We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Milano
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've been twice in this hotel, it's very bgi, and also very new. Rooms are very big and brand new. Food in the restaurant is nothing special, but it's OK for a business lunch.
Very stategic for the airport. There is also a free shuttle every 40 minutes.
The meeting rooms are large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    500
    145
    65
    35
See reviews for
250
308
104
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Huge hotel just off of the main road from Rotterdam to Schiphol. Takes about 20 minutes from AMS but it's a nice coach and it's free! (better than the Hoppa rip off system at LHR).Lots of tourist coaches arriving at the same time as me around 8pm and I was concerned about the length of time checking in, but it was fine. Only negative I have is that the hotel is a large one and has an odd layout, you can easily get lost trying to find your room. Staff all very friendly and helpfull. Big plus was the breakfast buffet which was extensive and the best I can remember. Can recomend this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very relaxing. Free shuttle bus to and from airport great. Breakfast has everything you could ever want...except mushrooms? I don't think it's fair i'm being forced to write more than I want to. Very offputting!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel although I only had 3 hours to sleep in. It was really spacious. Really enjoyed the view of sunrise from the balcony. Only downpoint was there was no water-boiling flask =(

Buffet breakfast was okay. I was impressed by the wide variety of breakfast spreads and cereals!

Shuttle bus was comfortable to sit in but it only comes every 40 mins. Quite a looooong wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I only spent one night at the Van der Valk, however all impressions were positive. Easy to find, large free (for guests) carpark.
Check in was quick and hassle free. Front of house staff were polite, professional and very helpful. Check out was at 12pm, however I was allowed to leave my car in their carpark until 6pm for no additional charge, while I explored the city.
The hotels free shuttle bus runs every 40 minutes throughout the day and evening to the airport. Then its a short train ride to centraal station.
The room was huge by Amsterdam standards, the beds and pillows were comfortable, large flatscreen TV, a safe, a well appointed large bathroom (with bath and sperate shower) and your own balcony all came as standard. My only gripe would be the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
During my stay I had no need to use the bar, restaurant or leisure facilities so am not in a position to comment, however I have no reason to believe they would not be up to the same high standards as the rooms, lobby and other public spaces within the hotel grounds.
If I'm ever driving through Holland again and need a comfortable place to stay outside of the city I wouldn't hesitate to book the Van der Valk again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was during my first trip to the Netherlands, I had the privilege to stay at Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol. The hotel offers continuous bus service from the Schiphol Airport to the hotel entrance. Ideally located the property situated in a green environment. The rooms are pretty standard in size and all the facilities and amenities were of commendable quality. The balcony open up to a fresh breath of air. The staffs are very pleasant and offers a highly quality service on every request. I have also found this place as one of the best location for conferences and training, with a quiet ambiance and opening up to the nature for some fresh air. You can steal a good walk around the hotel and further up, at a walkable distance is a road cross building with great choice of fast food restaurants. The restaurants, bar were also of great quality. The complementary breakfast spreads up with a large choice of menu. I really loved my mornings here and it was always inducing a special energy around...

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony that opens upto the green yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A good Hotel, with nice staff and good service.
I was there because a delayed flight, so i stayed only a day long. It was quite ok. The food was of good quality at lunch and at Dinner you can choose from chicken or beef if you are a guest of KlM or other company.. or you can also choose from a Menu, if you are only a guest.

THey have a good Shuttle service to the airport, which departs from both locations, regularly.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.