We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Great Breakfast, Slowest Internet in NL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, Great Breakfast, Slowest Internet in NL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes away from Schipol Airport in Hoofdorp. The rates are reasonable, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is close to Hoofdorp Train Station should you want to venture into Centraal or other neighborhoods. The workout facility was small, but had sufficient equipment for a decent workout, plus trail maps are provided that prefer to go outside and run. The pool and spa are also nice additions.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and had a very wide selection of traditional selections, plus full English and/or American breakfast for those a bit hungrier.

My only complaint was the complimentary Internet connection. To say that it was slow would be a gross understatement. The logon page stated the connection speed would be limited to 192Kbps, but I am fairly certain there was a decimal point missing -- should have been 19.2Kbps!!

There are other connection speeds available that are faster, but you will need to pay for those unless you are an IHG Gold or Platinum member. I was finally able to work around the limitation by using Skype Internet which used the premium service speed but at a much cheaper rate.

That issue aside, I was very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear JR_SFO,
We appreciate you left a review regarding our property.
With regards to the internet, I would like to inform you that we continue to evaluate it and make improvements where possible.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    300
    115
    68
    33
See reviews for
90
96
66
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at The Crown Plaza, every time we come into Amsterdam. It is the perfect place to stay, close to the airport, but not too close. Close for train connection to downtown. Excellent check in experience. Lovely breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff.
Would never stay any where else while visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Wenny1959,

Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.It is highly appreciated and we hope that you will be able to enjoy more stays at the Crowne Plaza.

Kind regards,

Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed just for one night but the hotel was great! Beds were amazing, tons of pillows and super comfy. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel has shuttle transportation from and to the airport. From the airport to the hotel was free, and from the hotel to the airport there was a fee of $7.5 euros per person. 5 minutes walking from the hotel is a metro station that will get you to central station. Internet signal was strong and I did not get charged for that. I would definitely stay here next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Vannylo82,
We highly appreciate your kind review about our hotel. Positive feedback from satisfied guests is our greatest reward!
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in the hotel last month in room number 310 with my husband, our daughter and our baby son and we really liked our stay there

The room was very clean, the service was excellent! the staff very friendly and helpful
We enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi .
The train station is about 15minutes walk,
We will for sure return back to crowne plaza amsterdam schipol in our next visit to amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear DOLINA_002,
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol. Thank you for your positive review and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Good location if you are flying out of schipol or have work in the hoofsdorp area. Hotel is nice but the service and staff are excellant. Reception was extremely helpfull in providing me directions and shuttle to the airport since the trains into centraal were not plying that weekend. Enjoyed my 2 nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Shyam R,
Thank you for sharing your experience about the service and our staff at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Planned a short weekend in Amsterdam and want a good quality place to stay.
The room (551) on the Club floor was excellent, big, clean with everything required.
I knew that the hotel was a distance of the centre of Amsterdam and still chose it. There are regular trains just 10 mins walk to the station but what we found worked best was to take the bus.
Bus 145 takes 40-50 minutes to get into the Centre and you can get a 14 euro day ticket if you ask - this also covers you on any other bus journeys you need to take. (The last bus back was just after midnight.) Train can be quicker but is about 19 euros each. Just watch out for trains not running due to rail repairs.

The breakfast was really good and service friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear P3t3186400,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Clubfloor and the breakfast.
Again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was sent here after spending 30 euro to go out to the Courtyard Marriott only to be told they had overbooked the hotel and would not honour my reservation. This was supposed to be a 5 star hotel but it had less in the way of comfort and amenities. The rooms are ok. Windows were dirty. The food at the restaurant is overpriced and the quality should be much higher. I had an appetizer that cost over 15 euro, contained four pieces of veal, and two of them were pure gristle and fat. I couldnt even chew and swallow it. Despite the evidence on my plate that half of it was inedible, I was charged for it. I was served two glasses of wine with fruitflies in them, which they did replace. Still, when it happens twice, they should offer one of them free. The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. Scrambled eggs tasted like they were powdered, beans were cold, no salmon or fish, no milk but whole fat. There are virtually no public area amenities, no comfortable lounge area or outdoor seating areas. Hallways are low ceilinged, dark and smell a bit dank. Right on the highway.

Room Tip: If you like morning light choose an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AliasToronto,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great
our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp
Address: Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via a private airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant @The Lobby. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available at a charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.