We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good service & location. A bit pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service & location. A bit pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I can only echo the combined sentiments of two other posters. The hotel is certainly clean, spacious and welcoming, the rooms are certainly generous and the beds are lovely - so luxuriant I struggled to get out of bed in the morning! Good food in the restaurant though a little pricey, even considering that it's a (higher class of) airport hotel.

A good location too, close to Hoofdorp railway station just a few minutes from Amsterdam Schiphol - quiet and clean neighbourhood. The Dutch really plan this stuff well, it was a world away from my experience of UK Airport Hotels, with a concrete building jammed apologetically in the middle of a roundabout while jumbo jets scream overhead! And the staff are first-class and I am pleased to recommend them.

Equally I would agree thought that, good as it is, it isn't quite worth what they charge - and yes the Wifi is pretty lame unless you pay a pretty extortionate amount for the express link.

Overall though I had a nice comfortable time, good staff and friendly polite service, a nice little bar and restaurant and marvellous rooms. Keep it up chaps, and tell your bosses to put more deals out - this way we could come more often!

Room Tip: Lpook for Groupon deals etc,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Nigel 'Steff' P,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol and that you especially appreciated our beds.
Your comments regarding deals will definately be shared with management.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    299
    112
    68
    33
See reviews for
89
94
66
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hotel itself is ok but not worth what they charge. The rooms are very dated. The beds are very comfortable and there is not too much noise even though there is a main railway line right next to it. Wifi is terrible unless you pay 8 euros an hour or 22 euros per day.
Now.....the main reason for the low rating. I travel a lot on business and only stayed here due to a last minute change and regular hotel fully booked. Every day and every night they got something wrong. They tried to bill me for things I did not receive, they brought the wrong food out, my vegetarian colleague had meat dishes put in front of them on 3 occasions during the week after ordering the vegetarian options. It took forever to get a 2 course meal and just as long to sort out the bill when they got that wrong......which was everyday. We decided to eat out as much as possible to avoid the hassle. The beer was frequently poured into warm glasses.
The majority of staff were friendly but the management seriously need to sort out the issues that cause frustration on a daily basis, after a day of meetings I just want a quite meal and drink without having to question the bill. One meal was charged for + 100 extra euros.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear M F,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay at our hotel.
I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. In your comments I do not recognize the regular service our hotel provides so this will definately be looked in to.
We hope you will choose our hotel again during a future stay as we would like to change your mind about our property. If there are any issues during a next stay feel free to contact the manager on duty.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for business meetings. The hotel is clean, spacious, the room was a lovely comfortable size with a large King bed and fluffy bedlinen, I could not wait to go to sleep.

The Lobby Lounge was comfortable, spacious and quiet, the restaurant food was a good quality and staff were very friendly and helpful above and beyond

I will definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear L F,
It was a pleasure to read your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your compliments regarding our property and the services and facilities we provide.
Perhaps during a next (non-business) visit you can also try out our pool and fitness area and visit Hoofddorp or Amsterdam.
We are looking forward to your next review on Tripadvisor or on our own site.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Effort has been made to the food and friendy service. But no lounge, tiny bar being at the entrance of the restaurant (bar tables are same as the restaurant tables), no cozy area where to sit with a drink or a newspaper and relax, hotel located in the middle of nowhere (you can't walk to any other bar nor restaurant nor shops), and you can hear the train every 15 minutes from your bed (even at night).. Plus you have to pay 7,50€ for the shuttle from the hotel to the airport !!! (and shuttles to pick you up at the airport are rarely on time)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear helenesq9999,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.
The city centre of Hoofddorp is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and offers you almost 24/7 entertainment. There are bars, restaurants, shops, a cinema and much more for your entertainment. Our reception can inform you about this.
Perhaps during a next stay we can change your mind about Hoofddorp and our property.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great room, great service, free bus from airport to hotel. Highly recommended. Stayed on business trip, because close to airport and have stayed in CP hotels in UK before. Not disappointed. Well done CP

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mattsylark,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol.
It is great to read that we were able to meet the expectations you had about the Crowne Plaza hotels.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good location, close to business park. Excellent food and very friendly efficient staff.
Always stay here when on a business trip to Schiphol area. Airport pickup shuttle is convenient and actually looks smart as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Club room, cost a bit more but very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear JPeeters_13,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay.
We highly appreciate your compliments regarding our services and hotelteam and we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel itself is great, the staff were very friendly, and the rooms were massive. Our twin room had two double beds with lots of pillows and the bed was so comfortable after a long day. There are no views from this hotel, it literally is in the middle of nowhere. There is a free shuttle from the airport though which was handy but be aware to get the shuttle back it costs €7.50. The hotel is around a 5 minute walk to the nearest station which will take you into Amsterdam Centraal in around 20 minutes. Be aware that this station isn't staffed though and the ticket machines only accept coins or maestro cards - no notes. Trains don't run to this station 24/7 either, so if your plans are to stay out until the early hours in Amsterdam the only trains you can get are every hour to Schipol airport then a taxi from there is around €20.

I managed to lock us out of our safe at one point and the manager was very helpful at this point! Also we managed to forget travel adapters and the hotel staff were kind enough to lend us some at reception.

Breakfast had a very large choice of breads, jams, cereals, juices, pasteries, cold meats and cheeses. Breakfast also had a cooked section with beans, mushrooms, scrambled egg, some inedible bacon and the strangest chicken sausages.

I didn't book this hotel, and had I seen the location I wouldn't have. Overall, this is a great hotel, if wanting to be near the airport, or travelling for buisiness nearby its perfect. To see Amsterdam city centre, it is not.

I would have given this place 5* but the cooked breakfast sort of let it down a bit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Laura C,
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripdavisor regarding your stay.
It is great to read that you and your friends enjoyed the hotel itself. We are indeed located outside of Amsterdam. Hoofddorp also offers some great restaurants, bars, a theatre and a cinema for if you would like to stay out until the early hours.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the cooked breakfast. We will pass your comments on to the kitchen.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp
Address: Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via a private airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant @The Lobby. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available at a charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol to your Saves list