We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic clean hotel for short stay / stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 3, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Economic clean hotel for short stay / stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean friendly hotel which runs a free shuttle bus to and from the airport every 30minutes. Check in was ok & efficient. Room was clean and spacious enough for two. Room facilities included flat screen TV with English channels including bbc1 & ITV1 & 2. Mini fridge, coffee making facilities, hairdryer & air con. We had a couple of beers in the bar - standard hotel prices€5 for a large beer incl complimentary nuts which were a nice touch. We didn't eat there as breakfast was €14 each and there was a MacDonalds next door so that was a no brainer :-)
We just needed a quick & easy stop over to collect a hire car the next morning and all in all it was fab for the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Fortchy,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a gud stay at the hotel. It was the best service for the price. Hotel shuttle to airport was useful a few minutes journey to airport. it was easy for us to travel to Amsterdam central by train. a few stops from airport. Cleaning of the property was gud. only issue we had was that the phone charging for samsung phone. Hotel had a very few adaptors for the overseas customers.its minor anyway.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Abraham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Abraham M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoywed your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Close to airport and timely shuttle services. Rooms are clean and very friendly staff. McDonalds is close to the hotel and its open for 24*7. Would like to stay again in Basrtion Hotel group.Nice experience...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Abhishek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel for short stays if you don't need to go to the centre of
Amsterdam. Free shuttle busses to and from the airport, well decorated rooms with tv, drinks etc. Great bar and restaurant downstairs and super fitness facilities and pool. The price was very cheap. Will be using again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice weekend in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, close to Schiphol and free parking.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks as a base/central hub for exploring The Netherlands in general, not just Amsterdam. Prompt shuttle to/from the airport/trains made it very easy to get just about anywhere in the country for day trips. We could be in Amsterdam within 45 minutes of leaving the hotel; Rotterdam in less than 90 minutes.

Soundproofing in the rooms to block airplane noise is excellent. The room had two twin beds, great for friends traveling together. This was a slightly larger room than what I've had in other European cities in this price range. The room was consistently cleaned. Breakfast is higher priced than the McDonalds next door, but has a good selection of rolls, cold meats, yogurt, eggs, bacon. Reception and dining staff were always courteous and helpful. Check-in and check-out was promptly taken care of.

The only hiccups in 2 weeks was that there apparently was a convention/large meeting one day that seemed to have overwhelmed the breakfast staff - they had trouble keeping up. The same day we had an issue with no towels left by housekeeping. Both situations were quickly rectified.

The rooms are not soundproofed between floors, however. To sit on either of the two chairs in the room, you must drag them on the uncarpeted floor. This does cause some noise, and it was very noticeable when the occupants in the room above were moving their chairs.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't need/want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

shuttle bus is good, out the main exit of Schiphol turn right & look for A9 bus stop., the rooms did not allow windows to be open. if you need an early check-in email before & it can be arranged, Mc'ds is in the car park. overall it was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I will just list the facts as i observed them.
1. Airport shuttle is every 30 minutes. Pretty easy to catch and it's free.
2. Hotel is 10-15 minutes ride from the airport.
3. Checkin very quick and friendly. They have all the paperwork and keys prepped and it's just question of finding your reservation number.
4. Rooms only with two single beds, no rooms with queen bed. But single beds are easily moved together.
5. Mattress is a little too soft for my taste. If you're a stomach sleeper as i am a firmer mattress would be preferred. But ok for one night.
6. Good sound isolation. Considering how close a very busy airport was we did not hear a sound.
7. Bathroom is of a good size with good water pressure.
8. Restaurant service... well... the kitchen was closed half an hour before posted time because 'it was quiet and cooks decided to go home'. The waitress/receptionist made an effort to make our dinner which makes me think it was all pre-made and just warmed to order. At least that's how my chicken wrap tasted.
9. There is a McDonalds across the street - definitely a better bet for breakfast at least.
10. Neighborhood is not for tourists. Nothing there at all other than few hotels and warehouses.
11. Gym is very basic with no weights an only three different cardio machines. Pool looked ok but we did not go in.
12. Good speed free wi-fi.

Although overall it was a satisfactory stay next time we will look for something else. Maybe closer to airport and train to city?

P.S. Please note that for some reason all the doors in the hotel are very heavy and all the amities (closets and showers specifically) are meant for very tall people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport and for your elaborate comments about your stay.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.0 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Vuursteen 3, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport is a luxurious four star hotel that stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office services, comfortable deluxe rooms and an extensive choice of dishes at its atmospheric restaurant. Guests are welcome at the hotelbar and seperate smoking lounge. The hotel offers complimentary use of the fitness room and swimming pool. Free wireless internet access is available in the entire hotel. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and can be easily reached within seven minutes by car. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility The hotel is ideally situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and in the vicitiy of Business Centres in and around Schiphol/Hoofddorp. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. Many attractive cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 185 Deluxe rooms. The Deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, free WiFi, a working desk, a safe, free coffee & tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath/shower, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Budget Places, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing