We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was gud stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 3, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“it was gud stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a gud stay at the hotel. It was the best service for the price. Hotel shuttle to airport was useful a few minutes journey to airport. it was easy for us to travel to Amsterdam central by train. a few stops from airport. Cleaning of the property was gud. only issue we had was that the phone charging for samsung phone. Hotel had a very few adaptors for the overseas customers.its minor anyway.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Abraham M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoywed your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
23
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Close to airport and timely shuttle services. Rooms are clean and very friendly staff. McDonalds is close to the hotel and its open for 24*7. Would like to stay again in Basrtion Hotel group.Nice experience...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Fantastic hotel for short stays if you don't need to go to the centre of
Amsterdam. Free shuttle busses to and from the airport, well decorated rooms with tv, drinks etc. Great bar and restaurant downstairs and super fitness facilities and pool. The price was very cheap. Will be using again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice weekend in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, close to Schiphol and free parking.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks as a base/central hub for exploring The Netherlands in general, not just Amsterdam. Prompt shuttle to/from the airport/trains made it very easy to get just about anywhere in the country for day trips. We could be in Amsterdam within 45 minutes of leaving the hotel; Rotterdam in less than 90 minutes.

Soundproofing in the rooms to block airplane noise is excellent. The room had two twin beds, great for friends traveling together. This was a slightly larger room than what I've had in other European cities in this price range. The room was consistently cleaned. Breakfast is higher priced than the McDonalds next door, but has a good selection of rolls, cold meats, yogurt, eggs, bacon. Reception and dining staff were always courteous and helpful. Check-in and check-out was promptly taken care of.

The only hiccups in 2 weeks was that there apparently was a convention/large meeting one day that seemed to have overwhelmed the breakfast staff - they had trouble keeping up. The same day we had an issue with no towels left by housekeeping. Both situations were quickly rectified.

The rooms are not soundproofed between floors, however. To sit on either of the two chairs in the room, you must drag them on the uncarpeted floor. This does cause some noise, and it was very noticeable when the occupants in the room above were moving their chairs.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't need/want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

shuttle bus is good, out the main exit of Schiphol turn right & look for A9 bus stop., the rooms did not allow windows to be open. if you need an early check-in email before & it can be arranged, Mc'ds is in the car park. overall it was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I will just list the facts as i observed them.
1. Airport shuttle is every 30 minutes. Pretty easy to catch and it's free.
2. Hotel is 10-15 minutes ride from the airport.
3. Checkin very quick and friendly. They have all the paperwork and keys prepped and it's just question of finding your reservation number.
4. Rooms only with two single beds, no rooms with queen bed. But single beds are easily moved together.
5. Mattress is a little too soft for my taste. If you're a stomach sleeper as i am a firmer mattress would be preferred. But ok for one night.
6. Good sound isolation. Considering how close a very busy airport was we did not hear a sound.
7. Bathroom is of a good size with good water pressure.
8. Restaurant service... well... the kitchen was closed half an hour before posted time because 'it was quiet and cooks decided to go home'. The waitress/receptionist made an effort to make our dinner which makes me think it was all pre-made and just warmed to order. At least that's how my chicken wrap tasted.
9. There is a McDonalds across the street - definitely a better bet for breakfast at least.
10. Neighborhood is not for tourists. Nothing there at all other than few hotels and warehouses.
11. Gym is very basic with no weights an only three different cardio machines. Pool looked ok but we did not go in.
12. Good speed free wi-fi.

Although overall it was a satisfactory stay next time we will look for something else. Maybe closer to airport and train to city?

P.S. Please note that for some reason all the doors in the hotel are very heavy and all the amities (closets and showers specifically) are meant for very tall people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport and for your elaborate comments about your stay.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp

Address: Vuursteen 3, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport is a luxurious four star hotel that stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office services, comfortable deluxe rooms and an extensive choice of dishes at its atmospheric restaurant. Guests are welcome at the hotelbar and seperate smoking lounge. The hotel offers complimentary use of the fitness room and swimming pool. Free wireless internet access is available in the entire hotel. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and can be easily reached within seven minutes by car. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility The hotel is ideally situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and in the vicitiy of Business Centres in and around Schiphol/Hoofddorp. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. Many attractive cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 185 deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, free WiFi, a working desk, a safe, free coffee & tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath/shower, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport / Hoofddorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.