We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel and spa, the rooms were really comfortable, the Spa was nice, the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful - very nice for hiking; only the breakfast is too expensive, I would come back for a romantic stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    88
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
63
114
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. Had dinner in the bistro and in its restaurant. Very good food in a classic and romantic setting. Top.
A problem can be - for a family stay with children - that there are different buildings : for the bedrooms, the restaurant (chateau) , and the main building ( reception, bar, lounge and breakfast)
Unfortunately we had a grandsuite which strongly needed an redecoration.The reception acknowledged this and told me that a programm was on the way. Wifi was free but very slow. We didnot visited the spa.
The location is superb, the price/quality ( linked to the our room ) not good but we surely will come back and then ask for a redecorated room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Robbertbilthoven,

Allereerst willen wij u bedanken voor uw bezoek aan Château St. Gerlach. Wij willen u tevens bedanken voor de tijd die u genomen heeft om uw ervaringen te vermelden op tripadvisor.
Met betrekking tot uw opmerking over de kamer, op dit moment worden enkele kamers opgeknapt. Wat betreft ons draadloos internet, zijn wij ons bewust dat als gevolg van de wijde omgeving het signaal zwakker is in sommige afgelegen gebieden. Wij meten regelmatig het signaal om waar nodig het te versterken.
Als laatste willen wij u nog bedanken voor uw positieve reactie!

Wij hopen u in de toekomst weer te mogen ontvangen op ons landgoed.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent a weekend with your kids and parents and enjoyed the stay.
The pool can be a bit crowed and the changing room was overcrowded, but maybe that was because of the bad weather, so everyone got changed there. The room was nice, but a bit dark. The hotel is very kids friendly- we found everything we need for our 2 year old and not only the crib but also a changing matt, a diaper disposal, extra towls ect.
We had one dinner at the restaurant St Gerlach, one dinner at the Bistrot de Liege and a lunch there. Every meal was great and the service very friendly and professional. Breakfast was also very good with a wide selection and good coffee.
It was a great place for a family gathering and we will come back.
The hotel is ideal for a shopping trip to Masmechelen andsightseeing in Maaastricht.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in December 2012, and had our two children in tow. We were in one of the two bedroom apartments which was good but we found the split level was not the best for our youngest who is under 2. We had to watch she did not fall down the steep steps and it removed some of the relaxation for us. There is a kitchenette though which is great for children. We found the decor a little dated and the bedrooms were small almost claustrophobic given the small windows. The wireless signal was pretty weak there also. Dinner in the bistro was really great and they catered for us being vegetarian (me also gluten free). We also enjoyed the bar area. I would recommend this hotel for couples or families and we would return.

Room Tip: if you have smaller children who are walking, the split level apartment rooms are not the best choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Isandi,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you and your family have enjoyed your stay and will visit us again. As you refer to our wireless internet, we are aware that due to the vast surroundings, the signal is weaker in some remote areas. We regularly measure the signal to reinforce where necessary. Regarding your remarks about the two bedroom apartment, we are currently restyling our apartments and hope to welcome you during a next visit in one of the restyled apartments. We noted your preference for a ground level apartment instead of a split level.


Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Absolutely a fabulous hotel, friendly staff, great rooms and service. One thing that was a little disappointing in such a historic, romantic location where the amount of parents with young children. They were really un -supervised, sticking fingers into the fabulous,( though 28 euro )breakfast buffet, which is very unhygienic and disturbing. Further more kids where allowed into the spa, a total no-no in my opinion. There are plenty of places to go with your children( Efteling???) this hotel isn't one of them.

Room Tip: Rating the spa very low because it was infested with screaming toddlers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear JOyceBDublin,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
We regret that you had the disturbance of the children at the breakfast buffet and the Spa & Wellness area. During the school holidays we tend to attract more families visiting our hotel. During holidays we have a supervisor at the swimming pool to keep the tranquillity around the swimming pool. Children are not allowed around the treatment areas. We would like to apologies for the inconvenience.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at St Gerlach for 4 days for a business conference In March 2012. The hotel is impressive to look at, has nice gardens and a nice spa / pool area. I ate breakfast and lunch here, which were alright (standard-fare for a hotel) although I didn't eat an evening meal here so can't comment.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

I was staying in a two level apartment style room which was pleasant enough although I found it a little cold (in the aesthetic sense of the word). The bathroom was huge - as big as the room easily!

Maastricht isn't the most exciting of towns in terms of nightlife but is located a reasonable distance from some bars and restaurants. Impressive since the pictures on the website give the impression that it's in the middle of nowhere!

No real complaints about the hotel other than that the wireless service is terrible. The signal comes and goes. Probably due to the sheer size of the hotel. They just need to add some additional routers for the rooms in the buildings further out.

Probably a good place to come to for a romantic getaway or if you're looking for a different side of the Netherlands.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out across several buildings, so if you have mobility issues it's probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear DomGuitar,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Regarding your remarks about our wireless internet, we are aware that due to the thick walls and vast surroundings, the signal is weaker in some remote areas. We regularly measure the signal to reinforce where necessary. As you refer to the location of our estate, Valkenburg aan de Geul is located only 3 km from our estate. Maastricht on the other hand is a 15 minute drive from Château St. Gerlach, about 10 kilometer. If you would like to try a different room type for your next stay, we can recommend you one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites. We are more then willing to show you a few of those rooms in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Rachelle Pieters, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Chateau Gerlach is the ultimate luxury romantic weekend getaway - even if accompanied by two boisterous little boys (4 and 3). We booked a one-room apartment which was superb. The decor is luxurious, the little apartment is very well equipped and as it had an upstairs and downstairs it felt very spacious - allowing everyone in the family time to escape if they liked.
The great thing was that we were able to make supper for the boys in the kitchenette (there is a children's room service menu too if you're feeling utterly lazy or don't get to the supermarket in Valkenburg on time), put them to bed and then - making use of the free babyphone service - went across the courtyard to the charming Brasserie for a lovely dinner.
The staff were excellent: very polite, helpful and kind. We were greeted with smiles by all the staff and the boys were delighted with a little gift.
Even though all the buildings and grounds are beautifully maintained with elegant furnishings and art works, the atmospere never felt stuffy or restrained - just thoroughly luxurious and relaxing. A definite must if you fancy a romantic getaway - with or without kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St. Gerlach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.