We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Pimpernel

De Pimpernel
Kruisweg 959, 2132 CD Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
023-5615970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Hoofddorp
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bistro De Pimpernel opened its doors back in 1985. Over the years, the restaurant has grown into a true concept in Hoofddorp and the surrounding area, under the careful management of Raymond and Tanja Ruijg. The bistro is an informal French specialities restaurant with a menu which changes with the seasons. The restaurant also boasts a very extensive wine list. De Pimpernel is open every day from 17.00 pm except Sundays.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Quite a find - we were contemsting heading into Amsterdam city center for dinner whe staying at the NH airport hotel - pimpernel came out no.2 on trip advisor fir local restaurants - we fave it a try and were nit disappointed. Food excellent, service a little slow but charming. Fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Ca.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I recently overnights at Schipol Airport and stayed at a local hotel. I asked the front desk for some suggestions for dinner within walking distance as was given a list of local places. I had the great fortune to select Bistro de Pimpernel and was very, very happy indeed. Everything about this quaint place rates a 5 Star and you will just have see for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

First class hospitality from a wonderful owner. Service faultless, food wonderful and the most pleasant evening (s), yes it was that good we went back the next evening. Thoroughly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A truly super experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I read the previous review on here (yes, I can read Dutch too) and am amazed. We too went to this restaurant as we were staying at the nearby Crowne Plaza and saw the great reviews on Trip Advisor app for De Pimpernel. These reviews are fully justified - the foods was excellent and exceptional value for money. The rose wine was superb and only 19 euros. And the service was wonderful. I recommend this place without reservation. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I visit Hoofddorp quite often as I have family there and we always have a meal (sometime 3 or 4 times) here. The service is top notch and you are usually welcomed and seated by the owner. The seating is cozy, but not cramped, and feels like your sitting at your own table at home. I can't say enough good things about the service, they are always there when you need them, but let you enjoy your meal and you never feel rushed. As an American traveling in Europe I alway miss having plenty of ice in my drink and they go out of their way to provide extra ice if you ask. The food is amazing, taste fresh, and the presentation is something they take pride in.
They make every guest feel welcome
Whether you are entertaining business associates or having a family dinner this place always seems to serve your needs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Pimpernel also viewed

Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 

Been to De Pimpernel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Pimpernel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.