We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Beer and a Welcoming Host/Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eetcafe de Vaart

Eetcafe de Vaart
Hoofdweg 718, 023 888 7800 Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
023 888 7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Hoofddorp
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Beer and a Welcoming Host/Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I took thgrams advice and thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Eetcafe de Vaart the evening prior to an early flight back to the US. I started with a pleasant walk from the Crowne Plaza to build up an appetite and thought I made the right choice as soon as I walked in the door to find a local crowd. I chose the 3-course special as it included the pepper steak/sate. Wonderful tomato soup with hunks of cheese as an appetizer, very tender and tasty steak which completely validated thgrams praise, and a huge ice cream dessert (so I was glad for the walk back to the hotel!). I asked the waitress to recommend a beer and was very happy with her selection. The owner stopped by to ask whether I enjoyed the meal (I assured him that I did!) and was a perfect host. I thought the price of the meal very reasonable given the quality of the food and beer; the service and genuine welcome by the staff were a real bonus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great steak and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ended a business day at Eetcafe de Vaart before going home by air/road. Selection of beers is excellent with some good choices outside the normal range. The highlight were the pepper steak and the sate, prepared by the owner himself. All sides were freshly prepared and quality of ingredients used was evident in the taset of the food. Will definitely call again, whenever in Amsterdam and around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic way to end our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a great dinner. Our hotel sent our group to another restaurant in the area that turned out to be full. The Chef/Owner called Eetcafe de Vaart to see if they could seat us. The owner met us at the door and upon hearing that we were the "Four Americans", he proceeded to welcome us, seat us and get us some drinks (it had been a long day). He explained the menu as there were no english sub-titles and made recommendations. The chef greeted us as well and prepared a top notch meal. We were all very happy to be there and enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place for a beer lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

were impressed with the beer selection, good quality rib-eye, medium rare and it was cooked perfectly. good place to chill

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had dinner at Eetcafé de Vaart on a Tuesday night after work. The ambiance is cosy. The waitress was very welcoming and tried her best. Your drink wasn't empty for long!

The meals were well prepared. If you're a big eater, just a main course won't be enough. The green stuff was also a bit absent.

Eetcafé de Vaart advertises that their prices are crisis-friendly (i.e. cheap). I think that is debatable. Main courses are about €16,-. The seasonal stew was €22,-. Although not very expensive, that is about the same price you pay in eating cafes in the heart of Amsterdam.

If you're looking for a new place to try in Hoofddorp, eetcafé de Vaart won't disappoint, but also won't impress.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe de Vaart also viewed

Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 

Been to Eetcafe de Vaart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eetcafe de Vaart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.