We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Schiphol Airport

Save Saved
You added NH Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Alright for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our KLM flight was cancelled and the airline put us up in this hotel. The lobby is attractive and looks new. The room was spacious but showed some age. The bathroom tiles were worn looking. The bed was comfortable. No fancy slim tv - the tv was an old fashioned box type.
All meals were buffet style. Though the food was simple, we did find it tasty. Dinner had two main dishes, a fish casserole and spaghetti bolognese. There was a salad bar and desserts and doughnuts. The coffee maker was a fancy one and you could make your own cappuccino. No one swept the crumbs from the dining room floor. Maybe because it was a weekend and they perhaps had fewer hands in the dining room.
It was what one would expect in an airport hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    221
    145
    66
    42
See reviews for
72
117
70
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

When I entered my room I was greatly supriced to see the room decorations in this, fairly expensive and old fashioned hotel. My room was filled up with heavy hanging spider webs all over the ceiling. Not really a great experience. I appreciate that I only need to be a few hours. This will definately not come into my file of great hotels to stay in, in the bigger cities.
And just for reference.......I ended up with another guys passport after check in in reception. Wow, that must not happen, so a bit to learn for the, polite and smiling receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check-in was quick and friendly, although just about any other moment we walked past the reception their seemed to be people queuing.

The standard room was clean, yet with outdated furniture. The king size bed actually had two mattresses. This isn’t very comfortable at all. The bathroom (with bathtub and shower combination) was acceptable, though water temperature and pressure varied. Also here: a larger shower nowadays is much more appreciated than a shower/tub. Amenities where standard for NH.

Swimming pool and health club are acceptable but look more like a 1960’ Russian bathouse than anything else, moreover the majority of the lockers had no keys and there were no amenities nor towels. Also in order to get to the pool, one needs to go past the lobby.

The hotel offers a (paid) airport shuttle (mainly due to their third party offerings) for €5return. Nearby public transport is cheaper (€2 one way) and also travels very frequently.
We didn’t try the food options at the hotel, but the nearby Mc Donald’s seemed to do pretty well. Vending machines in the hotels offered soft drinks at relatively steep pricing (€3.50).

Sound Isolation is not 100% and one could clearly hear departing airplanes every two minutes up and until the last flight departed around 11 PM and arriving ones from 6AM.

I Booked this hotel through a third-party website and as such did not specifically chose this property, but I was looking for a cost-efficient stay. For the rate I paid (€47) there is not a lot to wish for. The hotel is clean, although a little outdated and offers a no-frills stay. The hotel does try to upsell a lot with different “packages”, but I am not sure the prices of those extra’s (€30+) are still in-line with the offerings of the property as a whole, as too many of the public spaces are outdated and service is merely OK.

When paying more (€80+) I would probably stay at CitizenM, when paying much more (€130+)Steinberger, Hilton or Sheraton are better options. For the price I paid this is an acceptable offering although how long regular guests are willing to accept the outdated feel remains the question.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I would never stay here again, beware!!! My handbag was stolen from under my table as my family ate breakfast! Shocked this could happen! There CCTV showed nothing conveniently! As I had to leave for my tour immediately, there were no follow up phonecalls or emails from them. Poor customer service! I had to chase them when I got home! Unsafe!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Typical NH hotel, old but clean, terrible internet connection, no flat screen TV. Quite silent as it is close to the runway. A lot of 'I cannot because I don't want to' like impossible for a coworker to order a cab at the front desk one day in advance or putting the shift rotation in the busiest time the day, when people want to check out. So no recommendation especial if you consider the price you pay for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Being an airport hotel there is not much in the vicinity except commercial. (McDonalds is across the street, if you so desire). So it is not a great place to use as a base except to get back and forth to the airport. I suppose if you had a car, it could work for a base.

As a airport hotel it is great. The shuttle back and forth was excellent and quick. the hotel itself, while a bit older and perhaps in need of some touch up painting, was clean and comfortable. My only complaint with my room was that the TV did not work well. It was an "ancient" non flat screen device and would quick working every 30 minutes or so. if I turned it on and off, it would work again. Minor problem as the wi fi was good and the room was clean and comfortable.

The hotel also had a large work out facility with squash courts and an interesting indoor pool and hot tub. I did not have time to use it, but it did look inviting.

Probably my biggest complaint was that there was not enough desk staff on duty. Given that the shuttles arrive every 30 minutes and unload 4-8 guests, they only had one clerk available and the line got long. I thought this was pretty poor planning on their part.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and checked in with a not so happy receptionist who then advised us we wouldn't have a smoking room as they had none with a king size bed, so we had to take the non smoking room. Then we were hit with a 90 euro charge on a debit card in case we had anything from the mini bar, which we were not told about when we booked the hotel. everytime you want to go to Amsterdam central you need to take a shuttle service from the hotel to the airport then on a train, the shuttle service costs 5 euros each person for a return!! would not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Schiphol Airport

Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Schiphol Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. The hotel has 419 modern air-conditioned rooms, including several large suites, as well as a gift shop and 15 fully equipped, multifunctional conference rooms. To ensure a truly comfortable stay, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, squash courts, outdoor tennis court, fitness center, sauna, solarium and whirlpool. Transportation service (free of charge) is available to and from the airport from 06.00 AM to midnight(schedule subject to change), or you may choose to rent a car to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.