We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Walram August 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walram to your Saves list
Hotel Walram
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Walram August 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Food good, pool good but changing facilities aren't - 2 changing rooms to be shared with men and women. Best to get changed in your room. Half the hotel has been refurbished and has nice size rooms with air con. We stayed in the "old" part. Room 201 was large but no air con and nothing like the pictures they hotel has on its brochure. Room 207 advertised as a double but it was so small even if it was a single with a single bed in it, it would have been little. Again no air con, no bath - it wouldn't have fitted in the tiny bathroom anyway - a cupboard for a wardrobe which smelt awful. This room is also at the front of the hotel so everyone goes outside to smoke which comes straight up and into your room - horrible. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was clean but I would never stay in this hotel again unless I was assured on booking I got a refurbished room as shown in their advertising. If you don't you will be disappointed. More like 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front of the hotel unless you smoke. Get a room from 11 onwards these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    73
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
29
98
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayce, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice hotel and a gracious staff (except for one constantly perturbed anti-American female). Great location and super value! Valkenburg has a lot to offer and is very close to other locales in Belgium and Germany.

Room Tip: Limited number of air conditioned rooms. 4th Floor rooms are basically the 'attic' of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on the same trip as wazzwa & thought the hotel was first class, super food 3 star dining,
also staff were attentive & most spoke English so no problems.
The best coach trip we have been on, in fact the only one !

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in main part of Walrum & not in adjoining hotel taken over by Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid July 2013 for a long weekend. We had originally looked for a hotel in Maastricht as we were keen to show our guests around this wonderful city. But our visit coincided with one of Andre Rieu's concert weekends in the City. So prices were steep and rooms scarce! We were pleasantly surprised by Valkenburg with its restaurants, bars and picturesque setting. It is also very easy for access to Maastricht with regular commuter trains taking only 12 mins (3 stops). So I think it's a great base for this part of Limburg. On the hotel front, it isn't a luxury place but it is a good and honest, friendly family hotel with rooms of a decent size, with spa baths in the room and a decent indoor swimming pool. It is well appointed, decently decorated with helpful and friendly staff. You don't need to dine there apart from breakfast as there are lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel bar and terrace is good though. It is situated next to a weir/sluice gate complex and a church with a chiming clock. So be prepared for some background noise if you overlook them and like to have your bedroom window open at night. It didn't bother me however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

just returned from a week here in Valkenburg really nice hotel suitable for all very friendly helpful staff good food comfortable beds We went with Leger coach holiday it was a really lovely holiday well thought out plenty to do and we had the luxury of a great coach crew Paul and Anthea wed certainly go on holiday with Leger again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay here and the staff were great and very helpful, the food was very good and well presented to the only trouble was that all dishes were served with chips when roast or new potato's would have been better as all the dinners were roast or fish.
on the down side the rooms were very small with very little storage space but as I was on my own it was not a problem but there would not have been enough space to store two peoples cloths so I would think that a couple would be better off going for an upgrade.
Also as with most hotels there was no smoking anywhere inside the hotel so in the night I had to get dressed again and go out into the garden after midnight to smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I recently did the National Holidays trip to Holland Belgium and Germany, it was a wonderful holiday staying in the Dutch town of Valkenburg. It was the start of the Carnival in the area which made it all the more interesting. The Hotel Walram was exceptional, the staff were very kind and helpful, the food was really good and our room even had a whirlpool bath in the bathroom, we had a pleasant view onto one of the local canals and a small park. As part of the holiday we visited Aachen in Germany, Maastricht in Holland and the Beautiful village of Monshau again in Germany. The journey was made into a very pleasant one by the coach driver, a gentleman named Gerry who entertained us all with good music and comedy. Thank You to the Staff of The Hotel Walram, and also to Gerry and National Holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Walram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.