We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end to visit Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    685
    195
    77
    41
See reviews for
324
457
118
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is beautiful.... Its grand and very plush. It has ice dispensers on every floor, the main lobby area is so gorgeous and huge. Beautiful lighting and very helpful staff. The beds were comfortable, the bath and shower was amazing. The restaurant breakfast was absolutely great with a variety of choices from eggs to pastries. From the airport there is a shuttle service directly to the hotel which is so easy and effortless. Dining options are also varied as just a short walk away via a tunnel you can eat as much as you like with varied restaurants. No complaints whatsoever with this hotel and in fact would be perfect for anybody wanting to stay in the Netherlands with prospects to visit Amsterdam. Perfect!!!

Room Tip: This hotel has feature rooms such as jungle room etc. Some rooms also have jacuzzi's in them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for just one night, got a cheap deal on a twin room. the pool and spa area are lovely and are open until 10pm. Room was smart, clean with a lovely bathroom with wonderfully deep bath. beds were comfortable, large TV, air con, staff were wonderful, appeared to be fluent in just about every language under the sun. I would come here again. We didn't try the food but there was a deli france for breakfast over the road and a Ranchos across the path which served the best steak I have ever tasted. I would stop here again.

Not central, for a single night I wish we had booked something in the centre, but this hotel is smashing. Free wifi, my only whinge is that there was no way of making tea or coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well, the hotel is nice, huge and with big rooms and baths. But not really close to the airport. The hotel however runs hourly airport transfer services. The hotel in itself is quite comfortable and the lobby entrance is huge, like you are entering a Vegas hotel. However, we were there for a very short stay and could not utilise the food services. The hotel is spread across a large area which means moving with your baggage is troublesome and if you want to catch the airport shuttle service, you really need to be on time and leave your room at least 15 minutes earlier. The rooms are quite large with great big TV sets and a really nice bathroom. Each floor has a soft drink dispenser if you get thirsty late at nights . Location is not really great though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here as our plane home was delayed. The hotel is fairly impressive and staff were very helpful. The room we were given was small but adaquate. Our only gripes were lack of ironing facilities in the room and there was a piece of wood between the bedroom and bathroom that we would trip over everytime we went in or out of the bathroom! We used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and were very impressed, especially with breakfast. We travel to dozens of hotels on business and have never come close to a better selection of breakfast items. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

if you want to experience Amsterdam this is not the totel for you, but if you are using the highways and the airport it is great, jou just need to find the right exit.
Lobby area is very nice, the staff very efficient, restaurant kitchen open until 23h, rooms are spacious and with large television, but are not on the same level od design as the entrance. Sound isolation is good which is crucial while staying next to the airport. I could use an extra hanger or two in the wardrobe, the cosmetics are very basic and the bathroom area is basic as well, you can notice that the hotel very busy and that it has a huge turaround daily.
The breakfast is the highlight of the hotel.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms are of the same standard. My room was turned in the direction of the highway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We traveled from the United States to Berlin to the Netherlands. This hotel was very hard to find. The first day we searched over an hour for it. This is a big bird on the roof of the hotel but no visible name from the Autobahn. The hotel is located on the same side of the autobahn as the airport, behind a Shell gas station. The hotel was very nice. The food was great and the staff were nice. It took us about 30 minutes to drive to downtown city center of Amsterdam. There was a shuttle to the airport and then from the airport to Amsterdam. Due to the time we had we decided to drive. Within walking distance there is a food court over the Autobahn at the Shell station. The room had a big bathroom and deep tub. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.