We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel has potential but no service and cold in the winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Rijksweg A4 nr 3, 2132 Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“This Hotel has potential but no service and cold in the winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This new hotel with modern looking rooms is attached to Van der Valk Hotel 'Schiphol' (a better hotel for the same price range) and it acts more as an over flow for the Valk than a stand alone hotel. It has no reception and all its service (pool, restaurant etc) are in the Valk hotel building. The rooms are average and somewhat spacious and the beds comfortable but basic. Important note: our time here was during the beginning of winter weather (which is from Oct-April) and our room was cold. I called three times to get someone to check the heating. Each time I was connected to the Valk front desk but no one ever came. Its NOT good to have to wear a sweater to bed. Also, breakfast not included in basic price and cost 15 Euros per person at the Valk. It was an average hotel buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
13
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as the tour leader of a group. Everyone loved the hotel. Spacious rooms, ultra modern styling and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast at the Van Der Valk hotel just across a hall. Indoor swimming pool. Reception very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pleasantly surprised to find large rooms here. Very unlike other parts of Europe. They have regular shuttle service to Schipol airport, so that is very convenient. From the airport you can get train to the centre of the city. Staff is very helpful and efficient too. The breakfast spread is large and varied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Close enough to the aiport and there is a shuttle every 40 min's each way.
The hotel is beautiful inside. You check in in the VanderValk Hotel, en then walk through the hotel to the I Am part.

What a cool hotel! Love the look of it.

Breakfast is good value for money with a wide variety. The restaurant is GREAT, a nice improvement would be service in the outside area in summer, as I had to eat at the bar to be able to sit outside and enjoy the nice weather.

There's a Burger King, KFc and other restaurants 50m from the hotel which is convenient.

The reception staff is also very capable and very friendly.

I AM rooms are great, love the minimalist look. Well designed and the balcony is a nice bonus.

Room Tip: I would go for a room that has a view over the gardens at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the I Am Hotel and overall was not terribly impressed. Although the hotel decor is sleek and modern, the actual check-in and reception was located in a different hotel and what seemed like a different building. The staff were moderately friendly. I was shocked that there was only one ironing board available in the whole hotel and had to wait an hour before one could be sent to my room. Given that I was only in Amsterdam for one night and had a taxi waiting downstairs this was an unecessary hindrance. I then had to take my clothes to reception, obtain the keys to a generic laundry room and iron my clothes there before returning to my room. I travel for business and stay in good quality hotels all over Europe and the US so this was an annoying experience. The staff could have been more approachable and friendly. However, on the upside the rooms were excellent and very modern and welcoming. The hotel is far from the town centre and the cost of the taxi to and from central Amsterdam was another negative factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed at I Am Hotel for one night on a business trip to Amsterdam. I was going to have meetings at the airport and while this is not a Airport Hotel, it is nearby and offer a shuttle service to and from the airport. The reception of the hotel is not that cosy (a bit old-fashioned) but the rooms are quite modern and comfortable. This was a strange week (right before the queens day) and all hotels were pretty packed - maybe because of this the price (150€+) was this high. This is not a hotel for this kind of price tag

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in hotel A4 on 15th December 2012. I have stayed in this hotel earlier as well. Though this hotel is away from the city but I found it very quiet and comfortable. Rooms are very clean with all amenities like free Wi-Fi. I did not get chance to eat in the Restaurant, so have no idea about the quality of food. A free shuttle to and from the airport after every 40 min. This hotel is the best bet for those who want to stay away from city noise and have early morning flights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Rijksweg A4 nr 3, 2132 Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Am The hotel is light and bright with a lobby designed to relax. Forget boring and traditional and experience a new kind of hotel.The I Am Amsterdam hotel is for those who seek a place with• space to live your life• rooms to relax and enjoy• bedding to dream your dreams.Experience the meaning of the new overnight: "Hip, contemporary, trendy, spacious and light." with award winning beds for the perfect night.Be surprised by the space and experience the luxury feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.