We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Schiphol Airport

Save Saved
You added NH Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 495, Hoofddorp 2132 NA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Karmsund
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Typical airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a typical airport hotel. Though the rooms are rather old-fashioned and quite poorly cleaned, especially the bathroom (at least in my case).

We arrived late and just in time to have the buffet in the restaurant before it closed. The food was ok, but considering the price not worth it.

Check in was done fast and I received a code for the wifi without having to ask for it.

Since we had an early flight from AMS the next morning I went early for breakfast. What to say about the breakfast? Nothing really, just another plain hotel breakfast without any special treats.

Checking out was also fast and without any hick-ups.

We intended to take the airport shuttle bus to Schiphol. However the first and second one were filled up with groups of tourists, and by that time we actually realized that we were going to be late if we had to wait for yet another shuttle, hence had to take the first available taxi instead. So the shuttle bus arrangements did not turn to be a big success.

The best thing about this hotel is that the room I got had a really nice and comfortable bed, apart from that not much positive to say

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    222
    147
    64
    43
See reviews for
69
114
70
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a modern, nice designed, very convenient located hotel.

It is a 4 story hotel with big, modern king size beds rooms. Well equipped (coffe maker, safe box, hair drier hot tub, etc).

It has an ample lobby and huge revolving door.

I had to recognised that I got a very cheep rate over a booking site, BUT even that I think that 22 euros for a breakfast is at least a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Less than a hundred meters there is a Mac Donalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited in the week. Unfortunately there was a hotel wide problem and no hot water for the bathrooms in the morning. So ended up having a cold shower and boiled kettle water for shaving. Second day the problem was resolved. I like this hotel overall but based on price and what happened don't feel inclined to stay again. Hotel offered a free drink the bar because of the water issue which I thought was marginal gesture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a horrible hotel.

The service at reception is rude and unhelpful.

The rooms are ancient, they are well worn with horrible bedspreads and chipped furniture.

The restuarnat is over priced with a €35 buffet that has brown lettuce and only two main course choices of fish or chicken. At breakfast I had to go through 6 breakfast bowls before I found a clean one and that was on the day that there was bowls, the previous day I ate my yoghurt and granola off a plate.

When I complained about my room I was told that I would have to pay to upgrade to a better room despite my company being loyal customers of the hotel for many years. I waited until the end of the day to ask again about an upgrade and got a free upgraded room which was newly decorated and like staying in a different hotel in comparison to the earlier room. While the upgraded room was nice, it seemed strange that the hotel had gone to great lengths to redecorate the top floor and improve the overall appearence of that floor yet they had only put in a small 20" television and a dreadful low pressure shower.

There is a good shuttle service to and from the airport but it is a very small bus which resulted in people not getting a seat many times.

I think I would choose another hotel if I have to revist this area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had to wait 23 hours to my connecting flight and I didn't want to spend that time at the Amsterdam airport since it was time to get ready for bed so I got a room at this airport hotel. At first I was rather skeptical because I wasn't sure how good an airport hotel can be. But I was happily surprised, it looked very homey and the bed was so comfortable and customer service impeccable. Very satisfied. Since it was a complementary stay of my airline, I have no idea how much is the room per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Plan extra time from the hotel to the airport because the shuttle can only take 7 or 8 and r/t back to the hotel takes 30 minutes. Check-in and out is much faster than at other NH hotels. The staff is accommodating of special requests including assistance in locating your room - which can be confusing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a perfectly fine hotel, particularly for an airport hotel. Typical European breakfast, beds, and room size. However, watch out for the shuttle. At around 10 PM I was waiting for the shuttle from the airport for half an hour. When it came, it filled up so quickly I couldn't get on. The driver said he would be back in 15 minutes. Then why did it take over half an hour for him to come in the first place? Three of us ended up sharing a cab, which is about the same cost as the 5 Euro for the shuttle.

When I checked in, they did give me a complimentary ticket for the shuttle for the next morning after I explained what had happened. They also said it was not a problem getting on the shuttle in the morning, and there was no need for reservations. Well, I had the same problem. The shuttle arrived, and it filled up. I had to wait 15 minutes for the next one. When it arrived I had to be rude to make sure that I didn't get shut out again, as some late arriving people tried to get on first.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Schiphol Airport

Address: Kruisweg 495, Hoofddorp 2132 NA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Schiphol Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. The hotel has 419 modern air-conditioned rooms, including several large suites, as well as a gift shop and 15 fully equipped, multifunctional conference rooms. To ensure a truly comfortable stay, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, squash courts, outdoor tennis court, fitness center, sauna, solarium and whirlpool. Transportation service (free of charge) is available to and from the airport from 06.00 AM to midnight(schedule subject to change), or you may choose to rent a car to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.