We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for our wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn

Save Saved
You added Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badweg 3, 8899 BV Vlieland, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Vlieland
almere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location for our wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On October 10th we got married on the beautiful and quaint island of Vlieland, in the province Friesland (The Netherlands). We booked the wedding package deal at Hotel Seeduyn where we stayed in the bridal suite with spectacular views over the beach and the North Sea. The staff were utmost accommodating and helpful. Our guests also enjoyed the spacious, clean rooms and the good quality breakfast. We had a very pleasant stay at Seeduyn and we would return there any time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a beachfront view. It is really worth that extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel - owned by a family operating more hotels, for a few times.

On the good side, the hotel has a great location, 2 pools, and all potential to be a great place.
But there is a big down-side. The ownership of the hotel seems to be rather opportunistic. The rooms were not clean and are smelly. The toilets smelled like they have not seen any cleaning for a long time. There is lots of "sand" in the pool (meaning the pool does not get cleaned frequently) and the furniture, curtains and carpets are dirty and too old. The restaurant is over priced and serves medium food (better options are available on the island).

It is the top property on Vlieland in terms of facilities but you may want to reconsider and find yourself a cleaner place to stay - with less facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family really enjoyed this hotel on the seafront, the staff were friendly on arrival and asked us how our journey was. The room was clean, airy, spacious and had a balcony looking over one of the two lovely pools. As a family we really enjoyed going to the pool and relaxing on the sun lounges. The swimming pools and changing rooms were very clean. We used the pools every day and went to the beach which was a 30 second walk from the hotel.

We had breakfast at the hotel for three days and there was a brilliant selection of fruit, yogurt, pastries, bread, preserves, cereals, cooked breakfast, cold meats, cheese and fruit juice. All the family enjoyed it, especially the chocolate sprinkles!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

-Plus
--Comfortable hotel next to the beach, big family room
--low value for money (nasty surprise, we had to pay clean-up costs)
--noisy and dirty room (carpet and furniture)
--For the price I would have expected the breakfast to be included (but good quality of the food)

-Minus
--20 min walk to main street; restaurants
--not even a small coffee pad, next to the coffee maker
--no courtesy bottles of water in the room (expected for a "four-star" hotel)
--Welcome feeling???? (of course, I forgot it was summer)
--in the visited period (summer) I would say it feels like a 3-star hotel with a poor value for money

Room Tip: For an "apartment room" you should consider an extra 25% for "cleaning costs" (q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been coming for over ten years to this hotel on Vlieland and love the island. The hotel is, next to rental houses and camping, the only well-located establishment on the beach, so no competition. We have seen a lot of improvements of this decades: it was almost run down in the beginning. Rooms have been redecorated, elevator installed, better restaurant seating, and a wellness center.
But to be honest, we come to the island, not the hotel. We are very happy with the new rooms (pick the most expensive ones, if you come here, at least enjoy the place.). The food has improved markedly over time with more local products (fish). Do not hesitate to ask for specials, apparently the staff is not trained to offer them...
In the Summer, it's full of kids. Because the Dutch, for most, are very liberal in their child rearing, do not expect only polite and quiet kids. So not a couple's week-end get away. Nevertheless, staff is in general friendly, helpful, sometimes a bit too familier to my taste.
So, in short, the island is well worth the trip, the hotel is perfectly located and if you can come in June or September, you probably will have a very good time. In any event, come to Vlieland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel was perfect located. Friendly and helpfull staff. Room was spacious and clean.we travelled with small dog and room was prepared for the dog ( bed and water/food dispencer).
Lots of choice for breakfast.
Downsides: weather was perfect and room were too warm. No airconditioning or clean air. Unacceptable for 4 stars. No mini bar or cooler in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good hotel, excellent location. Housekeeping is very poor though. all they do is make the beds no other cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn

Address: Badweg 3, 8899 BV Vlieland, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Vlieland
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Vlieland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.