We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel good, friendly staff who speak perfect English, breakfast included, clean room and good bed. Free Wifi. No minibar. Didn't know they did food in the evening until last night (after ordering the worlds most expensive dominoes pizza). Handbook needs updating with more info for Amsterdam newbies like me.
Bad bits: well that handbook and that everything is a train ride or cab away. There's a high street with a cinema about 10 min walk but mostly shut after 5pm and it's quite far to the buzz of Amsterdam city centre or RAI where I was visiting.
If you don't mind the journey it is a nice hotel,

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    160
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
116
41
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent hotel close to the airport with regular shuttle service (Be careful the shuttle is shared with Holiday Inn Express and Crown Plaza so it is not marked as Hampton or Hilton).
The rooms are extremely clean all new, and the suit that we used for 2 days was lovely.
The Breakfast is good with much choice.
The train station is just across the road which takes you to Amsterdam Central in less than 30minutes (you need change to buy tickets as it takes only coins or Maestro, no visa, no mastercard???)
The only disappointment is the fact that the TV didn't work the second day and they couldn'f fix it, the lady advised us to speak to the manager to sort out a discount but we didn't bother.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hamptonn Inn is having great access from Schiphol hotel and well connected to the citi centre by train. In fact the train station is just opposite to the hotel. So I must say that location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms are very clean, tidy and calm. Internet access is wireless and uninterrupted for 24*7. Had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent hotel at a good price with good breakfast. It is a little bit far from the Airport (about 10-15 minutes) and after midnight when the shuttle does not run, it is necessary to take a taxi for about 20 Euros. Overall I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As a Hilton Honor guest I made use of my HH points and got a nice deal. I was pleasantly surprised by the value I got in return. Good bed - nice room - pleasant environment - excellent location with free shuttlebus on time performance! Tremendous experience - surely to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport a provides shuttle service. However unfortunately you need to book in advance and if you miss you may not get a plce in the shuttle. The staff also does not tell you that you neeed a booking at the time of the checkout. Even when you ask like when is the shuttel while yu are checking out they would just tll you the time and ask you to wait in the lobby. So be careful

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small and service is pathetic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, positive as well as constructive.
Constructive feedback will help me to improve service and product on a constant base.

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulty's during your stay with oure shuttle service. Please accept my sincere apologies for that. I would like to inform you the front desk staff is made more aware of the importance to communicate clearly about shuttle bus reservations to avoid situations like you experienced.

We do hope that you might consider given us a second chance in the future. This way we can show you we do know how to provide service and hospitality to our guests.

Met vriendelijke groeten / Kind regards,
______________________________
Mark Welbers
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Schipol Hampton Inn on an overnight layover that I had in Amsterdam on my way back to the US from Italy. I chose it because of its convenience to airport since I had to be back there at 7:30am the following morning. I had overestimated its convenience to downtown Amsterdam, though. (It's very close to the train station, but it's about a 20-minute train ride and the trains only come every 20-30 mins.) The receptionist was certainly helpful at directing me to the station but seemed at a loss to provide any other recommendations around what to do. Room was fine, though - comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Address: Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're catching a flight, you're here to discover Amsterdam, The Hague or Haarlem or you're on business nearby, count on Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol for a modern, comfortable base close to it all. Our Amsterdam hotel is located just five minutes from the airport and a 20 minute train ride from Amsterdam's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.