We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelor party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Bachelor party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had my bachelor party in this hotel. I did not want a loud party but wanted to have a plaesant day with a few good friends. So I booked a suite with beds for 5-6 person although I live at a 15 min. drive from the hotel.
Room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Service is excellent, the bar is great and the surroudings are very very nice. We did not visit the welness, spa, pool area but it looked great.

We had a lovely dinner at the Chateau's gourmet restaurant that was great

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Amazing place ... romantic ... incredible service ... excellent food ... great spa facilities ... all around a winner!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartputnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Chateau St. Gerlach is the real deal.

This is a first class venue, sure to impress. The rooms are well-appointed, and bags containing soaps, creams, etc (labelled "Monsieur" and "Madame") are a nice touch. The building is historic and there are some quirks -- but these mostly add to the experience. There are safes in the rooms, and a fan (if not air conditioning). It was nice to wake up to the sounds of the cows mooing in the adjacent field.

Staff are extremely attentive and courteous. Everything from the booking experience (including follow up questions by email), to the shuttle from Maastricht to the hotel, dealing with the front desk, being served in the restaurant, etc, was a very pleasant experience.

Be sure to go on a walk or bike ride (if the weather is nice, obviously) around the grounds and surrounding area. The countryside is beautiful and this is one of the few places in the Netherlands that isn't perfectly flat. Even if you just stick to the grounds of the hotel, walk around and enjoy.

The spa/wellness centre is very nice. I quite enjoyed lounging on the sun chairs and going for a steam and sauna. The facilities are not large, but sufficient. The spa treatments that my partner and I ordered were quite average. I have had far better massages elsewhere, and the rooms are separated by curtains only so you can hear other people discussing their experience with their masseurs. If I were to come to this hotel again, I would skip the spa treatments entirely and just enjoy the pool, sauna, and Turkish steam bath, which were very good.

The food is excellent and is what separates this hotel from the pack. Our evening meal at the bistro was wonderful and service was excellent. (My definition of excellent service is basically courteous, timely, and attentive to my needs. I don't want or need a conversation about anything except the meal with my server.) During dinner the General Manager introduced himself and asked about our stay, which was nice. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and tops the other luxury hotels I have stayed in. Everything is very fresh, with a wide variety of items. Small touches separate this breakfast buffet from others: a variety of fresh squeezed juices; fruit salad that is not an afterthought, but that has interesting fruits in it; a very wide selection of bread, cheeses, etc; decent scrambled eggs (so easy to screw up!); and no cheaping out anywhere, every single item was high quality. The food impressed us thoroughly and would be reason enough for us to return to Chateau St Gerlach.

All that said, my detail-oriented self couldn't help but notice: a cobweb on the ceiling of our room, a lack of heating on the bistro patio on a very chilly night (if you know it's going to get cold, have a plan before seating people out there for a 2+ hour dinner!); the occasional interior decoration faux pas (some weird painted border in our bathroom). I didn't even bother checking what the WiFi cost, but I know it wasn't free, and think it is safe to assume (as I have noticed at other luxury hotels) that it was very expensive for no good reason.

These are very small flaws, and all in all, it was a wonderful experience and I would go back anytime. I will be advising my friends to check this place out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stClassLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Location is superb, total tranquillity with parkland, hiking trails, the castle.
Restaurant is great and breakfast can be enjoyed outside (those few days in holland that it is not raining). Regular rooms in the castle building are ok but not superb. The appartments / suites outside the castle are better, more spaceous and more luxurious.
Weird difference between price per room on single occupancy vs double.
Only downside: pillows are too stiff and too thick, gives you a painful neck.

Room Tip: rooms outside the mainbuilding are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Highly recommend this place. Rooms and part of the property could be refreshed-but you stay here for the charm and surroundings. We were looking for one night in this area and wished we stayed longer. Traveling with family of 4. Had a 2 room apartment. Very spacious and opened onto apple orchard. Boys loved playing out here and gave them some space. Pool area and spa are elegant. The grounds are meant for walking and enjoying. We took terrific family photos-in fact I believe a BMW commercial/photo shoot was taking place at same time. Staff was young and sincere. Glad we stayed at this Camille property and we considered all of them. Food bistro was good. We had a package deal-and they were very flexible for us to change items vs the set meal.

Room Tip: request the corner 2 room aprtment over looking the orchard for plenty of space-also very close to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ouburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

lovley hotel,
we stayed in one one of the apartments with the nature package and got a very good deal,food in the bistro was delisous although you had to choose from the set menu.Also lovley pool .
We came here for my grandparents 50th annerversairy and they throughly enjoyed it worth coming all the way from japan!
gardens were beautiful with lots of fruit trees
and breckfast was a delious buffet with lots of diffrent types of food, allthough pricey
cant wait to go back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookingnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Worth a trip just to see the hotel's culinary herb gardens, rose garden, and fruit orchards...
Also a unique and amazing indoor pool..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rignana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
10.1 mi away
WinselerHof
WinselerHof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thermaetel
Thermaetel
#8 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#5 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#1 of 6 in Heerlen
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing