We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for airport stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Cincinnati OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for airport stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Overall, a great option if you're coming in from another city in the Netherlands and have a morning flight from Schiphol, because the train station is across the street. But as a base to explore Amsterdam, you have to factor in that the train schedules and almost €9 roundtrip ticket/day.

- Access to public transport: very good - if you use the entrance/exit of Hoofddorp Station opposite of the "main" entrance, you're diagonally across the street from the hotel. You can see the hotel from the platform, so just walk to the exit in that direction.

- Room - large, comfortable, functional, with safe in the bedside table. Good aircon.

- Staff - friendly, even loaned me an umbrella when mine was stolen. But seemed really short-staffed in the morning when many tables were left uncleared at breakfast and in the evening with many check-ins when there was quite a wait to speak with someone.

- Breakfast - first time in non-US Hampton, and I really enjoyed the breakfast. The breads seemed fresh (probably delivered par-baked and finished baking in the hotel), there were cucumbers and tomato slices, packages of sliced cold cuts and cheese (including my favorite, komijnekaas, or cumin cheese), sausages, bacon, baked beans, several flavors of Activia, cereals. The thing that was similar to US properties was the "scrambled eggs" unfortunately which were just as processed-tasting and looking (it looks like dry, chopped up yellow cubes) as in the US.

- Shuttle was on-time, but be sure to make a reservation. I overheard the clerk saying that the 8am one was almost full, for example, but my shuttle at 10am only had one other passenger.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    133
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
44
102
39
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Last minute change of plans had us scrambling for a place to stay overnight in Amsterdam. Most places were sold out for a Saturday night or were over 400 euros. We were very lucky to find a room at the Hampton and were able to use Hilton points as well. The room was small but modern and very clean - recent renovations done.
There is a free airport shuttle - follow signs in Schipol to hotel shuttle area - the shuttle runs 15 and 45 past the hour to the hotel - there is a catch though, during down times they share a shuttle with the Crowne plaza and Holiday Inn shuttle, so the van may not say Hampton Inn - look on the bulletin board at the shuttle waiting area at Schipol to check those times.
Another thing to know - the Hoofdoorp train station is right across the street - 10 minute walk, but the kiosks there do not take credit cards - only coins or Euro pass. They do not accept the chip and pin credit cards - we had to take the airport shuttle back to Schipol and use the kiosks there to take the train into Centraal station. At Centraal you can buy a ticket from the kiosk back to Hoofdoorp. Trains run every 30 minutes.
Breakfast was fantastic, much better than USA Hamptons. Staff very friendly, ice available in lobby - just ask for a bucket. Shower very nice. Overall, great find and lovely hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world traveller in Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hampton is located in Hoofddorp, about 10mins by bus from the airport. The bus itself is running at frequent intervals, although I have heard of guests waiting somewhat longer for the bus.

The rooms are medium sized, but large enough. Great walk-in shower and bathroom. Up to date furnishings in the bathroom. The bed is excellent. Very comfortable and allows you to sleep very well.

Breakfast is server downstairs, and is relatively standard buffet with some egg, bacon and beans. But enough to survive the day. There is no restaurant for dinner, and you need to walk 20mins or take a taxi to go to nearby Hoofddorp to visit a restaurant.

Staff is friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. Those are more quiet as the rooms facing outward may get some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It cost at least £100 less to stay here for 3 nights than some of the hotels classed as being central (but still 15 mins by tram or bus to the centre). The train station is a few minutes walk away and it is about 20 mins to Amsterdam Central station. The service is regular & runs until late.
There is a free shuttle to and from Schiphol and we had no problems getting a seat in either direction. It is probably advisable to reserve it further in advance than we did in case you are leaving at a popular time.
We were on the first floor overlooking the artifical pond of water towards the railway station. The room wasn't at all noisy. I feared being able to hear the trains, planes or cars but I managed to sleep well. The beds were large & comfortable.
The room was a good size with a flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities & free wifi. Similarly the bathroom was spacious. Everything was new & modern.
Breakfast is included in the price and is perfectly adequate to fill you up for a day of sightseeing. There was plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meats, bread, cereal along with a selection of teas.
The staff were friendly, efficient & helpful. We arrived slightly early for our room but it was ready & we were able to go up, leave our things and head into the city centre.
Unless you want to be in the heart of the nightlife & out til all hours, I'd certainly recommend this hotel for a weekend break, particularly if you're flying into Schiphol.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, positive as well as constructive. Constructive feedback will help me to improve service and product on a constant base.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your comments with me.
We will keep on the good work and I hope to welcome / see you soon again in our hotel.

Met vriendelijke groeten / Kind regards,
______________________________
Mark Welbers
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very Good - friendly and comfortable Hotel. Could be a little noisy if your room is on the lower floors that are closer to road and railway. Whilst flight paths can change we did hear the occasional early morning and late night flights. The staff were welcoming and eager to assist with very good spoken English

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is a train or bus ride away from Amsterdam Centraal Station. There is a hotel shuttle bus that runs on a regular basis for your convenience. Very pleased with the hotel: the room was lovely and clean; the staff very welcoming and informative and the hotel chef will make you a terrific pizza! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is modern, I stayed for one night on a layover. The hotel is large and has a corporate feeling to it, mornings and the evenings are busy at reception, with lots of people coming and going. I found the reception service very good. The room was large with a desk and internet, bed big, good pillows, TV with many channels with a clean new looking bathroom. I was quite impressed with the room. Breakfast has all the cold continental options and there is good coffee machine. The hotel does not have room service, but the reception does have a selection of local restaurant take away menus including Chinese, Thai, & Pizza. I choose what I wanted, Pizza and reception staff ordered for me. When the delivery came, I went down collected from the delivery guy and paid directly. This was easy. The hotel is close to the airport with shuttles every hr and close to the train station that goes to Amsterdam (5min walk from the hotel).
Note that the ticket machines at this train station (and most) take coins only and the hotel on the day had no coins (ticket approx 520euros RTN). So I had to go looking for euro coins, a little bit of a pain. Once on the train, Amsterdam is close approx 20min on the train. On the way back, I got the train to the airport and then caught the free shuttle bus to the hotel, because trains are more frequent from Amsterdam to the airport. If I was going to be in Amsterdam of any length of time, I would stay closer to the city, but for the layover this hotel it was really good, with nice reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Address: Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're catching a flight, you're here to discover Amsterdam, The Hague or Haarlem or you're on business nearby, count on Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol for a modern, comfortable base close to it all. Our Amsterdam hotel is located just five minutes from the airport and a 20 minute train ride from Amsterdam's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.