We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the pictures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau St. Gerlach to your Saves list
Chateau St. Gerlach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Highly recommend this place. Rooms and part of the property could be refreshed-but you stay here for the charm and surroundings. We were looking for one night in this area and wished we stayed longer. Traveling with family of 4. Had a 2 room apartment. Very spacious and opened onto apple orchard. Boys loved playing out here and gave them some space. Pool area and spa are elegant. The grounds are meant for walking and enjoying. We took terrific family photos-in fact I believe a BMW commercial/photo shoot was taking place at same time. Staff was young and sincere. Glad we stayed at this Camille property and we considered all of them. Food bistro was good. We had a package deal-and they were very flexible for us to change items vs the set meal.

Room Tip: request the corner 2 room aprtment over looking the orchard for plenty of space-also very close to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    81
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
92
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

lovley hotel,
we stayed in one one of the apartments with the nature package and got a very good deal,food in the bistro was delisous although you had to choose from the set menu.Also lovley pool .
We came here for my grandparents 50th annerversairy and they throughly enjoyed it worth coming all the way from japan!
gardens were beautiful with lots of fruit trees
and breckfast was a delious buffet with lots of diffrent types of food, allthough pricey
cant wait to go back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Worth a trip just to see the hotel's culinary herb gardens, rose garden, and fruit orchards...
Also a unique and amazing indoor pool..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent 3 nights during the weekdays in a residential suite in one of the towers of this hotel in the so called "Pandhof". The suite consists of 2 floors, so groundfloor and one up. The one up we have not used at all and I doubt if anyone would ever, it is rather dark and I guess if the weather allows then you would be outside rather than inside a hotelroom. So I recommend not to book the residental suite as it is not exactly value for money, but a normal suite would probably be sufficient. The food here is good in the Bistro where we ate several times. We haven't used the more upscale restaurant. Friendly staff at reception and breakfast. I can recommend renting bicycles at the hotel as well as go for a walk directly from the hotel. The Spa was nice too with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condom, France
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located and the grounds are lovely, so are the buildings. We got an attic room, very spacious but the way it was decorated made it a very dark room, especially because the windows are tiny. I think that they tried to make it look like a real attic room but.... it is an expensive, luxury hotel we would have expected something more stylish! There were even humidity marks on the beams.

The ladies who clean the room make a lot of noise in the morning, so do their vacuum cleaners. There was a machine next to our room, some kind of ventilation that made noise too especially if you consider that you are in a very quiet environment! The fact that there is no lift to take up the suitcases is a pain! We had quite a bit of baggage and my husband had to carry everything upstairs! Still, the setting is magnificient! We had hoped to eat at the hotel as we arrived a bit late after a very long trip but there were no places available. Ok, maybe we should have booked but the reason we didn't was that we didn't know at what time we would be arriving and whether we would have to have dinner on the way. I don't think that both restaurants were fully booked by hotel guests so my best guess is that they had rented out the facilities, something we didn't find very pleasant. People from the outside ate there, the guests had to go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

It has been almost 7 years since I last visited the property, and since I had such a great time staying there last time around, I decided to return while traveling to the annual arts festival in neighboring Maastricht. Nothing has really changed. I got a room this time around on the top floor with only stair access (wobbly wooden staircase: had to take stuff out of the suitcase to pack a night bag and left the rest in the car). Charming room though. The staff is as friendly as one can hope for, and the most obliging as well. Last time I dined at the formal restaurant where I found myself slightly underdressed; so this time I decided to have dinner at the Bistro, which actually turned out to be a great experience. The food is of great quality, perfectly cooked, with the menu choice being plentiful. The hotel grounds also houses multiple sculptures that I find rather amusing. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to downtown Maastricht, but I drove instead. Parking was easy and the city itself is definitely manageable by foot. I didn't get to try out the spa/pool as my stay was on a weekend, it looked to be rather crowded.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is in a quiet environment not far from maastricht. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with antique furniture, including small kitchen. Some appartments even have their own terrace. Service is truly exceptional. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valkenburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvellous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau St. Gerlach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.