore on the estate and the surrounding country park. There are extensive, well cultivated gardens, an orchard and even a small vineyard. Perhaps a few more gardeners are needed to cope with the immense amount of weeding and hedge trimming required. When we visited there was an excellent sculpture display in the grounds and a corporate hospitality weekend used the chateau as the starting point for a small rally of nostalgic sports cars which was fun to watch. My wife and I didn't use the pool or spa, but others in our party did and were much impressed. We took advantage of the bicycles on hire to see just a little of the surrounding countryside. We had dinner in the atmospheric main restaurant and that was very good. Altogether we enjoyed a comfortable stay at this elegant location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

beatifull chateaux, charmant, hystorique, well cared, but too expensive. Rooms are nice but not new. Breakfast cost 29 euro for each, bike rent 20 euro a day. Be carefull also in both restaurant and bistrot because of the prive. You can taste fruits directly from the threes. Very nice but be carefull to your wallet!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed two nights and could really find very little wrong. Ate in the bistro which rates as one of the best meals that I have ever eaten - I am vegetarian and they really pulled out all the stops. The room was excellent with air conditioning which - I discovered later - was faulty and simply blew air; it neither cooled nor warmed. The staff could not be more helpful in all areas and I would single out the manager of the Bistrot who was a true professional without in any way being overbearing - there was a family with younger children and he treated them like adults.

We declined the restaurant as a meal might have cost 120 euros each! The hotel IS expensive and many will ask whether it is worth it? A special treat...

Set in amazing grounds with sculpture!

Room Tip: Room 101 on ground floor is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and had dinner in both restaurants of Chateau St. Gerlach. The occasion was the fiftieth anniversary of my parents in law. It turned out to be a most memorable occasion. The food was wonderful and the hotel excellent. The whole entourage is beautiful. There even is a an old church that can be visited. The personnel of St. Gerlach did their utmost to make is a memorable event. Also the personnel turned out to be very helpful to my aging parents in law. One downside. It is pricy to stay at the Chateau but worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you visit with the family you can stay at separate houses that are part of the hotel-complex. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Chateau St. Gerlach is a lovely state and we spend a few summer days every year. We like visiting CSG for its lovely gardens, landscape and surroundings. Valkenburg is a pretty little town with much of a holiday feeling and a charming ambiance of an old fashioned resort town.

Although the decor is tired and dated, the hotel rooms and apartments are pleasant and comfortable. The staff is pretty amicable for Dutch standards and the food at its bistro and restaurants is excellent.

It is clear that the hotel aims to excel as a four star hotel and to live up to the expectations created by the fantastic estate and the ambitious restoration project that turned this once dilapidated chateau into a fine hotel. However, its also easy to see that the hotel is fraying around the edges:

1. As mentioned, the decor, which may have been effective when the hotel open its doors ca. 20 years ago is clearly outdated and looks frankly tired. In order to keep with its own standards, the hotel needs an urgent facelift.

2. The cleaning is poor and superficial. The common areas are in great shape and kept very well. The rooms are cleaned superficially and you can see large amounts of dust collecting on high furniture and window sills. Dead insects are left for years in the highest window sills. The cleaning service takes less than 15 minutes to clean a whole apartment and, by the time the staff is gone, you can find the same dusty spots and even papers in the floor.

3. The sheets and towels have an unpleasant chemical odor, which is unacceptable for a hotel which prides on wellness, nature and environmental friendliness. Sheets are not replaced during your stay, unless you specifically request for it.

4. Amenities are not replenished daily, unless you ask for it.

5. We did have a bed turn down service only once, during our four day stay. Yet, we were charged daily 45 Euros for the 'turn down service' for a sofa bed.

6. The breakfast is adequate, but no more than the average Dutch hotel breakfast. Almost everything is of good quality but nothing remarkable, creative of special. A shame, considering the high standards of the hotel's cuisine.

7. The swimingpool seems to be a sore spot. It is pretty, well maintained, clean, warm and spacious. But it is part of the SPA and, obviously, the SPA experience. The problem is that it is a swimingpool destined both for relaxation and recreation. Guests who are after a relaxing time are disappointed to find a swimingpool full of children. There are clear etiquette rules on how should children behave in the swimingpool (no running, no jumping, no toys). And most parents are good seeing their children follow these rules. But they are still children who like to swim, laugh and have a good time. Childless people, who are after the relaxing experience, frown, pull sour faces and are frankly rude to children and their parents. Its a complex situation, but the hotel will need to address it at some point. It is clear that the hotel needs an outdoor pool for recreation, additional to their relaxation indoor pool.

8. What is absolutely inappropriate and, one of the reasons we (long time customers of Chateau St. Gerlach) may not return is the absolutely unbearable heath in the apartments. They do not have airco. They are extremely poorly ventilated (with minimal windows and no crossed ventilation) and the hotel provides only a couple of very cheap and inefficient fans. They are bothered if you ask for more. During the summer months, the hallways and apartments become unbearably hot. Absolutely unacceptable in a hotel which strongly advertises on luxury, comfort and wellness.

9. The second reason why we may not return to St. Gerlach and why we will stop recommending is the pitiful way in which the hotel attempts to 'make larger profit' by adding charges of items or services that have not been consumed. This is the second year in a row that the hotel attempted to charge us for breakfast that we never consumed. Even more, they attempted to charge also our parents (who were in a separate room) for the very same breakfasts of our room. So the attempted, not only to charge phantom breakfasts, but to charge doubble! And we have read similar situations in other reviews.

What makes matters worst is that when we complained about this, the manager in turn (a blond, short haired lady) was insufferably rude. She informed us that it had been a mistake because the system charges breakfast automatically. And when my husband asked why the system hadn't then 'automatically' charged breakfasts for every day of our stay, she became extremely rude.

This completely ruins the experience of luxury, relaxation, harmony and wellbeing promoted by the hotel.

We do really like to spend time at St. Gerlach, but all these matters need to be addressed swiftly before the hotel looses its true mission, the trust of their costumers and the revenues that faithful customers like is provide every year.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the apartments!!! You will roast slowly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear ExhibitionsOD,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay in Château St. Gerlach and we appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks.
We regret that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. I am glad we had the chance to discuss the remarks by telephone and try to find a solution where appropriate.

We sincerely like to apologize for all the inconveniences.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were attracted by the pictures of the romantic chateau, the immaculate grounds, the restaurants and the spa facilities. And they were all there, exactly like on the pictures. So if you are looking for that kind of storybook scenery “live” you will not be disappointed !

Also, you will not be disappointed by the food. Both the bistro and the restaurant are really nice, with very friendly staff, good quality food, care for detail, and if you are lucky, a table next to the fountain.

The grounds are truly awesome, and it must take an army of gardeners to keep the place as manicured as it is.

Moving on to the Spa you are getting yourself into muddy waters however. If you are lucky and there are few or no other guests you’ll find heavenly bliss. If however you stumble into a couple of kids your peace and quiet go down the drain. Guaranteed. No effort is taken to restrict access to the facilities or even just keep them quiet. Worse yet, some of the resident kids (the hotel not only caters to regular hotel guests but also to permanent residents who bought apartments in the complex) seem to have obtained a carte blanche to occupy the Spa facilities and turn it into their personal playground. So you’d better look elsewhere for those relaxing Spa treatments !

Moving on to the hotel rooms, that could be OK if and as long as the temperatures do not rise over 25 degrees Celsius. Any warmer than that and the lack of air conditioning will have you up all night. That would probably happen anyway since the chateau's church bells chime all hours all night long, so what should be a good night’s sleep turns into 8 naps of 59 minutes each.

All in all: if you are looking for scenery or a lovely dinner/lunch you’ll be fine and I would rate St Gerlach as a five star experience without a doubt. Spend the night in the hotel and use the Spa facilities and you could easily be disappointed. Definitely not worth the money, and therefor a three star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Marcel 343,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay and the dinners. We apologies for the inconvenience of the children in the Spa & Wellness.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvellous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St. Gerlach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.