We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free shuttle and good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Free shuttle and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you are coming or going from Schiphol airport and need a stopover this is a good place. Only about 10 min. from the airport with the shuttle leaving 15 min. after the hour from the airport ( shuttle area no 9 ) . Going back from the hotel the minibus leaves on the hour and back at the airport you can catch the train for a 15 min ride to Amsterdam Central ( about 5 euro ). The rooms are adequate in size and has all what you might need. Not that much noice from the airport. There is also a pool and a gym if you have the time. The restaurang is open for both breakfast ( 13.50 euro ) and evening meals. If you're not that hungry or want to save some euro there is always the Mc Donalds nextdoor.
When visiting last week there seemed to be a server problem. The WiFi didn't work, not even the computer in the lobby opened up for doing check-ins, checking mails or whatever.
All in all a good place with some minor flaws.

Room Tip: Book your return shuttle trip. The 7 seats sometimes fills up quickly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    135
    122
    46
    39
See reviews for
49
101
62
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Arrived at Amsterdam airport around 9:30am knowing that check in wasn't until 14:00, but assumed that we would be able to drop our bags there and go and explore. The shuttle bus was waiting for 2 more passengers to take back to the hotel which was luckily us! Be careful though as the bus doesn't stop where is says it will usually further up the road.

Got to the hotel and people were checking into there rooms already which was good.
We were greeted by a nice receptionist who took my name and couldn't find it on the system, asked if if could be booked under any other name (which it wasn't), I thought the worst and wondered if we had come to the wrong hotel which we hadn't as i showed her the confirmation (i booked with Eurostar hotels). After about 20 minutes of us standing around she had spoken to her head office and they had made an error and hadn't booked us a room. Thank goodness there was a room available but was being cleaned so we had to leave our bags in a locked cupboard.

The room was very clean and comfortable, considering you are in an airport hotel it is extremely quiet!

The shuttle bus only holds 8 people so if you are there at a busy period make sure you are waiting outside as there is no queuing system!!
We were very grateful for this free service as the hotel is quite far from the hotel and about a 10-15 min drive so it would have cost us a fortune to get to Amsterdam for 2 days.

Overall a very pleasant stay except the check-in!

Room Tip: We staid on the top floor and didn't hear any noise the whole time we staid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Good stop for an early morning Schipol flight. Relaxing environment but pool facilities and sauna not all that easy to manage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding Best Western Hotel Amsterdam Airport on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very importrant to us and will help us to increase our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the future in one of the hotels of Bastion Hotel Groep.

Kind regards,


E-commerce department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay swimming pool ,weights ,free internet , a place to read or watch a movie in the tv room . Can you hear plains yes duh its next to airport . Good deal

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for leaving your enthousiastic review about Best Western Hotel Amsterdam Airport on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate the fact that you had a very plesant stay.

I am looking forward to welcome you in the future in one of the hotels of Bastion Hotel Groep.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed here on my last night of my tour of Europe. The hotel is your average airport hotel located close to Schiphol Airport, and everything else in Amsterdam via a short train ride from Schiphol. Really and truly, I have nothing bad to say about my stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but very basic. For a one night stay, though, it more than served its purpose. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable, too. If you need a place for a quick one night stay (either just arrived or just going out), it's not a bad option; however, if you're going to be in Amsterdam for any length of stay, there are more and better options.
The only issue I did run into was with the shuttle service. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from Schiphol that operates on a very tight schedule. We went into Amsterdam for dinner that night and planned our evening around the last returning shuttle from Schiphol to the hotel, not knowing that the last 2 shuttles that night had been cancelled. We ended up having to take a taxi back, which was, in itself, a major hassle. My only advice would be to double check with the front desk or with the shuttle driver as to what the actual shuttle times are during your stay.That and be prompt! We left three people behind who were just walking out of the lobby as we were pulling away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote about Best Western Hotel Amsterdan Airport on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate the fact that you had a very plesant stay, but I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations at some points as well.

Your opinion is very importrant to us and I can assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future in one of the hotels of Bastion Hotel Groep.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Small tight room but called Deluxe. The beds were extremely tiny and very low to floor. Internet was mediocre. Close to Schipol and shuttle was prompt. No way to cool of room!!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that we will do our utmost to take appropriate actions in order to improve our services.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your (unfortunately) negative stay at our hotel! I do hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel is close to Shiphol Airport and has basic standard. Rooms are clean and OK (although I couldn't figure out how to turn the heat down but that's probably just me :-) with a cooler (no mini bar).

Friendly and professional staff.

Food and drinks are good basic staple and reasonably priced. Try out the Giant Schnitzel, it truly is giant.

Free shuttle to/from Schiphol at regular intervals.

Good choice if you need accomodation for a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport

Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.