We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy and Tasty Accident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aan de Linde

Aan de Linde
Jan Deckerstraat 1b, 6301 GX Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 restaurants in Valkenburg
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A Happy and Tasty Accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The terrace here at Aan de Linde is beautiful, and as the sun got lower the colours warmed and deepened. The view is directly into some lovely old stone buildings that feel they could pass as a movie set for small town France before the war. It was enough to make me over look the tire American rock music playing on the system.

But you don't go out to eat just for the view, and here the food really steps up to please. Drinks, appies (on the house), bread (on the house), several courses, a good espresso ... over several hours, my tummy and taste buds just got happier and happier! I can only describe the cuisine as classically French with a strong Nederlands inflection. Flavours were strong and complex, but textures soft and inviting. Perhaps it is a perspective of the chef, but there was a lot of peppercorn used and my, oh my, it was balanced and exciting.

To top off the evening, the staff was fabulous. Very attentive, very patient with my lagging Nederlands.

We happened on this place by accident, and even more accidentally found our way around to the back terrace ... and what a happy accident it was.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    16
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Classic French cuisine !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can agree to the positive comments towards this restaurant. The menu itself not fansy but rather classic. However each plate has a good impact to my appetize. I especially liked the scallop starter which was nicely baked and prepared. What I did not like was rather poor wine selection for this kind of restaurant. I expect them to have a triple options so that we can enjoy wine selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuitjenhorn, Northern Holland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Expensive but very fine quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I liked the fact that the food was excellent and in large portions. I did not like the bill afterwards. Very expensive place. Probably: quality cost money.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala, Greece
1 review
“too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

the food was perfect ,end the service was exelend,but it is too expensive .we order lamp end it cost 20 euro!!! one mineral water it cost 5,6 euro

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice location good food and acceptable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We asked some locals for some good dinner options in Valkenburg. Restaurant was mentioned several times and with reason.We first did some drinks on the (full) terrance a the back in the afternoon checking the place out. Food looked good so we descided to reserve for the evening. We had a very enjoyable dinner nice service an ok price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aan de Linde also viewed

Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 

Been to Aan de Linde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aan de Linde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.