We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Rosario

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Da Rosario
Concourslaan 10, 2132 DK Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
023-5634012
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Hoofddorp
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real Italian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a restaurant where we get take away pizza very often and eat out a couple of times each year. Last Sunday, we got pizza again.

Real Italian pizza with a thin crust, unlike many so called pizza places where you get such a think crust, that it almost is a whole bread. And, don't expect a pizza with Bolognese sauce, pineapple, shawarma or other things that do not belong in the same airspace. Also, don't ask for it. The owner will stare you to death!

When ordering a main dish, don't be surprised you get potatoes served with it instead of pasta. Pasta is a first course! Da Rosario has a great wine menu, with very nice wines, albeit a bit pricey. But wines in Dutch restaurants are overpriced anyway.

The employees are friendly and like to joke with regular customers. The restaurant was modernized the end of last year, I think. At that time some small changes were made to the menu. But, I do hope they will change the menu more often, for instance monthly or at least each season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent Italian Food in a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I found the Da Rosario, i didn't know about it... the place was plenty of people, the sun was shining.... i went inside, spoke with the Chef Giusseppe... then,, suddenly,.. a lasanha goes in front of me... and i said... this is what i want... and i did....
Excellent choice, excellent price, only 11 euros for that...i really enjoyed.... everyone should try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“An Italian unworthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

While most Italian restaurants in the Netherlands are runned by Turks or Dutch with marginal knowledge of Italian cooking skills (hence the poor ratings of Italian restaurants in the Netherlands in general..), Da Rosario's chef is actually a genuine Sicilian.

The place itself looks inconspicuous in a typical prefab shopping area. On the inside, it is neatly decorated, albeit without much class.

The pizza Quattro Formaggi was OK, a bit burnt, but the taste was pretty good. The Carbonara, however, was watery, washy, with overcooked pasta. Not exactly something you would expect from an Italian cook. The 'vine della casa' was relatively cheap (3 Euro), but also relatively poor in taste.

The service was so-so with a forced smile and almost uncomfortably pushy.

All in all, not really bad, but an Italian unworthy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lekker italiaans eten”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice Italian food. Good pizza's. What infuriates me that the boss will not give tap water and forces us to order 'spa rood/blauw'.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Italian food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our meal here. The pizza my boyfriend had was excellent, the crust was perfectly cooked, not too thick or too thin. My seafood pasta was great too. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Recommend to come here on a sunny day as eating out on the terrace under the sun is great. I had a small issue with the dirty toilet, perhaps from a disgusting previous customer. It ruined my meal a bit but apart from that everything is good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Rosario also viewed

Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 

Been to Da Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.