We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money at Fletcher hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broekhem 134, 6301 HL Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“value for money at Fletcher hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Fletcher hotel chain renovates run down farms, castles etc. to quite beautiful hotels on pretty good locations. Allthough well equipped, the rooms are more basic than the exterior and the public areas of the hotel as the rooms are furnished with rather cheapish materials. (e.g. a shower curtain rather than a walk-in shower, a curtain in stead of a bathroom door). Still: also the Burghoeve is worth its money, with very friendly staff, a good breakfast and good dinner. Fletcher: why not upgrade your service by offering wine-and-dine arrangements! Since almost all of your restaurants guests will also be your hotel guests, almost no one will have to drive after dinner anymore! This opens an excellent opportunity that not many restaurants can offer their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    10
    15
    9
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. We were a coach party of 41 people, this hotel is not capable of looking after larger groups of people. The evening meal should have started at 7pm, it was late, one evening the second course was not served until 8.30m.The food was very often cold and they ran out of one of the choices(there were only 2 choices). The annex at the back of the site had a very steep, to my mind dangerous staircase. I found it difficult to come down the stairs, i would add that i am not infirm and regularly walk distances of 5 miles or more. I asked for a plug for the handbasin in my room and was told that they do not supply them (most of the other rooms had them). they provided me with a pyrex dish to put water in. Our tour manager could not get much improvement because there was no manager on site she had to telephone someone in Hanover(?)They did not have enough staff or staff with experience to run the hotel properly

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel,i do not think that even if the rooms had been perfect the overall experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The worst hotel I have stayed in. food lukewarm and portions rationed. also ran out of food on one occassion. Rooms very small and stable blocked staircase very steep most unsuitable for the most people. Staff indifferent and unfriendly. lack of staff would possibly explain why rooms were not cleaned. Coach party to visit floriade. Valkenburgh has major road/pavement works at the moment so best avoided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my group of 39 adults.
From the description I was hoping for a more rural setting. However Valkenburg is a lovely small town.
Some of the rooms were quite small with sloping ceilings & the stairs were quite steep. There is a lift in the main block but doesn't operate before 07.30. Not a good arrangement in an emergency!
I felt we were told what we wanted to hear rather than the truth on a number of occasions which reminded me of being back in India/Africa/Middle East!
However i felt the food was good although we had a very limited 3 course set menu which didn't suit everybody.
Breakfast was excellent.
If I had been with a partner I think it would have been more suitable but not for a group of 39 adults.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Courteous, helpful staff, easy walk into Valkenburgm bbus stop outside to Maastricht.
Food plentiful, fresh and as eat as much as you want from buffet
Rooms a bit cosy but perfectly OK for a few days

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve

Address: Broekhem 134, 6301 HL Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of Valkenburg lies a splendid, traditional farmhouse that has been completely refurbished to become the magnificent Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve. The old farmhouse with its chandeliers; a stylish sun lounge; an excellent restaurant and a delightfully relaxing bar. The hotel has every facility to make your stay carefree and soothing. You can also relax in peace on the large terrace in the quiet garden from the moment the sun rises! Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve in Valkenburg is therefore an ideal base for a relaxing weekend or a midweek break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.