We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great for one night...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Unfortunately I arrived late in Amsterdam and did not have enough time to enjoy the city. So Best Western is a good and cheap option for a transit stop. It is very reasonably priced and it offers free shuttle service to and from the airport. I would rate this hotel as a two star .. three would be a stretch. It is dark with long hallways and heavy doors. The small and simple furnished rooms have too many numbers so make sure you are on the right floor. It is clean and good enough to get a few hours of sleep until your next flight. The food is below average and the only other option is McDonald's which is right outside the hotel. So eat at Schiphol before boarding the shuttle. The staff is very helpful. I am not certain if wi-fi works in the room but there is free wi-fi in the lobby. The bottom line is you get what you pay for at this Best Western ...an inexpensive place to sleep/stay. Do not expect more.

Room Tip: A room not too far from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have slept at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel and you have rated it as sufficient. Maybe our new hotel Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport hotel suits you better?

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    175
    144
    52
    43
See reviews for
66
125
66
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is one of several managed by the Bastion group and is about 10 minutes away from the airport. We used it as an over night transit hotel and experienced 2 problems:

1. The hotel shuttle was EXTREMELY unreliable and disorganized. This was merely an inconvenience getting to the hotel upon our arrival at Schiphol. However it became a critical issue the next morning. We had an early flight and the shuttle was not running as advertised. We wanted to leave at 6:30 but it was not until well after 7:15 that the bus started moving. Rather a large crowd of guests were gathering in the cold and dark outside the hotel by this time. We were given no help or information and felt abandoned by the staff who could clearly see there was a problem. The hotel staff were completely unhelpful and dismissive when asked for updates. We arrived at the airport about 1 hour late, not a great start to our journey.

2.The hotel staff was unhelpful and at times rude. From arrival to check out they made this an unpleasant experience.

The rooms were clean but based on these experiences I will choose another property the next time I overnight at this airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the service of the staff was not what it should be. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.
Our shuttleservice normally starts driving at 06.00 A.M., we are truly sorry for the fact that the shuttleservice started at 07.15 A.M.. We are investigating why this bus didn't drive till this time and we will assure you that we take appropriate actions to improve this.

As an appreciation to your review and to show we are really sorry, we want to offer you a voucher for free breakfast the next time you will sleep in one of our hotels. If you'll send an e-mail to e-commerce@bastionhotelgroep.nl to the attention of Jeanine with your address and e-mailaddress, then we will send you this vouchers as soon as possible.

We are looking forward to your e-mail.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room was clean. The restaurant was understaffed and over priced. We were charged too much tourist tax and not given any receipts. It should be 5% of your bill. They also tried to charge us for breakfast that we didn't have. Overall ok for short stay. Airport shuttle was good, and took only 35 minutes to get to central station via airport. The pool was too cold to swim in but the steam room was ok. If you get a cheap deal you can probably live with the negatives of this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chorley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from only a one night stay in the hotel. Was a little worried after some of the reviews on here but I can categorically say I did not experience any of them at all. We were allowed to check in to our room earlier at 11am. Our room was nice and clean, freshly laundered, tea and coffee facilities, shampoo and shower gel, large flat screen tv (limited channels) , free wifi, safe . Nice view of the run way and honestly the noise of the planes can be heard but it is not at all loud and if you are staying at a airport hotel what do you expect. We used the shuttle bus which was on time every 30 mins and we was door to door to city in 30 mins flat.

Great value hotel, very accommodating and helpful staff, nice new rooms and not dated - how can one complain for the very low price - deserves its 4* - mcdonalds pool and a gym as well , bonus for me !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

You have experienced the hospitality of this Best Western Hotel and we are very glad to hear that your stay was better then you expected.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is about 10 min by shuttle from the Schiphol Plaza, and shuttle is running every half hour. If you are aware of that, it's OK.
The hotel is just average, a little bit dark, but I didn't expect something else.
Breakfast was very good and included in in price.
Also internet is available in rooms and included in price (it's amazing that I have to mention that but other hotels (Hilton) request additional payment for internet access in the room).
The service at reception was very good.

Room Tip: Very good breakfast. Good service and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion stands for a personal atmosphere, hopitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wifi and a free shuttleservice are good examples of this.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very convenient, with free shuttle to the airport. Staff were very helpful. The rooms are small but clean and very functional.and if you get hungry in the middle of the night, there's a 24 hr. McDonald across the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good value,good service, shuttle prompt and driver very obliging. Only one of our party used the gymnasium,but commented it was very well equipped.Only down side was the restaurant,the meal was very good,but appeared rather understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hoofddorp
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.