We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp

Save Saved
You added Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adrianahoeve 8, 2131 MN Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well, to be honest I don't have something special to say about this place.

The night cost me 44 € + 5 € tax, 49 €.

Average price for average quality of hotel. The receptionnist at night was really nice, he carry my 27kg luggage to my room very nicely.

The really bad things, is that they pretend to offer a free drink when you check in with foursquare, but in reality they don't ...

Last bad point is that the bus stop is 10min walk to the hotel, and they aren't any sidewalk ... i had to carry my luggage on the grass.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
13
40
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Schipol after a one hour flight and waited for over one hour for a courtesy bus. First bus was small and a very irate crowd surrounded it, we were all assured that there would be a larger one along in 15 mins. It arrived but was quickly filled. The few remaining people were assured that another would be along in 5 mins. After 30 mins I used the contact phone. About 10 minutes later the last seen bus returned and took us to the Best Western Hotel where we transferred to the smaller bus we had first seen at the airport about one hour earlier! Pathetic.

Hotel was pleasant enough although the wifi stopped at about 23. 00 hrs.

Breakfast was good.

Will never, never, use again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed overnight in May 2013 to catch an early flight out of Schiphol. The parking lot was tight with narrow spaces - typical for Europe but difficult for an American like me to maneuver. Staff was friendly. The room was basic. It lacked convenient electrical outlets to power/recharge devices - I needed to use the bathroom outlet to recharge devices. My main complaint is that there was a mild foul odor in the bathroom - tolerable but definitely noticeable.

The hotel had a bar where there was some activity. There were not many commercial establishments in the immediate area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First time trip to Amsterdam for me and the girlfriend. We decided to do it on a budget and this is what we got.

Budget hotel with good facilities i.e internet smoking area etc.

Hotel was clean staff was friendly.

Free shuttle to and from the airport we couldnt complain.

We would stay their again if we was on a budget.

I would Recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bastion hotels is part of the Best Western group, so if you look for the free shuttle at the airport, look for a blue van with both logo's of Bastion and Best Western.
The vans are rather small and for that reason they might be full before all passengers are accommodated.
Unlike Best Western near the airport, Bastion.hoofddorp is in the middle of nowhere so nothing to see or do near the hotel.
The hotel is basic but serves the purpose because all you need is there.
Clean comfortable room with tv, small bathroom and coffe/tea maker.
Guests who come with a car can make a deal with the hotel to leave the car at the big parking while on voyage.
Breakfast buffet cost 8 euro and the menus card in the room for other meals has no price indication what may suggest the the price is rather high.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from April 15-April 18 .Very very friendly and helpful staff, especially Jeroen, Gabi Jenifer, Milan the driver( sorry I don't remember everyone's name.
Clean, great buffet breakfast.
Very convenient to be close to the airport.
Great value for the money.
I would definetely recommend to other people.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, or at least I did not notice Not for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp

Address: Adrianahoeve 8, 2131 MN Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Hoofddorp / Schiphol offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed.Location / accessibilityBecause of its location along the road around Hoofddorp, and its location near the A4, makes this hotel ideal for guest who have to travel to Schiphol. By car this airport can be reached within 20 minutes, but the hotel also offers a free shuttle service from en to Schiphol. The shuttle departs from platform A9/13. Please inform at the hotel for the exact time schedule. The centre of the young and cozy Hoofddorp is well accessible the same for het Haarlemmermeersen Bos.RoomsThe 80 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet.Food & BeverageAt Bastion Hotel Hoofddorp guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.