We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisweg 495, 2132NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Traveled with a Cosmos tour. Clean rooms. MacDonald s across street for late night snack. Decent bar. Rooms good size for short stay. Great breakfast buffet. Recommended. Travel to Amsterdam was at least 15 minutes but for the value, not a problem. Hallways did have a very strong odor of cleaning products that was at first offensive but soon was not noticeable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    276
    165
    81
    44
See reviews for
80
151
82
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The shuttle bus can only take 8 people each time. I went to a trade show for 4 days and have use their shuttle service many times. Sometimes the driver asked for coupon from hotel to airport. It costs 5 euros. Few occasions they can not accommodate all passengers. You just need to wait for another 15-30 mins for the next shuttle. You are not guarantee can get on the next one. You'd better run fast when the shuttle arrive! Most drivers are not friendly at all. Few passengers complaint that they are late for their flight. The driver just said it is not his problem. No matter what he can only take 8 people. I got kicked out of the bus to accommodate another guy with luggage! It ended up I missed two bus and wait almost 1 hour at airport. In the end I took Best Western's bus!
The restaurant is also bad at night! The waiters are just not friendly at all! The open hour and the type of food they served are not matched between the front-counter and at the restaurant. I saw the waiter kicked out customers 10 min before they close. Not apology at all! He seems blame why customers come in so late! What a bad attitude!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methwold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived after a 10 hour drive to find our room filled with a odor best described as a million stinky armpits! We turned right around went back to the front desk which was quite the trek from our room. The desk clerk said "that's the best room we have." I was shocked and we asked for the manager. He wasn't much better, they exchanged words in their language and he finally looked at us and said "well let's go back to your room and I'll see if it's ok." what???!!!!

So if the manager thought it didn't smell we would have to stay in it? I told him I just spent 10 hours getting here I was not going to walk back and fourth I wanted a different room. My spouse ended up going with him while I stayed in the lobby. After a while he returned and said he didn't smell anything. He again had an exchange with the clerk that we couldn't understand and then told us he had one other room. He got the key and said he would. Heck it with us. The whole thing was very insulting, like we were lying or trying to get a better room. We walked into the room, it smelled fine so he left. No apologies, nothing.

Upon further inspection of the room we decided it must be the worse room they had. The bath water dial was covered in rust, there were holes in the tile wall where they had replaced one shower head for another and never filled them in. The ceiling had water stai s all over it ans well as the carpet. We did not complain, we were glad it didn't smell and knew there were no other rooms.

Near 11pm that evening we noticed it was getting warmer and warmer in the room and we had the a/c on for at least 4 hours. Here we go again...spouse went to the desk came back with another manager who was nicer, apologetic and understanding. He agreed our room was hot and determined the a/c was broken. They window in our room did not open so we couldn't just get a breeze in there andbe ok. This manager got on his walkie talkie and within seconds got us another room right next door!!!!! Wow it's a miracle another room. He apologized again and got us moved over at nearly midnight. What a day!

This room was not only cleaner, rust free but also had a nice flat screen tv. Everything in this room had clearly been updated as opposed to the room before with the tiny 1980 television, faded and discolored bedding and furniture.

I was so disappointed in how we were treated, all previous reviews led us to believe this would be a great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful! I wonder if we got the lower end rooms because we were with a tour group but can't say. Sadly when we return to Amsterdam we will not stay here again.

I might also add we found it a hassle to have to get a new wifi code from the desk every day of our stay. Why they didn't have one password set for the entire hotel I don't know but it was inconvient when it's 10 pm and spouse is doing business online and has to walk back to desk for a new code because they other one expired.

If I could post pictures on here I have them of the room with rusty bathtub and water stained ceiling.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel several times already. Very convenient for my business. Shuttle to the airport works fine.

The room was clean, and comfortable, free WiFi in the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful..

Highly recommended for business visitor to Amsterdam and surroundings. It is very near to public transportation (you can get to the airport in about 10 min by bus and from there get to anywhere)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were two of the many travellers that were affected by ANOTHER airline strike and were eventually rerouted away from Frankfurt to Amsterdam.
Upon arrival in the hotel, we were greeted with very friendly and understanding desk staff. We were given a delicious full course meal (even though the resturant was closed). The host in the lounge, gave us a personal greeting and wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. After a full day of waiting in airports and dealing with long lines, angry passengers and helpless airline staff, this lounge manager was just what we needed at the end of this journey.
Our room was very clean and was a true non-smoking room. Wifi for two computers was free.
Breakfast was excellent offering a large variety both hot and cold items and once again, the staff was very friendly and cheerful.
Our shuttle to the airport was also free. This cheerful driver went off his regular route to bring us as close to the terminal as possible. Terrific service!
We had such a wonderful experience here, I think we'll return someday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel a number of times but not taken the shuttle to get there as I was working near by. To my surprise your pick up from the airport is free but if you want to get back to the airport for your flight it will cost you! Which I don't think if very transparent. I also was given wifi for a number of times and they then started charging me for it, I think nowadays wifi should be free and will only book a hotel on these grounds.

The rooms are clean and of a good size and takes 10 minutes to get to the airport.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi and a larger swimming pool try the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in June 2012 while on a business trip. They operate a free shuttle service to the major businesses in the area near the airport as well as a free shuttle to/from the airport, so i had no problem getting to work. They also provide pick up from work back to the hotel two times a day.

The room was clean, and comfortable, free WiFi in the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful..

Highly recommended for business visitor to Amsterdam or if you're there for a vacation. It is very near to public transportation (you can get to the airport in about 10 min by bus and from there get to anywhere)

Room Tip: they have smoking rooms in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.