We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property just the shuttle service was a drawback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice property just the shuttle service was a drawback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my way to a family event in Maastricht, Netherlands. Overall, it is a very nice property and it terms of appearance, room quality, food, etc., it is a cut above many of the Courtyard by Marriott properties that I have stayed at in the USA. I had a small dinner at the bar (due to my late arrival) and thought the food and service was good. The breakfast was excellent with a broad selection. My room was very nicely appointed and the entire property has a very stylish and modern feel. The only drawback was the shuttle. After a long flight from the USA through London Heathrow, I waited almost 50 minutes for the Airport Shuttle. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute ride from the airport and there was apparently construction which caused the delay. However, I was really not up for that long of a wait and thought perhaps the hotel should have added extra staff/ shuttles to accommodate for the delay. On my departure, the shuttle was scheduled to leave at 8:05 and we didn't leave until almost 8:20. I didn't have a flight to catch (instead getting a rental car for the drive to Maastricht) but counted on the shuttle leaving on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed.
I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    112
    40
    24
    6
See reviews for
64
54
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a terrible smell. Furniture and carpet has not been replaced for 11 years. House keeping forgot to clean my room one day. Every day I was there house keeping did not pick up glasses in the room, even after I mentioned to the front desk. This is an airport hotel but 20 minutes away. Front desk staff very cordial.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Two other friends and myself shared a room at the Courtyard near Schiphol. The shuttle pick up was an excellent service and the driver was especially helpful. We felt welcomed to Amsterdam simply by riding with him and his great attitude, I wish I knew his name, but I think it is John. If he had not gone the extra mile to wait for us on our excursion via train down to Central Amsterdam via a return to Schiphol we would've been "out in the rain." Thankfully, our shuttle driver cared about the possibility of late arriving passengers. The shuttle stops running from the airport at 11:30pm. It was 11:42pm when we got on the shuttle and the heavens opened up to pour down rain. We rejoiced at his kindness and went back to a warm and welcoming hotel staff, where we enjoyed a great night sleep and more than adequate accommodations. It's is often the little things that make the difference. Thankful to have discovered them at the Courtyard near Schiphol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Courtyard!

Thank you for being our guest and we are very happy that you feel at home with us. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back with us for yet another visit.

Many thanks also on behalf of the team here at Courtyard.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We needed to stay somewhere for one night post cruise and had some Marriott points that we wanted to use. The shuttle from the Central Station was on time and well worth the money. We took it back to the airport the next morning.
We loved this hotel. It was clean, rooms were good size, beds comfortable and the park behind the hotel was an added bonus. We even watched a horse show while we were there. We ate at one of the restaurants on site and the food was wonderful.The staff was very helpful and friendly. We took a bus to the little town of Haarlem. It was a short walk to the bus stop and the bus system was very efficient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed.
I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The establishment was very accommodating and I was just staying one night waiting out a flight the next morning... they had room, so put me on the top floor in a suite size room for a European hotel room (many are dorm room size)... this one was gorgeous... windows on two sides, huge bathroom with large hydro-jet tub, double sink vanity and a three head shower that was the whole back wall of the bath... with the loo in a separate closet... very very nice... this hotel is on the edge of a park with a lake and many trails for riding or walking... it is a little inconvenient from the airport, but they have a shuttle that runs on the half hour... just a note - I was out too late to get the shuttle and a cab was on the order of 30 Euros... pretty high for a quick trip to the other side of the airport... but this one is overall much nicer inside than many Courtyards... also I am Platinum and probably was upgraded to that room for free but would normally be much more expensive...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed.
I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

With the Marriott hotels you know what you can expect. We had to spend a night here when our flight was cancelled. Unless I had a car I would not have chosen to stay at this location because it is a 20-25 minute drive from the airport and feels like it is in the middle of nowhere.
The service was outstanding.Without exception every person, from the driver of the hotel van to the front desk personnel and restaurant workers, was friendly, courteous and helpful, and contributed to make our involuntary stay as pleasant as possible under the circumstances. The hotel restaurant did not have an extensive menu, but the food was good and the serving sizes generous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed.
I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a very upscale Courtyard hotel. The breakfast buffet was impressive but too expensive for my wallet. The facilities and my room were immaculately maintained.

The only negative about the hotel is it's distance from the airport. It takes the shuttle a good 20 minutes (didn't time it, so I may be exaggerating) to go from door-to-door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed.
I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at this 4-star hotel, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the Airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, the hotel is in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. The hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.