We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 495, 2132NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is good, although a little bit pricy (certainly for food/drinks). It is in the airport vicinity with an adequate shuttle bus transfer to the airport. But for the rest, there's nothing to do in the neigbourhoood. The only 'restaurant' nearby is a McDonalds because the hotel is situated near an industrial site (offices, factories,...)

Room Tip: Ask a room on one of the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    275
    165
    81
    44
See reviews for
80
151
82
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed last week for 4 nights and this week for 3 nights. Rooms ok but temperature range from warm to far too hot, no fresh air possible but generally clean and practical. Big bonus with fitness ( could do with more equipment, cycles, cross trainer etc.), pool, whirlpool and squash courts. My biggest gripe is with the level of service from the staff in the restaurants and bars. I think for a 4 star hotel this is just not acceptable. Long waiting times to be either served or order taken, total lack of interest from rude, unmotivated and obviously untrained staff. Unfortunately everything appeared to be TOO much trouble for them and my opinion in some cases these people seem to be in totally the wrong profession. In fact at breakfast this morning I felt physically threatened by one of the waiters for having the nerve to ask for some butter. The shuttle bus was also a lottery to see if there were enough places for the journey back and forth to the airport, again the drivers were unfriendly and sometimes downright rude. I think the NH should understand they are not the only hotel at the airport and service really does count in todays crowded marketplace with many other available choices, in fact because of our experience at this hotel my company are moving its people away from the NH to the Mercure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A comfortable hotel right by the airport, good sized rooms, great bed but we did have 2 single beds pushed together to make one which we don't really like. Bathroom was good sized and had a shower over bath.
We had room service for dinner as we really were just there to sleep after an international flight. It was yummy food but you didn't get a whole lot and they didn't give you everything it said on the menu (soup but forgot the bread sticks)
At that point we were too tired to care!
Had a free shuttle to & from airport which was easy to find. We thought we would have to pay for ride back to airport the next day but we didn't have to pay.
Would stay there again simply for convenience but good enough for a one night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

School was closed due to the bad weather so we were given this hotel for an overnight, Sunday night. Klm herded us out into the freezing weather and snow with hundreds of other people. We waited until an inadequate bus turned up(8 seats) and eventually got to the hotel. Amazing that no one queues in Europe.

Checked in ok and had a decent, if dusty room. However, the staff fell well short of help in my opinion. As we were on an overnight trip I clean forgot to take my laptop with me! As Klm only gave us a Facebook or twitter contact,(we tried the phone number that was continuously engaged thus flattening my phone), we had no way of contacting the airline. The front desk staff said we could use their phone for one minute or open an account to use the phone in the room. They could not tell me how much the tariffs were but suggested that I make a 10 minute call and then see how much this would cost!that was the sum total of their help. Eventually we went back to the airport to try and sort our flights out.

The food for the evening was poor, not very warm. This was the end of a very stressful day so probably made it feel worse.

The next morning my wife met up with the operational manager who let her use his computer to help us. We thank him for his understanding and helpfullness, it is a shame the staff the previous night were not as tuned in to the issues that stranded passengers have.

Thank ful we had a dry, warm place to stay but would not recommend this hotel if you need any assistance.

Room Tip: Business trips only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week on business and have used NH reasonably frequently in the past elsewhere and found them to be reliable and good quality for the price.

The NH Schiphol has few redeeming features. The best aspect is the health facilities. It's unusual to get a hotel with squash courts, gym, pool and sauna.

However, the food and particularly the service in bars and restaurants was terrible, overlooked, tough meats, and cold. Service was slow and often grudging. We were not made to feel welcome. This was in sharp contrast to the Hilton at Schiphol where I stayed the week before.

Further more the 'free wifi' was glacial. Just about quick enough to download emails, but forget anything else.

The airport transfer service was fine, but with only 8 seats, it was pot luck if you are able to get on the bus you are aiming for.

I hope things improve as I may have to stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My Girlfriend lost her glasses at this hotel. We sent them a mail to look after this item. They looked for, find the glasses in an another room and sent us the glasses.

They could have say we haven't found them, instead they've paid the shipping costs.. What a great staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms are great and beds comfy, large buffet breakfast very good even though the items are the same each day.

only annoyance was the location (only mcdonalds close by) the area is hotels/offices.

Air conditioner was quite loud

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.