We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Amsterdam
1 review
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice hotel with wonderfull cervice and staff.Will recommend to anyone.
Close to the airport with a shotle bus service every 40 minutes to and from the airport.Great welness service to help you relax and untwined.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    455
    138
    61
    34
See reviews for
208
283
96
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here 18 years ago and remember the fantastic 'eat all you can breakfasts'. As i was returning to Amsterdam, thought i would see if things had changed. They had not. You can eat your fill of bread, rolls, pastries, fruit , yoghurt,cereals, cooked breakfast, ham , cheese and eggs etc. Then collect rolls, jam , cheese, ham and fruit and make yourself a packed lunch. Most useful when sightseeing.Some families were packing food into boxes and taking them out!
Room was clean and spacious. Pool was nice. Restaurant food was good. Despite being close to airport the sound of aircraft did not disturb my sleep.
Made use of free shuttle service to the airport to catch the train into Amsterdam. Therefore no parking worries in the city and at just over 9 Euro's return ticket (off peak) cheaper than most car parks for the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

excellent hotel i have recommended it to a lot of people great value for money the food was great my room was very good and the staff were helpful the shuttle bus is handy also. overall I would say the Schiphol is a brilliant place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the hotel for just one night between our flights to and from Amsterdam. We took the hotel shuttle which runs every 40 minutes from the airport and then in the morning to the airport. The shuttle ran exactly on schedule, taking about 20 minutes to get to the hotel and about 15 minutes to get to the airport.
As recommended by other travelers, I asked for a quiet room on the 2nd floor and that's exactly what we got. The room was very quiet, facing away from the highway and from the airport. Rooms were clean, nice, having both a shower and a bathtub.
My daughter and I spend couple hours at the indoor pool that had nice showers, steam rooms, and saunas.
At night we went for dinner in the food court over the highway - lots of selection there, definitely cheaper than dining at the hotel but not air-conditioned, so a bit hot.
Staff at the hotel was very friendly, checkout was a breeze (just drop your card key at the front desk).
Note that this hotel is really great if you just need to stay somewhere near the airport and don't plan to go to Amsterdam downtown. If you plan to go to the city, I'd suggest using a different hotel with easy access to trains.
All in all a great experience for a pretty good price. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms supposed to be quitter. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing a small parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just checked of Van der Valk after 1 night here because of a missed flight.

Was surprised by the great rooms and the selection in the breakfast buffet.

Only minus was the "dinner" which consisted of a plate with a sandwich, some fruit and water and the fact that we didnt manage to turn off the aircon during night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is huge and well maintained. It is very convenient being next to the Schiphol airport with a shuttle bus driving every 40 minutes up and down.
Also the food id decent and affordable.
The parking is very convenient. It is free parking for people who stay in the hotel and travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked a room for one night to be close to Amsterdam for our flight the next day.
We stayed in the newer part of the hotel with a very modern, somewhat small room but ok for one night.Very crowded with ( stranded) tourists, not a place to stay for a few nights.
Breakfast was very good, payed 15 Euro's per person and it was worth it.
Good sleepover address for only one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol A4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.