We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, Hoofddorp 2132 MA , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious room with balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel although I only had 3 hours to sleep in. It was really spacious. Really enjoyed the view of sunrise from the balcony. Only downpoint was there was no water-boiling flask =(

Buffet breakfast was okay. I was impressed by the wide variety of breakfast spreads and cereals!

Shuttle bus was comfortable to sit in but it only comes every 40 mins. Quite a looooong wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    468
    141
    60
    35
See reviews for
188
260
92
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I only spent one night at the Van der Valk, however all impressions were positive. Easy to find, large free (for guests) carpark.
Check in was quick and hassle free. Front of house staff were polite, professional and very helpful. Check out was at 12pm, however I was allowed to leave my car in their carpark until 6pm for no additional charge, while I explored the city.
The hotels free shuttle bus runs every 40 minutes throughout the day and evening to the airport. Then its a short train ride to centraal station.
The room was huge by Amsterdam standards, the beds and pillows were comfortable, large flatscreen TV, a safe, a well appointed large bathroom (with bath and sperate shower) and your own balcony all came as standard. My only gripe would be the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
During my stay I had no need to use the bar, restaurant or leisure facilities so am not in a position to comment, however I have no reason to believe they would not be up to the same high standards as the rooms, lobby and other public spaces within the hotel grounds.
If I'm ever driving through Holland again and need a comfortable place to stay outside of the city I wouldn't hesitate to book the Van der Valk again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was during my first trip to the Netherlands, I had the privilege to stay at Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol. The hotel offers continuous bus service from the Schiphol Airport to the hotel entrance. Ideally located the property situated in a green environment. The rooms are pretty standard in size and all the facilities and amenities were of commendable quality. The balcony open up to a fresh breath of air. The staffs are very pleasant and offers a highly quality service on every request. I have also found this place as one of the best location for conferences and training, with a quiet ambiance and opening up to the nature for some fresh air. You can steal a good walk around the hotel and further up, at a walkable distance is a road cross building with great choice of fast food restaurants. The restaurants, bar were also of great quality. The complementary breakfast spreads up with a large choice of menu. I really loved my mornings here and it was always inducing a special energy around...

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony that opens upto the green yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A good Hotel, with nice staff and good service.
I was there because a delayed flight, so i stayed only a day long. It was quite ok. The food was of good quality at lunch and at Dinner you can choose from chicken or beef if you are a guest of KlM or other company.. or you can also choose from a Menu, if you are only a guest.

THey have a good Shuttle service to the airport, which departs from both locations, regularly.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were surprised by the high quality of this middle-of-nowhere airport motel. Stranded when our flight home was grounded by mechanical difficulties, the airline shuttled hundreds of passengers to this highway motel. The service was prompt and courteous, with everyone happy to go the extra mile to please us. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was fine, especially the extensive buffet offerings at breakfast. Meeting facilities looked good, and the surrounding garden/parcour is very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was traveling with three friends and we really liked this hotel! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived very early before our room was ready so there were large lockers to put our luggage in while we went into Amsterdam. We had a quad room and it was very large with a patio, much more than we expected! There were four twin beds which was perfect and two tv’s, one for each side of the room. We were happy to see both a bathtub and a shower in the bathroom and there were plenty of towels and bath products. The hotel was about a 15 or 20 minute bus ride from the hotel and shorter on the way back to the airport which was fine. It was very convenient to ride the shuttle bus back to the airport in order to take the train into the city. Right across the parking lot, there was a center with KFC and Burger King and a BBQ restaurant – we didn’t go there but it was nice to know that it was available if we needed food. We don’t have anything bad to say about this hotel! Getting to our room was a bit tricky because of the numbering system but not enough to bother us. At the airport we watched people get very upset about small hotel shuttles with not enough room for everyone but this hotel sends a large bus so we never had an issue with that! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, Hoofddorp 2132 MA , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.