We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edwards coach trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walram to your Saves list
Hotel Walram
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Edwards coach trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed in room 404 on the 4th floor. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the centre. Hotel in a good location. Only problem we had the room was small, wardrobe door was hitting the bed so you couldn't open it properly. The bathroom was clean but smelt of wild garlic in the morning?? We had a good holiday with Edwards Coaches from swansea. Our Driver Rhys was great got us around valkenburg, Maastricht, Three countries. A fab driver well done Rhys and Edwards Coaches.
Sandra Swansea

Room Tip: Don't go on the 4th floor. Especially room 404. The room was small and the bathroom smelt of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
28
97
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went as a family of 4 and we had an amazing time with National Holidays, the hotel itself was a little old fashioned with a quaint charm.

The hotel was in the middle of a little square and we were in a room on the front facing, it was lovely and quiet and you could see the ruins from our room, the bar and restaurant were nice and i would def. reccommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We decided to do something different this year and have a coach holiday and chose Valkenburg having visited many years ago We booked with Leger Holidays The coach company place you in a sister hotel to the Walram so we requested that we were booked into the Walram at a small extra upgrade cost. I suggest anyone thinking of going on this tour do the same because it is worth the extra The room we were given was a good size and it had air conditioning and a spa bath. With regards to the hotel it is in an excellent location and for a three star the food is outstanding. The room was spotless and the staff were very friendly and made us welcome
This holiday offers great value for money and includes many excursions

Room Tip: Request a room in the Walram and pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We received a warm and efficient welcome at nearly 10pm. Our bags were delivered promptly to our rooms which was just as well as, although the hotel has two lifts, the complicated route included four flights of between 2 and 6 steps. Not ideal for anyone with mobility problems.
Good buffet breakfast including a very early one on the day of our departure.
Excellent 3 course dinner was served en mass every day at 6.30pm. Our lovely courier was not very well received by the hotel management when traffic problems meant we didn't get back to the hotel until nearly 8pm following a day trip. This was dealt with professionally though and didn't affect our dining experience. One criticism was that drinks (including water) had to be purchased at the bar before going in to the dining room as the staff were busy serving meals.Bar prices were predictably high but what we didn't expect was short measures. Soft drinks and mixers were tiny and draft beers were frequently one third foam. I don't think they'd get away with that in UK!
The rooms were comfortable but a bit tired. e.g. no pedal on the pedal bin, curtain held up with a paper clip etc. I would have liked air conditioning but managed with open windows. Unfortunately this meant that the noise from the restaurant's AC was a bit irritating. Having said that we did sleep reasonably well.
The staff were very pleasant and all spoke very good English (something we should be grateful for).
Valkenburg is a charming little town with plenty to see and do. We had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If stairs are difficult for you make sure you mention this at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here! The design of the hotel was pleasing and the scenery was delightful with a lovely church to the side. It was a stones throw away from the town, where you could shop in the day and enjoy a drink at night.

I had the vegetarian option for my meals. They tasted divine and were a work of art!

The hotel wifi works very well downstairs, which was a godsend, but a little patchy in my room.

The staff were lovely and friendly and happy to help you out and chat a little.

Overall I was very pleased with my stay here and I would stay here again/recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family of four consists of one vegetarian who eats fish and a 15 year old who has an abnormal food pipe and asthma. We booked our six night stay at the Walram with Leger holidays so we were tied to six bed and breakfasts and four evening meals. There are many positive points about the Walram, but we had three key problems - lack of water with dinner, lack of choice at dinner and small smoky rooms.
The first issue was the most upsetting - the lack of water with dinner. My son drinks several glasses of water with his evening meal to help food go down as his food pipe has no muscular action (he had a TOF/OA repair at birth). Without water, food could get stuck and he could end up needing an operation. On the first evening we bought a bottle of wine and drinks for the kids (24 Euros) and were given a free bottle of water. On our second evening we just wanted water, but were told we couldn't have free tap water. I offered to pay for a litre bottle of mineral water (approx. 4.5 Euros) and asked if my son could have an extra glass of tap water when he needed it because his disability. I was refused by two of the bar staff. In the end I went back to my room and brought a bottle water to the table for my son to drink. The manageress began having a go at us in front of the other members of our coach party so we asked to speak to her privately. She eventually brought our son a large glass of tap water. But I have never been refused tap water for my son in the UK or abroad before and was so upset by the attitude of the staff, I was in tears, unable to eat my meal and had to leave the room.
The second issue was the lack of choice for food in the evening. I don't eat meat, but do eat fish. There was no vegetarian option so I had white breaded fish at the first two meals and was told that there was only meat or white breaded fish for the next two evenings' meal. So we decided that (even though we had already paid for the next two meals for the four of us) we would eat out in Valkenburg instead. We ended up spending an additional 130 Euros, but it was worth it as there are so many lovely restaurants in Valkenburg to chose from, the choice of food was fantastic and the service was great with no problems getting extra tap water.
Our third issue was with the rooms. We booked a double and a twin. Both rooms were the same - two single beds pushed together and were incredibly small. It was impossible for two people to move around at the same time. In addition our windows were positioned over the outdoor seating area which meant we had to put up with smoke from 6.30am to 1am. The hotel knew that my son had asthma, as it was mentioned on our booking form, but they declined to move us and we had to make do with fans and closed windows in the hot weather.
I can not recommend this hotel to anyone special needs or a disability.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back in the main Walram hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A great place to stay for going into Maastricht - only 15 mins on a frequent train service. Trains come back until late in the evening too. But Valkenburg is also a good place for restaurants and bars in the evening. A pretty little town to explore and the castle ruins are worth a visit. The hotel itself is friendly, with comfortable beds and a nice indoor pool. Room decor is basic but clean. Staff are helpful and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.