We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
1 review
“Nice rooms, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room was clean. The restaurant was understaffed and over priced. We were charged too much tourist tax and not given any receipts. It should be 5% of your bill. They also tried to charge us for breakfast that we didn't have. Overall ok for short stay. Airport shuttle was good, and took only 35 minutes to get to central station via airport. The pool was too cold to swim in but the steam room was ok. If you get a cheap deal you can probably live with the negatives of this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    168
    141
    51
    42
See reviews for
65
118
67
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from only a one night stay in the hotel. Was a little worried after some of the reviews on here but I can categorically say I did not experience any of them at all. We were allowed to check in to our room earlier at 11am. Our room was nice and clean, freshly laundered, tea and coffee facilities, shampoo and shower gel, large flat screen tv (limited channels) , free wifi, safe . Nice view of the run way and honestly the noise of the planes can be heard but it is not at all loud and if you are staying at a airport hotel what do you expect. We used the shuttle bus which was on time every 30 mins and we was door to door to city in 30 mins flat.

Great value hotel, very accommodating and helpful staff, nice new rooms and not dated - how can one complain for the very low price - deserves its 4* - mcdonalds pool and a gym as well , bonus for me !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

You have experienced the hospitality of this Best Western Hotel and we are very glad to hear that your stay was better then you expected.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is about 10 min by shuttle from the Schiphol Plaza, and shuttle is running every half hour. If you are aware of that, it's OK.
The hotel is just average, a little bit dark, but I didn't expect something else.
Breakfast was very good and included in in price.
Also internet is available in rooms and included in price (it's amazing that I have to mention that but other hotels (Hilton) request additional payment for internet access in the room).
The service at reception was very good.

Room Tip: Very good breakfast. Good service and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion stands for a personal atmosphere, hopitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wifi and a free shuttleservice are good examples of this.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very convenient, with free shuttle to the airport. Staff were very helpful. The rooms are small but clean and very functional.and if you get hungry in the middle of the night, there's a 24 hr. McDonald across the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good value,good service, shuttle prompt and driver very obliging. Only one of our party used the gymnasium,but commented it was very well equipped.Only down side was the restaurant,the meal was very good,but appeared rather understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

2 nights in the hotel \ gym for free , too bad the pool was closed... free shuttle to airport every 30minutes ! friendly peoplr working in there , go for it! big comfortable bed , fridge and clean bathroom!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent two nights at the BW Amsterdam Airport and found it to be an overall pleasant experience. Free shuttle bus picked me up from stop A9 outside Schipol and took me to hotel. Shuttle runs every half hour and is very convenient. You can use it as much as you want to return to airport and catch train into city. I arrived at hotel very early (7:00 AM) after long flight from US and was happy that helpful front desk staff permitted me to check in early. My room had two single beds, a large bathroom and was clean and overall very comfortable. TV had limited English options and I could not even find CNN or BBC. Free Wifi was strong and came in handy during my stay. Property was quiet at night and I did not feel unsafe at all. There is a small restaurant and a McDonald's in the parking lot for food. Other than that there are no other dining options within walking distance and there is no shop in the hotel for amenities. If you want water or a snack you have to rely on a small and not very well stocked vending machine. I highly recommend bringing bottled water/drinks and your own snacks because there is no where else to buy them. Overall it was a good and relatively inexpensive experience at the BW Amsterdam Airport and it will make a decent option for those visiting Amsterdam or connecting from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.