We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We spent two nights at this hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. The shuttle to and from the airport worked well and was always on time.The location is excellent if catching a flight as it is 15 minutes from the airport .You can also catch the shuttle to the airport and then take a train into Amsterdam. There is a good restaurant at the hotel and another 7-8 restaurants within 40 meters of the hotel.The room was clean and the service was great. We had a quiet room and the pool was an added bonus. The buffet breakfast far exceeded our expectations as there was a wonderful variety and it all tasted so good.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    686
    196
    77
    41
See reviews for
324
461
118
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

People like to moan which is evident from some of the previous comments - IGNORE THEM. The rooms are well away from reception, as they are in most hotels of this size but they are large, comfortable, clean and quiet. We had no problems whatsoever with the shuttle on the 3 days we stayed, although we did ask at reception if we needed to book and were advised not unless we wanted to travel before 09:00. The shuttle runs exactly on time every 40 minutes and the trains into town are very frequent. The restaurant was excellent value and good food, although we understand that if you are there as a result of an airline delay your food choice is not so good. Breakfast is great and sets you up for the day.

The staff were all friendly and efficient and it was good to be able to swim in the evening, particularly having a 13 year old and an 11 year old with us.

There are a few minor gripes:

1} We were on the ground floor and there was a patio door to a paved area. The grass beyond the paving was strewn with cigarette butts. Would have been worse if it was summer and we had wanted to sit out at any time.

2} We would have liked a hospitality tray in the room for tea and coffee

3} A pet hate of ours is waste and we didn't like the fact that towels that had been hung to dry were swapped and even though the toiletries we had hadn't been used fresh supplies were left - not very environmentally friendly.

4} As a previous comment states, there were sometimes hints of smoke in the corridors.

We did find it amusing to have a no smoking sign in the room - in an ashtray!!

In summary the hotel is very good value and has no pretense at being anything other than described. In the unlikely event that we decide to have another holiday in Amsterdam we would definitely stay at the A4.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I decided to stay near Schipol the night before our early departure to make life easier. This was a surprisingly nice hotel! The bathroom was roomy and clean. I could have stayed in that tub forever. The rooms were large and comfortable. It was nice to have the airport shuttle take us to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This was our second time at this hotel. We enjoy the spacious rooms and great breakfast but we do miss having a kettle in the room. Normally you can buy hot drinks from the vending machine but on this occasion that was broken. Other than that i would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Holland.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed here prior to meeting at Schiphol airport. Room was huge and bathroom excellent. Breakfast was great and had almost anythig I could think of available - though coffee was from a self service machine and a bit watery. Overall it was excellent value. There is a free shuttle to Schiphol - going from Schphol to the hotel requires travellig along the motorway, crossing over then returning towards the airport - since we did it the rush-hour it took ~25mins. Since a lot of people arrived at the same time then check-in took a while. Food is available at the hotel or in the nearby service station - however, there is no comparison with UK motorway service station. The salad bar at the main cafe was a vegetarian dream! Internet is not free but the card we bought also worked at Schiphol.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soignies, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Hotel 4* very good and for the price, good comfort. Huge.
Buffet breakfast excellent (variety, quantity, quality)
Only the rooms could be better sounproof due to the airport very close.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I spent one night here after my flight from AMS was delayed a day. The airline arranged and payed for it so I can't comment on the value.

This hotel is in the middle of the Dutch countryside on the far side of Schiphol from Amsterdam. It's at a turnpike "service area" and is accessible from only one direction off the highway. It is NOT near ANYTHING. If you walk from the hotel (as I did), you can't even walk around the hotel as it is gated in the back. Otherwise the only thing you can do is go into the highway service area building with Burger King, KFC, and a couple of nicer restaurants. Plus a men's suit store (strange).

If you're not driving, the only way to get to the hotel is by shuttle bus and it was packed. My flight was a delayed jumbo jet and everyone was sent to this hotel. Clearly, other travelers, including stranded passengers from other flights, were frustrated with our large group and I can certainly understand. The hotel is where KLM sends stranded passengers.

Room were okay. Spacious and clean, but somewhat dated. You have to go up one level in the hotel before you can go down.

Internet was 16 euro for 24 hours. (You must be kidding me!)

Given that it's just out in a field surrounded by corn, rabbits, and Burger King, why would anyone choose to stay here?????

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.