We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
rugby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

the hotel was very central, if you asked at reception you could have tea making facilities in your room.the food and service was excellent, the rooms were clean.a short walk away were all the bars and shops. there is a supermarket opposite the hotel, which was very cheap.we liked to stay out late at night , the night porter called brahim was a very good humoured lad, who always had a joke with us when we had to call him to open the door, he spoke perfect English and went out of his way to be helpful, as did the rest of the staff. I would recommend this hotel, there is nothing to complain about

Room Tip: I can't give tips on any rooms, we only saw ours, I didn't hear anybody complaining about ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    33
    16
    12
See reviews for
24
77
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although our room rather small, we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at this hotel. Breakfast and evening meal excellent, and staff friendly and willing to help. Very conveniently located within a few minutes walk from the town centre, where there is plenty of interesting things to visit, and numerous bars and restaurants, most very cosy and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Valkenburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently with National Holidays whilst on a trip to the Belgian Grand Prix. Firstly the location was lovely, we had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the river and church. At night we could see the ruins on top of the hill which were all lit up. As previous reviews say the room is a bit on the small side but was more than adequate for our needs, the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were good. Oh and the bed was really comfy.
We were there on B and B and I must say the breakfast was really good, lots of selection both hot and cold, the bread and the rolls were lovely and fresh .
We never had a meal at night as the hotel is only a short stroll from all the lovely bars and restaurants and there are certainly lots of places to choose from. One of the best places we ate at was Ritchie's steak house it was really nice.
Valkenburg is a really lovely place and should we go again we would definitely stay at The Walram again.

Room Tip: Try and request a room on front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city, just outside the busy area. It is only a 10-minute walk from Valkenburg's train station and about 15 minutes from the hotel to Thermae 2000 spa and health resort.
It is a simple hotel but it has got all you need to spend a few days in town. Furnishings are a bit old fashioned but that didn't bother us at all. Breakfast is nice with a buffet of bread rolls, crackers, jams, eggs, etc. There is also a bar and restaurant.
Our room was nice and quite spacy. For a hot water pot, tea and cups you can ask the reception.
There is also a pool inside the hotel but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a cycling team excursion in the region. Reception was ok and the rooms were nice and clean. We were even allowed to take our bikes in our room but then room became a problem. We have half pension and the breakfast was sufficient for bikers like us. The evening meal was rather late as they want groups to come eat rather late (19h45), after a day of calory burning this is quite late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this 6 night trip with Leger Holidays mainly as we had tickets to see Andre Reiu in Maastricht on the sunday evening.Booking with Leger you are booking for the Hotel De Bogaerde which is attached to the Walram.You sleep in the De Bogaerde part but all other facilities eg;reception,bar,dining are in the Walram -are you still with me.lol.
Before we arrived I emailed the hotel asking for superior rooms-these were given to us at an exra cost,can't remember how much but it was'nt a lot. I had also emailed about information on transport to Maastricht for the concert.We were told the hotel does not have it's own mini bus but they would arrange a taxi for us.
When we arrived we were shown to our room in the Walram-it was on the 4th floor at the side of the hotel overlooking the a large church and weir -the sound of rushing water lulled me to sleep each night.
The room was quite nice,a very large bed,2 side cuboards with lamps.A desk type thing in the alcove with a mirror over it and a cuboard in the wall (with shelving) to hang your clothes.Not the biggest room we've ever had, but adaquate for the 6 nights.Bathroom was quite large with mirror,shelving and a corner bath.No shower,but a shower attachment to wash your hair.
Dining.
This gets a bit complicated. When we arrived late evening we did not have a meal-as expected.
The following evening we were going to the concert in Maastrich so hotel staff arranged for us to have our evening meal earlier,we joined other guests who were German?.We were quite impressed by the self service food.Lots of choice of salads, breads,hot dishes and desserts.
Next evening we were back to normal for the evening meal with other Leger guests 6.30pm.
This meal was different from the night before,we had a smaller selection of breads/salad and the soup,main meal and dessert was plated-so no choice.Food was fine and the desserts were lovely.
Breakfast consisted of hard boiled eggs,scrambled eggs,bacon,toast machine,ham,cheese,tomato's,cereals,juice and best of all a coffee machine which gave you different coffee's plus hot chocolate.More than happy with the breakfast.
The hotel is quite small but has a very nice bar area,lounge,with comfortable seating.Also has seating at the front of the building and a small terrace area which is at the back of the dining room-nice to sit out after your meal with a glass of wine.Bar prices were reasonable.
We did not use the swimming pool or sauna-looked ok though.
The front of the hotel overlooks a car park but did not seem to be noisy or overused.Just a few yards flat walk from the Walram and you in the area of shops and bars-also had a small market most days.
Can I give a big up to the staff at the Walran-they went out of their way to be helpful to us.The reception staff organised for us to go on the coach with the German party who had booked to see Andre Reiu in Maastrich.They also altered our meal time so we could eat before we went---thank you so much.Also like to thank the dining roon waitresses and the chef who went out of their way to cater for my dad who is recovering from throat cancer and finds it difficult to swallow certain foods.The girls went to the supermarket and bought porridge for his breakfast,and the chef minced all his evening meals and arranged it most artistically ! Thank you chef.
Had a great time in Valkenberg and would definately stay at this hotel again-great position-great staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Food good, pool good but changing facilities aren't - 2 changing rooms to be shared with men and women. Best to get changed in your room. Half the hotel has been refurbished and has nice size rooms with air con. We stayed in the "old" part. Room 201 was large but no air con and nothing like the pictures they hotel has on its brochure. Room 207 advertised as a double but it was so small even if it was a single with a single bed in it, it would have been little. Again no air con, no bath - it wouldn't have fitted in the tiny bathroom anyway - a cupboard for a wardrobe which smelt awful. This room is also at the front of the hotel so everyone goes outside to smoke which comes straight up and into your room - horrible. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was clean but I would never stay in this hotel again unless I was assured on booking I got a refurbished room as shown in their advertising. If you don't you will be disappointed. More like 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front of the hotel unless you smoke. Get a room from 11 onwards these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram

Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Walram is a stylish hotel with a rich history. It was originally a farm during the 18th Century, built on the remains of the city walls. Since 1920 it has been run as a hotel. With this long history Hotel Walram has been a steady feature in Valkenburg for decades. Since the parents of the current owner bought the hotel in 1940 much has been altered, built, demolished and re-built. Nevertheless the original facade of limestone rock still shines through in all its past glory. This gives prestige, not only to the hotel, but to the whole square in which it is situated.The Hotel Walram is renowned for its special atmosphere. It exudes a unique ambiance of nostalgia and modernity, making people feel right at home. Moreover, the hotel offers the best of two worlds: directly in front of the hotel lies the picturesque town of Valkenburg and to the rear you walk straight into the forests. Do not be misled by its long history: Hotel Walram has modern facilities including an indoor swimming pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.