We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
denver, colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

What an excellent experience at the Courtyard AMS. From the shuttle bus driver to the manager, everyone was helful and friendly throughout. Mr Roger Langhout was especially helpful when there was a small problem with our reservation on arrival. The park behind the hotel is delightful. It is about a 45 min walk into town for shops but we found the restaurant within the hotel was easiest and delicious. Bus is very convenient.; the train, not so much. With a car, plenty of parking and easy access to airport car rental return. Quiet and very comfortable. Seems to have quite a bit of local conference and business meeting activity but also many international travelers.
Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear lcascd,

Thank you for your stay and choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport for the start and finish of your bike tour.

It was great having you and thank you for your great review.
We all look forward to your return!

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    109
    38
    24
    6
See reviews for
64
54
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very quiet and believe in a very exclusive estate. Rooms were nice and spacious. Quiet and extra marks goes to it having a shower and tub option. Great if you are just overnighting and have no desire to go into the City. Only downside it is far from Schipol airport. Cab fare cost us about euros 30. There is a shuttle for euros 5 each way. It is on the other side of the airport. Definitely a no frills hotel and this has to be a choice that the Marriott chain has chosen. Rooms do no provide any beverage amenities. We had to request for a kettle. Did have a hairdryer.

Room Tip: Too far from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear OPTRAVEL036,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are situated in a very nice park with a lake situated just outside the busy and noisy airport area. A good night sleep guaranteed.

Thank you for your business, we look forward having you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed for a night during a flight delay on route through amsterdam...its a typical marriott- pleasant and clean. But the service is terrible and the food is a bit worse.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear Nanda,

Thank you very much for your stay and review. We are very happy to read that you have experienced your stay with us as you are used to as by Marriott standards.
I have tried to reach you to get more details about your restaurant experience. please drop me a message if you get a chance. On a positive note we have a new dinner and lunch menu with some spectacular summer salads.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 1 nights after my evening arrival to Schiphol airport. The hotel is absolutelly perfect with spacious rooms with huge windows on different sides. The room was devided into 2 zones - entrance and bedroom with really king-size bed. The hotel offers free wi-fi in modern and stylish lobby. Serious disadvantage is transfer service. It is an airport hotel, but the trunsfer costs 5,90 one-way, so almost 12 eur for return, bus runs by schedule (not often, every 30-60 minutes) and service ends very early at 9pm. Great hotel if you are by car, but not good enough for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Dear Cestovatel_W,

Thank you very much for your stay and positive feedback.

I am sorry to read that you were misinformed about our shuttle. it starts at 5.15 AM and the last ride from the airport to the hotel at midnight. We charge a nominal fee of 5 EUR per trip.

We have posted the Airport shuttle schedule on our website for arrival planning.

Once again, thank you very much, hope to see you back with us soon!

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We missed a connecting flight in Amsterdam due to delays coming out of JFK after the snowstorm, and KLM put us up in the Marriott. We've been to Amsterdam a couple of times before and the hotel would be out of the way for a tourist type accommodation, but for us in this circumstance it was perfect - anything would have been better than spending the night at Schipohl as many others were clearly doing, but this was more than just second best.
First, I have to point out that the hotel clearly has a deal with KLM and expedited check-in, meal and transfer vouchers etc very efficiently (everyone on our shuttle bus was "stranded") - I have been in a similar position with BA at Heathrow before and that was a far longer and painful process to check in.
We were given interleading rooms for the family, and both were spotless and comfortable. The bathrooms look new.
We ate at Bistro DT at the entertainment centre next door and food and service were both excellent, although the kids' playroom downstairs is not very accessible and looked a bit dirty, but the restaurant itself was great.
Breakfast in the morning was a good spread, with quite a lot more than the typical Dutch hotel breakfast (i.e. Americans and Brits should find stuff they would consider "normal" breakfast too!) A 6.30 start for breakfast may be a bit late for some travellers but they did have complimentary coffee and croissants available earlier.
Service at the hotel was excellent.
Free wi-fi available downstairs, internet at a charge in rooms.
The smoking area outside has a motion-sensor activated heater - great in winter and beats many other non-smoking hotels for smokers!
I see a couple of other reviewers say this place does not do justice to "Courtyard Marriott" - well the only other Marriott I've stayed in is Boston (admittedly that has a great location) and this one was multiple times better.

If we were travelling for tourism this would not be ideal, but as a place to very comfortably rest a weary head between flights it was perfect. Just make sure you know what times you need your shuttle booked - incidentally we had more people booked than the normal shuttle would take, but they had arranged another taxi-shuttle to take the overflow so again well-organised rather than simply saying no more space.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear sjsa,

Thank you so much for this great review.
We are very happy that we were able to accomodate you and your family.

It proves we are a hotel designed for travellers by travellers.

All the best until we meet again...

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

First, the not-so-good features: it's not the 5 euros for the shuttle bus that matters. (Why do people complain about such a trivial amount?) It's the very long periods between shuttles that can be a problem if you have a plane to catch. I had no idea that you are supposed to reserve a seat ahead of time, and found out by accident, and managed to catch the 09:45 for an 11:35 flight. God help me if I missed that one! Can't they run them more frequently? (I also waited in the cold for thirty minutes while at the airport for the shuttle to the hotel. In that time two shuttles for the Ibis hotel came.) Breakfast is also 21.50 euros. That is a bit much. That is way out of line, actually. And I couldn't get my room warm. (The heat vent is up high, and hot air rises, so it may have heated the ceiling, but not me. And weirdly, there is a large divider between the heat vent and the bed, preventing any accidentally-warm air from reaching you.)

And an internet connection costs something like 12.95 euros per 24 hours. If you want four hours, which costs less--thinking that you will not spend more time than that on the internet--beware, because it's four hours from the second you sign on. If you sign off to go to the bar or take a bath, the four hours keeps ticking away. That, I think, is not customer-friendly.

Oh, and the bar: nice atmosphere except for the very loud, irritating pop music, which ruins the whole experience.

The good? My room was fairly roomy and comfortable. Except for the chair at the desk. It was not an office chair, so it couldn't be raised or lowered. So I felt like a five year-old at the grownups' dinner table. Not business-friendly.

It's a nice hotel, but with irritating features designed to get (more) money out of you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear isoruku,

Thank you very much for your stay and comments on tripadvisor.

We have investigated your remarks and made the necessary arrangements to improve our operation. We have changed our music program in the bar, increased the shuttle schedule and installed fiberglass internet. WiFi has been available for free in the bar, lobby and meeting center.

You are most welcome to enjoy our enhanced Business Pro Room with larger desk, adjustable desk chair and personal printer station for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

During a road trip to Holland, I and my family stayed at the Marriot for a couple of nights. We drove to the hotel, which was a little far from the city center - and hence the name Courtyard Airport, I suppose.

Even though it took us a while to check in - there was a huge business group that was checking out, the room was quite nice and spacious. Cleanness was 5 star and we liked the room. It had free wireless internet which was a bonus.

We arrived on a Saturday and perhaps that was the reason, but the restaurant was closed and in the evening we had no where to go - since the hotel is quite outside the city center and we did not know where we could find any restaurants.

There is an adjoining area - around 500 yards from the hotel with a couple of restaurants in it but when we turned up the place looked deserted and we did not really feel like having a meal there. Again this could be because it was the week end and the hotel looked like it was more for the "business" traveller.

We did have a few drinks at the bar down stairs and had a few niblets. The ambience was great and we felt quite relaxed.

The only gripe I would have, besides the unavailability of food, was the access to the bus stop which was a good 10 minute walk from the hotel and normall would have been a refreshing walk, but because it was raining and we were with kids, turned into a bit of a hassle. The hotel does have a shuttle to and from the bus stop but it has set timings etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at this 4-star hotel, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the Airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, the hotel is in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. The hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.