We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of the 70's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bosstraat 2-6, 6301 HM Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memories of the 70's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception, bar area, lounge and garden were pleasant enough, probably modernized within the last couple if years. However, the 70's feeling started in the lift - it made an awful racket and seemed to have a tremendous problem hoicking 2 people with two hold-alls up to the first floor! First and last time used! The room was small, had two chairs and a little table, the beds were comfortable, the Tv minute although it had BBC1. These are the good aspects! Now the 70's feeling - washable (but not washed) wall covering aged to yellow, greenish/brownish thin/worn carpet covered in stains, duvets covers with plenty of holes, doors and thin fake beams made from dark brown ply wood and a bathroom that made us claustrophobic to say the least although it had a nice shower. The best thing was: your neighbours seemed to live inside your room! So jolly, you could hear them talk, walk around, cough, etc. etc.
Redeeming factors: the staff - very helpful and cheerful, station with trains to Maastricht, Heerlen (both with easy access to Aachen in Germany, Liege in Belgium) etc 10 minutes walk, centre of lovely Valkenburg about the same. Would we come back? If Fletcher Hotels would offer a good deal, as they
frequently do, yes, we could relive the 70's!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    24
    26
    11
See reviews for
6
44
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Fletcher hotel as part of a Xmas Market trip organised by Leger Travel. Having used Leger before on several occasions, we were very disappointed with their choice of hotel. We've paid a lot less in the past and stayed in much better accommodation, and I know this was the general consensus of our entire group, having listened to others during our 3 day stay.

On arrival at 9.30pm, not having stopped for an evening meal due to driver hours being limited, we were informed that the hotel bar, which normally closes at 11pm, was not open that evening, leaving those with medical conditions unable to even get a glass of water to take their medication.

The hotel is situated just a few yards from a railway crossing with its regular alarm bell whenever a train approached. There is an Aldi supermarket about 100 yards or so down the road but little else unless you walk into town, around 20-30 minutes. Taxi fare into town is €6 each way and worth every cent. Hotel Reception will book one for you if requested.

The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and modern, but once you go through to the residential areas it becomes very dated, with cheap cord carpeting and 'Contiboard' wall panelling. Our room looked as though it had previously been a storage area, as the door was only an inch or so away from the door of the next room, and opened outwards onto the corridor.

The room was small, as others have commented, with two steps leading up into a bathroom. Large cupboard, which had a hole punched into the door, with a couple of shelves and hanging space. Twin beds were comfortable, one saving grace, although the duvet cover on one bed had a hole in. The cord carpet had a large red wine stain on it. TV was provided, one chair and a small table. No tea-making facilities. Although the general decor was poor the rooms were cleaned well.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled omelette, which unfortunately was burnt black on every one of the three days; hard boiled eggs, bacon lardons which would have been OK had they not been floating in grease, cheeses, cereals, breads and rolls. There were no toasters.

The evening meal was a real let-down. This may be due to the fact that we were an organised party and therefore subject to a set menu, but after the first night's meal of soup, a very small wafer thin pork escalope with potato croquettes and mixed veg, followed by a piece of cake we ate out on the second evening, especially after finding out that the kitchen staff still weren't aware of what was on the menu just a couple of hours before it was due to be served.This led us to think it was going to be a 'boil in the bag' meal, which it turned out to be - chicken curry! Hardly surprising then that we weren't the only people seen in town for dinner! It was a shame, as their normal menu looked much more inviting.

Once the bar is closed at night the area is secured by doors being locked and lift access suspended until the staff re-open for breakfast the next morning. You can exit and re-enter the residential area by way of stairs and side entrances only. As we had to be down for a 6am breakfast on our departure date, we saw quite a few elderly travellers struggling down stairs with suitcases as the lifts weren't operational, very dangerous as the stairs were narrow and fairly steep, without the addition of heavy luggage being handled.

It seemed that the hotel was being run on skeleton staff the weekend we were there; the receptionist was also the bartender, restaurant waitress and cleaner. If you wanted a drink, you rang the bell at the reception desk if she wasn't around.

I can honestly say that although the staff were very friendly and the public areas modern, the remainder of the hotel was very dated and needs a total revamp. My husband's first foray into the world of Xmas Markets - and although all in all we had a fantastic weekend it was overshadowed by a much lower level of accommodation than we felt we had paid for, given previous experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

swindon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here during a christmas market coach tour. Ledgers. The room was warm we needed to keep our windows open. Bed was comfortable , but we would have liked a double bed, but it seemsthey do not have them, only twin beds , so would not recommend for couples but would for friends holidaying together. We only ate one evening meal in hotel , good simple food. The other nights we ate in town, plenty of choice of good restaurants . It took us about 15mins to walk to the christmas caves, a must . The sand sculptures were fantastic, we even took the cable lift up to the tower. Breakfast continental , plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Part of Ledger Christmas Markets 5 day trip and the stay in this hotel really helped make the trip a great experience. The hotel was clean throughout and although the bedrooms were on the small side they were adequate and the beds were really comfortable. Hotel was about 20 Minute walk from the town centre and the caves where the Christmas Markets are held. Would visit this hotel again given half a chance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here in September. The hotel is a little on the dated side in terms of decor and layout but is typical of a continental village hotel. Staff are pleasant and helpful and like to look after the guests.

The dining room downstairs is clean and bright with plenty of space and breakfast was a good continental breakfast buffet with the addition of bacon lardons and scrambled egg for those who wanted it. We did have dinner one evening and whilst the menu was set, the food was good, well presented and plentiful.

The rooms are adequate in size and whilst requiring an update to the decor they are warm, clean and linens are fresh. I have stayed in a couple of the Fletcher hotels now and whilst the other was much more decor friendly this one in Valkenburg was by far and away the better of the two hotels.

The hotel is on the edge of the village in a pleasant location with the addition of its own garden with ample seating. All in all if you are looking for a standard 4 star Hilton you are not going to come here. If you are looking for friendly, cosy and safe place to stay where you are recognised by the staff then this is a great little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As expected for such low price (kruitvat voucher 25 euro 2 persons) we stayed in Valkenburg.
the hotel was rather outdated and worn out, but ok for a night sleep.
Against better kwowledge we did buy the breakfest package (higher cost as staying hotel. I would not recommend to take this option. Very basic and for this type of money better breakfest options available in Valkenburg. Diner we did'n't even try since good restaurants options in the village
But reason for booking is the nice walking areas in the GEUL river area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I accompanied a group here, so it was not my choice, but the tour operators.

This is definitely not a luxury hotel, but it is clean, with good bed linen, & very friendly, helpful (if a bit overworked) staff.

The breakfast was typical of an average Continental breakfast, for a hotel of this class, but with the addition of scrambled & boiled eggs & bacon lardons.

Yes as others have said the rooms are not large, but are perfectly adequate for sleeping in, (the rooms do not have hair dryers or kettles, - but it was possible to borrow a hair dryer from reception). My shower room was actually quite large, but then I was up in the attic, the downside of that was bumping my head on the dormer window frame, (I remembered after that), & some very steep stairs, mind you this is Holland, so it is now unusual for steep narrow stairs!!! The main part of the hotel had a lift.

Evening meals do stop fairly early ie 20.00, but that was explained to us before our arrival. However, in Valkenburg itself (around 20 minutes walk away) there are plenty of cafes, bars & restaurants which are open fairly late. I had the evening meal in the hotel on one night, & found it to exceed my expectations (having read previous reviews)!!!

This hotel was quiet, & if I was travelling privately to Valkenburg, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 53 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#4 of 53 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#3 of 53 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlas Eurotel
Atlas Eurotel
#35 of 53 in Valkenburg
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 53 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valkenhof
Hotel Valkenhof
#12 of 53 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg

Address: Bosstraat 2-6, 6301 HM Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by hills and located only a few kilometers from the 'drielandenpunt' (three-country point), where the borders of the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium meet, the town of Valkenburg has an atmosphere distinct from that of more typically Dutch towns. In the midst of all this beauty, lies Valkenburg's lovely Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg. The perfect place to spend a few days away from it all. This hotel lies within walking distance of the city center of Valkenburg. And also the cities Luik and Aken are close by. Whether you want culture, nature or want to go shopping, Flecther Hotel Valkenburg is the right place to stay. The rooms of this hotel are modernly furnished. There is a lounge with fireplace, a restaurant where you can enjoy delicious dishes and of course a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.