We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Chateau during the holidays. Our room (junior suite) was spacious and lovely furnished. The bathroom amenities we're great; we both got our own little brown bag.
Breakfast was great. Lots of fresh fruits and smoothies. Plenty of bread, cheese, pastries and so on.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
We've had dinner at the restaurant. It's quite expense, but you can really see and taste their ambitions.
We'll certainly return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
103
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
apeldoorn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

it needs passion and devotion, to combine cultural herritage with gastronomy.

Eye for detail ( Thinking and giving the youngsters, presents from santa Claus, mineral water, fruit, decoration etc )

We had a wonderfull Suite Romanee St Vivant, GW Bush and his wife laura, stayed there.

It was a pity, the restaurant was closed on Sunday, we had to go elsewere.

The setting is Breathtaking, the people extremely nice. It is a warm and comfortable surrounding... You feel King and Queen overthere

Bernard Nijdam

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is real gem. Top quality Hotel with top quality staff and ambient, really nice. Will get back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had my bachelor party in this hotel. I did not want a loud party but wanted to have a plaesant day with a few good friends. So I booked a suite with beds for 5-6 person although I live at a 15 min. drive from the hotel.
Room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Service is excellent, the bar is great and the surroudings are very very nice. We did not visit the welness, spa, pool area but it looked great.

We had a lovely dinner at the Chateau's gourmet restaurant that was great

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Amazing place ... romantic ... incredible service ... excellent food ... great spa facilities ... all around a winner!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Chateau St. Gerlach is the real deal.

This is a first class venue, sure to impress. The rooms are well-appointed, and bags containing soaps, creams, etc (labelled "Monsieur" and "Madame") are a nice touch. The building is historic and there are some quirks -- but these mostly add to the experience. There are safes in the rooms, and a fan (if not air conditioning). It was nice to wake up to the sounds of the cows mooing in the adjacent field.

Staff are extremely attentive and courteous. Everything from the booking experience (including follow up questions by email), to the shuttle from Maastricht to the hotel, dealing with the front desk, being served in the restaurant, etc, was a very pleasant experience.

Be sure to go on a walk or bike ride (if the weather is nice, obviously) around the grounds and surrounding area. The countryside is beautiful and this is one of the few places in the Netherlands that isn't perfectly flat. Even if you just stick to the grounds of the hotel, walk around and enjoy.

The spa/wellness centre is very nice. I quite enjoyed lounging on the sun chairs and going for a steam and sauna. The facilities are not large, but sufficient. The spa treatments that my partner and I ordered were quite average. I have had far better massages elsewhere, and the rooms are separated by curtains only so you can hear other people discussing their experience with their masseurs. If I were to come to this hotel again, I would skip the spa treatments entirely and just enjoy the pool, sauna, and Turkish steam bath, which were very good.

The food is excellent and is what separates this hotel from the pack. Our evening meal at the bistro was wonderful and service was excellent. (My definition of excellent service is basically courteous, timely, and attentive to my needs. I don't want or need a conversation about anything except the meal with my server.) During dinner the General Manager introduced himself and asked about our stay, which was nice. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and tops the other luxury hotels I have stayed in. Everything is very fresh, with a wide variety of items. Small touches separate this breakfast buffet from others: a variety of fresh squeezed juices; fruit salad that is not an afterthought, but that has interesting fruits in it; a very wide selection of bread, cheeses, etc; decent scrambled eggs (so easy to screw up!); and no cheaping out anywhere, every single item was high quality. The food impressed us thoroughly and would be reason enough for us to return to Chateau St Gerlach.

All that said, my detail-oriented self couldn't help but notice: a cobweb on the ceiling of our room, a lack of heating on the bistro patio on a very chilly night (if you know it's going to get cold, have a plan before seating people out there for a 2+ hour dinner!); the occasional interior decoration faux pas (some weird painted border in our bathroom). I didn't even bother checking what the WiFi cost, but I know it wasn't free, and think it is safe to assume (as I have noticed at other luxury hotels) that it was very expensive for no good reason.

These are very small flaws, and all in all, it was a wonderful experience and I would go back anytime. I will be advising my friends to check this place out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Location is superb, total tranquillity with parkland, hiking trails, the castle.
Restaurant is great and breakfast can be enjoyed outside (those few days in holland that it is not raining). Regular rooms in the castle building are ok but not superb. The appartments / suites outside the castle are better, more spaceous and more luxurious.
Weird difference between price per room on single occupancy vs double.
Only downside: pillows are too stiff and too thick, gives you a painful neck.

Room Tip: rooms outside the mainbuilding are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvellous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St. Gerlach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.