We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place, esp. for upscale air-travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place, esp. for upscale air-travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Van der Valk Airport A4 (the 'A4' refers to the highway you reach it by)

This right here is an excellent hotel, especially if you are like me, and enjoy doing the tourist thing, but don't necessarily like staying in the 'tourist' parts of the city, with their small beds and shared washrooms and constant street noise...

I read the earlier criticisms of the hotel location, and they are right - it IS far away from the hubub of downtown - but here's the thing: they have a free shuttle to Schipol.

Takes 12 to14 minutes during off-hours, and leaves every forty minutes or so. The bus runs out of the airport until 23:40, and after that I doubt a cab ride would be ruinously expensive.

Then, from Schipol to Centraal is a €4 train-ride, and it is really easy.

The rooms are great (or at least the one I had was, room 444), with a big bed, balcony, shower and free wi-fi (with good speeds)

The upscale appointment of the lobby, and the diverse mix of professionals you see there, tail well with quality restaurant and bar. I get the impression they could easily host some pretty good, medium-size events on the premises, too.

Most importantly, in my view, is the professionalism and competence of the staff. Every one of the ones I dealt with were top-flight: the drivers, the desk staff, the manager on duty.

In a nation that prides itself, among many things, as a leader in the hospitality industry, the Van der Valk A4 stands out, and I recommend it wholeheartedly if it fits within your budget.

The downside: it does, indeed, lack the old-world 'character' that you will find in the core of the city; but that's the tradeoff you make.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    549
    158
    65
    35
See reviews for
275
339
108
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A bit far from airport but free shuttle makes it so easy.
band new indoor pool area was a bless, kids loved it, they didn't want to go anywhere.
Lots of food options cross the highway on the over pass.
There is nothing around in walking distance so if you're there for shopping and walking, find a hotel inside Amsterdam. this is a reasonably nice priced hotel for a couple of days stay.

I'm really happy we chose this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the shuttle schedule and where they stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading all of the glowing reviews, I booked a room
on my one night stopover.
The airport is in the middle of nowhere, 20 minutes away.
Not sure how they get to advertise as an "airport" hotel other than the
fact there is a shuttle. The check-in was a zoo, but the staff were doing
their best. The room was small with an incredibly small shower stall. No
frills- no tissue, alarm clock, extra towel or working television.
Went for a bite in the bar as there was a line waiting to get into the dining room.
One server and one bartender made for an awfully long wait to get anything. When I finally
went to pay, it was clear I was an annoyance with my credit card.
I want to believe this is an anomaly but not so sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have just returned from 5 days trip to Amsterdam, I have stayed in van der Walk. I am really suprised that the hotel is boasting 4 stars! It is located by the main Rotterdam- Amsterdam highway A4 but BEHIND Schipol airport- few kilometres further in the direction of Rotterdam and The Hague. It is located in the middle of nowhere, in the vicinity of yellow Shell petrol station. The outside looks of the building is ugly plastic - of a motel rather than 4* stablishment. The inside looks better, fortunately.
Arriving early in the morning we had to pay for lockers to store our luggage before the room was ready. IT WAS MY FIRST HOTEL EVER I HAD TO PAY FOR STORING THE LUGGAGE.
There is good, complimentary shuttle bus service to Schipol Airport every 40 minutes but it terminates at midnight- then there is only expensive taxi or don't venture the night trip to City of Amsterdam at all. The other way - I tried to call the taxi via reception during the day and I was waiting for about one hour.
My experience with the reception staff was also not very agreeable. Seemed to me stiff and not very helpful. In the case of calling the taxi- I know it wasn't their fault but they could be nicer/more efficient though. In case of problem with locker in the swimming pool cloakroom I asked for help, they supposedly called technical staff that never arrived. I also aked them if there was bike rental in the hotel. They seemed suprised- yeah- who rides a bike in Netherlands? There was none and they couldn't advise me on any nearby. They told me I would find many in Amsterdam- thanks folks!
I should compliment: spacy rooms, bathrooms with both bathtub and shower, good buffet breakfast, impeccably clean swimming pool with perfect water temperature and wonderful gym with wide variety of equipment. In spite of nearby airport traffic the rooms were calm when balcony door was shut.
Recommended: for a short stay before or after a flight or eventually for travellers with car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had one night booked at the Van de Valk but after experiencing the one night we booked for a further 3 nights the next week. It is Fantastic!,,,truly one of our happy places in Europe. Apart from a beautiful Suite and bathroom facilities it was the excellent shuttle service to Schiphol, the dining room evening meals and most of all the complimentary breakfast that infuenced an extended stay.
The Staff are tops....this is truly 10 out of ten!..location to airport and trains was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good place to start your holiday (or end). Amsterdam is nearby ca. 15 minutes, easy parking before flight. Shuttle service to Amsterdam and Schiphol. Also cars for rent. You can leave your car on the parkinglot instead of longterm parking at Schiphol

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a delayed flight caused us to.miss our connection KLM put us up overnight in this hotel and we were both very impressed with all facilities. They quickly checked us into the room using he voucher given by KLM, explaining the meal options and free bus transfers.

The free meal by KLM is from a limited menu of 3 soups, a choice of steak, chicken, fish or vegetarian main courses and a set desert (a very nice chocolate cake). The food and service were excellent and drinks are reasonably priced for an airport hotel at €8.50 for a beer and a glass of white wine.

The rooms are large and very clean and we exceptionally quiet even for its location close to the motorway and airport. The outside of the hotel is not the best looking but do not judge the hotel by this, inside its more modern.

Overall very impressed by both the hotel and KLM for putting us into this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.