We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and very classy with a wonderful bistro restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Save Saved
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and very classy with a wonderful bistro restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the regular rooms. The room was spacious and very nicely appointed. The large bathroom had all of the amenities needed.

We had a great dinner at the bistro on site. The food was fabulous and the service very friendly and professional.

We arrived by train at the small platform. It would have been helpful to see a sign directing us to the chateau. Fortunately a friendly local helped us out.

All in all a very nice place with nice surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    74
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
83
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The "chateau" is situated 10 minutes driving by motorway from Maastricht in a truely idyllic and peaceful landscape. As unfortunately is the case in the entire Netherlands motorway noise is always, modestly though, present. The property looks stunningly beautiful, the gardens are extremely inviting for a morning, afternoon or late evening strawl.

We stayed in a spacious two bedroom appartment suite with our two kids. Two right sized bedrooms upstairs each having their own bathroom (bath, tolet, two sinks each), a separate toilet and a small but fully equipped kitchen. We did enjoy our own breakfast in the room but went off premise for lunch and dinner. Since the area is very busy visited by tourists there are a lot of nearby restaurants of good quality but far better prized than the restaurants at the chateau.

Our suite did not have A/C and we can imagine it becomes very warm/hot in summer, indeed. The small fan provided in the room would not be a solution.

Staff is ok, but we've seen a lot better in this type of upmarket hotels. Although superficially friendly they never seem to actually "connect" with you as a guest/person. A bit of a pity.

Some reviewers criticize the pool area. The pool itself is extremely nice and quite large. The number of chairs is quite limited however and then space to sit or put your stuff becomes limited indeed if you cannot go outside, that is. Dressing rooms and lockers are adequate.
Also there is a conflict between the hotel wanting to keep the swimming pool quiet and peaceful since it is part of the wellness and spa area. But many hotel visitors bring their kids and are not allowed to use toys in the pool. Kids do shout when having fun as per definition even when kept as quiet as possible by their parents. We saw some grumpy faces, understandable but consequence of the hotel setup.

And yup, the church bell does ring, once on the half hour and the number of hours each hours. As far as we can recollect 24x7 indeed. Although we are light sleepers to us this was not an issue at all, it added to the monastery feeling of the estate.

I definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabant Wallon - Belgique
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chateau St Gerlach was for me a very good discovery. A very nice place, a totally modernized castle where you can still feel the luxury of its origin.

I went there for a business seminar, all equipments are available for organizing efficient meeting and at the end of the day we enjoyed the very good cooking of the restaurant.

The hotel’s bar is very pleasant with a large choice of whisky but also all other drinks.

Only one negative comments, there is no Wi-Fi available within the apartment while there was a wired network connection but I couldn’t test it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ludovic,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you had a good seminar and a nice dinner. As you refer to our wireless internet, we do have wifi at our estate. We are aware that due to the vast surroundings, the signal is weaker in some remote areas. We regularly measure the signal to reinforce where necessary.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

SLH is my favorite hotel brand. All the SLH I stayed at, whether in Paris, Geneva, Prague, Budapest, Key West... offered a great level of comfort and unique charm. I tend to trust the SLH label blindly. Château St Gerlach is a member of SLH but shouldn't. Granted, the rooms are very nice and spacious but the rest is definitely not up to the level. Staff is unpleasant, reception considers smiling optional, it seems they do not enjoy working at this hotel, having to deal with clients and other annoying stuff. Château St Gerlach is also far from being a romantic getaway. When we tried to go to the swimming pool, 4 men going through some form of mid-life crisis were busy yelling and splashing around. The rest of the people, mostly families, were trying to have a quiet time but the place was far from romantic. We did sleep well (on 2 separate mattresses...) but had the surprise to find a working church next to our rooms: there was a mass going on next door! Breakfast was nice, but overpriced: 29 euros per person! We did not even bother to try the restaurant as we were told it was full anyway. It looked very pretentious and fake French. Avoid this hotel if you are a couple. Avoid this hotel if you are family. I guess the only option is if you are a bunch of guys going through a mid-life crisis. You will have a blast. And the next day, you can go to church.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear WanderingProfessor,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. We regret we have not met your expectations during your stay. It is very surprising to hear that you consider our staff as unpleasant and our reception considers smiling optional. As a team we take great pride in our beautiful estate and we do not often hear such harsh remarks about our staff. The way you write your review makes us believe it is much better to get in personal contact with you to further discuss the issues you mentioned, in order to take personal care of it. As we do not have your contact details we would be pleased if you consider to contact our Resident Manager Pascal Gulpen through +31 43 608 8888 or send an email. Once again we regret you did not enjoy stay and hope to hear from you.

Kind regards on behalf of the entire Gerlach-team,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Elegant and beautiful place surrounded by nature. Both Brasserie and restaurant offered stunning food with an experienced sommelier. Very professional and friendly service. Only negative point: you have to book weeks in advance to get a chance to get in the spa for a treatment...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarettaSaretta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent Easter weekend at Chateau St Gerlach and it delivered on a quite, historic location in pretty countryside with good walks - good for getting away from it all and relaxing.

The hotel itself is very well done but, when when we scratched beneath the surface, it fell short on a few fronts. The 'unlimited wifi' didn't work in the bedroom, the TV in our room didn't work, the coffee throughout the hotel is from a sub-par automatic machine, we had to ask three times to be accommodated in one of their restaurants during our stay - eventually we managed to get a table and had a lovely dinner. All relatively minor niggles but, the hotel and all the add ons are not cheap so one would really expect a smooth ride.

I don't want to be overly harsh on the hotel or the staff, it essence our stay was 'fine' but with such a beautiful building in such grand settings, there's an opportunity to push everything a bit more to exceed expectations and guarantee the 'wow' factor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear SarettaSaretta,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. As you refer to our wireless internet, we are aware that due to the vast surroundings, the signal is weaker in some remote areas. We regularly measure the signal to reinforce where necessary. It is very unfortunate to hear your TV did not work. We would have loved to fix or replace it with a working one during your stay.
As our restaurants tend to get busy in weekends, we highly recommend our guests to book a table early to avoid disappointments. We are glad we were able to accommodate you after all.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night (Sunday) in late March. The hotel was easy to find and the grounds and building very impressive. Check in was smooth and friendly but I was disappointed not be be offered an upgrade once we were taken to our room. We were literally given the first room just past the bar area, access was via a glass corridor with a stone floor and the door opened straight into the room which was small although clean and very comfortable. The hotel was not very busy at all being a Sunday and our stay would have been greatly improved with a better room, many of which were available and it had been established that this was our first visit, so one would have expected the hotel to want to show its best colours. A free upgrade would have been nice under the circumstances but we would have paid the extra, as it was my husband was feeling tired and unwell and didn't want the bother of going back to reception.
The staff were great, a kettle and tea were delivered on request as well as an ice bucket and someone even brought a spare robe over to the Spa for me. We didn't eat at the Bistro because the menu was very pedestrian for the price being asked per head and the only choice was a three course meal for a fixed price and we didn't want to eat that much. The Spa was lovely, warm pool, great steam room and sauna but the experience was tainted by a family with children who took over the whole area completely ignoring the polite notices to respect the quiet sanctuary of the Spa for other guests. The screaming and horse play in the pool could be heard from the entrance and I nearly didn't go in. Fortunately the mother was very aware of the inappropriateness of the situation and apologised, promising to cut the disturbance short, which she did within 20 mins. There were no staff members on hand to deal with the situation and had the parent been a different type of person the Spa would have been unusable which is unacceptable for a Spa Hotel. The weekend of our stay the whole estate was covered in snow so a walk in the grounds was out of the question especially with my husband feeling unwell. A good room, a well run Spa and a decent restaurant menu would have gone a long way to making this a great experience. Probably wouldn't return unless we needed an overnight stay in the area but I think it is worth a visit if you time it right to avoid family breaks and school holidays. The Spa claims to be a Kneipp health resort and I don't doubt that they have many wonderful treatments on offer but until they restrict access to those aged 16 and over it is hard to take them seriously as a Spa. Relaxation is not guaranteed, be warned you are at the mercy of families with children so you may as well be at the local community pool.
Although our bed and room was comfortable, being off the bar we had traffic going up and down all night and in the morning the cleaners congregated in our corridor to shout instructions to each other for 15 mins before starting their work so a peaceful start to the day was out of the question. The accoustics of our glass corridor amplified every sound so whatever you do refuse these rooms if you find yourself in one. Believe me when I tell you that the sound of cleaning equipment being dragged over stone floors at first light by an army of women shouting and laughing is not a good way to kick start the day.

Room Tip: Avoid the four rooms on the ground floor, off from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Two_Thomases,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
We regret that we missed the opportunity to offer you an upgrade! Although we were rather full that particular evening, we could have shown you different room and suite types to accommodate your needs. With regard to the noise outside your room from our Housekeepers during the morning, we have discussed this to avoid it from happening again.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Should you wish to further discuss your inconveniences with our Resident Manager Pascal Gulpen, please feel free to let us know.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvellous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St. Gerlach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.