We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 1, Hoofddorp 2132 LZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This place works for an overnight but that's about it. If you want to see Amsterdam real cheap I suppose you could stay here and take the airport train into town.

Room was large and clean, but was freezing cold when I got to it.

The restaurant in the hotel was really nice for a hotel restaurant. I had Dutch stew which was good. I paid the waiter in Euros and much to my surprise the next morning at checkout the tab was on my room bill. I forgot to grab the receipt from the table so I got stuck with paying twice. I was not a happy camper but lesson learned I guess.

The free shuttle service to the airport was excellent. It was less frequent than some of the surrounding hotels but I can live with that.

Overall not bad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    125
    121
    54
    37
See reviews for
45
89
56
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel between connecting flights at Schipol. The staff was friendly but not experienced enough to properly set a wake up call. Thankfully I always program an alarm on my phone, so disaster was averted. The property is very old (circa mid-1980s) and the room decor needs refreshing in the worst way. That said, it was very clean, cozy and came with free high speed wifi, which was very fast. The airport shuttle is frequent and the location is good...if all you need is a good nights rest between flights, this hotel fits the bill nicely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wow, Where do we start?
Book this gem of a hotel late on and wow were we impressed! We checked in not long after aarriving at the airport due to a rather routine bus schedule which was pretty efficient and easy to find. The hotel took our payment (In advance as to be expected) and the City Tax was explained to us.

The hotel is only 5 minutes to the airport (Major transport hub, trains, busses, planes etc)
Ideal, The room was cosy, very clean and everything from the sowing kit was replaced! Fantastic!!! We benefited from a fridge we could use for all things drink and the bar staff and hotel staff were exceptionally friendly.

The alcohol in the bar however were very pricey for what they were (Maybe because the measures were larger than expected, who knows?)

We did book breakfast however missed out due to goign to "Sensation" the night before, That and we were far too tired. All in all the stay was fantasic!

What would we say? STAY HERE! Even if you are looking to go to amsterdam city centre!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a girlie weekend in Amsterdam celebrating her 21st birthday. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the public areas are beautifully decorated and furnished. We were extremely impressed with the warm welcome we received and the staff are very polite and helpful. The shuttle bus to and from the airport runs regularly and we really appreciated this service. From what we witnessed the gym and swimming pool were being used by a number of people and this seemed a great asset to the hotel. Although the hotel is very near the airport, aircraft noise could not be heard during the night. The beds were really comfy and the room nicely decorated with seating area too. The only gripe I would have is the hotel seems to be very reluctant to provide much tea/coffee/milk etc. We had to ask twice for extra as we were only given 1 sachet of each at a time. Also the kettle takes ages to boil!!! All in all we had a lovely weekend and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in Amsterdam xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly staff, typical best western. Airport shuttle to & from every 30 mins till midnight. Go outside & to the right at the airport- A9 was the case when I went. Great if you need to be by the airport

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in the new wing. Clean and modern rooms. Appears to be recently refurbished. Easy check-in. Had to wait for 15min for the airport shuttle to take me to the hotel. For the early morning shuttle back to the airport, I was waiting in the reception after informing the receptionist that I am waiting for the bus. The van came and waited in front of the hotel and just left after 10 minutes. So if you are waiting for the shuttle back to the airport, be on the lookout. They arrive and leave without really looking to see whether anybody is there waiting. I even booked at the reception to go back in the first shuttle back! Considering it to be an airport hotel, the shuttle service should be better and more customer friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests. I assure you that I will take actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good, the shuttle bus is good, but some small troubles caused big troubles to my health.
The heater was not working during the strong winter of january, 2013.
My room was 17C only with full air conditioner turned on and set to 30C

Another trouble is that they located me in ground floor room.
In the morning a homeless was knocking in my window asking some food.
The homeless can walk freely in front of windows because is a street.

But hotel is very near to airport, friendly staffs , very clean.
The breakfast is expensively EUR 14,00. But Mc Donalds is in front of Hotel

I recommend this hotel, but ask they to avoid ground floor and give you a tested air conditioner room.
Now I am with a strong cough due the frozen inside of my room.

Ps note that the hotel don't accept bills of 200 and 500 Euros, they dont like money, its a little crazy, money is money

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western
Address: Vuursteen 1, Hoofddorp 2132 LZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.