We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor attitude in restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
oxford
1 review
“Poor attitude in restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Didn't actually stay here, was in the (cheaper) Holiday Inn Express across the road, but came over for a meal one evening. Ordered the burger on the "snack" menu (note the "main" menu is very expensive). Asked for it to be cooked "medium". At first it seemed OK, and told the waitress as much when she asked how my meal was. However, near the end of the meal when I got to middle of the burger it was clearly not even cooked properly, let alone "medium". I left a bit (which frankly looked almost raw) and told the waitress as much when she collected my plate. She appeared to agree and said she'd have a word with the chef. Anyway that was that and a few minutes later I was presented with my bill, with no acknowledgement or apology about the unsatisfactory burger. I called over the head waiter and he said he'd investigate. He came back a few minutes later but was terribly defensive, saying that I'd told the waitress that my meal was fine (but that was before I'd got to the undercooked bit of it!) and that the chef had said it was cooked correctly (which was patently not true for the bit I left). Given that the burger cost 20 Euros and I was clearly not satisfied with it, I would the thought the least I could have expected was an apology and perhaps the offer of a free coffee to diffuse the situation. I wasn't expecting (or looking) for my bill to be wiped completely but the fact that there was no recognition that a customer was unhappy, or even the slightest sign of contrition left a sour taste, and by that time I was frankly quite angry and not feeling like I wanted to pay at all. In the end, grudgingly, the head waiter offered a free drink, but by that time I just wanted to get out of the place. Eventually he took off the cost of a drink I had earlier, so I still ended up paying for the burger in full. Needless to say I didn't leave a tip! Very disappointed, might have expected from a cheap cafe but not a supposed 4 star hotel. Definitely won't be coming back next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear SPS2209,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I apologize we did not make you feel this way. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was not what you had expected and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the quality of food that was served. The appropriate management has been notified and these concerns will be addressed and corrected.

Again, we greatly appreciate the valuable feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    299
    112
    68
    33
See reviews for
89
95
66
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a one night stay over, but was pleasantly surprised by the location and convenience of the hotel to the airport. The Crowne Plaza was clean and well-styled and my room was spacious. I was most impressed by the service. Steaming my shirt in the shower, I accidentally flooded the bathroom and the duty manager Tim took care of the situation himself. I tried to tip him, but he refused and later left me a nice note. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

very clean, very polite and helpful staff. The food in the restaurant it was a little bit too expensive.The location is not so good if you want to visit Amsterdam and don't have a car but if you just want to have a quiet,away from the rest of the world holiday, this is a good choice. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and close to both the airport and our office. Very little contact with the service and everything went fine. Room was big and very illuminated, with a convenient table to work.
The checkin process took its time, with very little queue. If you are going for business, i.e. not to be at the hotel but anywhere else at your office, this is a good place.
A plus for me: free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and back, just asked to the driver (not in reception) and she let me in without any issue, for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Crowne Plaza Schiphol is a very nice hotel as regards the facilities and hospitality of the staff. I am their priority club member as well, however as it is located outside Amsterdam in Hoofddorp, for any one coming to attend any conference or congress being held at Amsterdam RAI should try to find some hotel in city center as every time you need to go to congress center or Amsterdam city center you need to purchase the train ticket worth 9.20 Euros. The transport passes which the conference management usually provides is valid only for Metros, Trams and buses and not for the trains.

Room Tip: Club room will be enough for a family of 4, whereas standard double for a couple and standard single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

On arrival in the room empty shampoo bottle and papers of the previous guest was still in the room. Clearly no attempt was made to clean the room. On the Posetive side the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Flippie C,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding cleanliness are very much appreciated and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for the feedback. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are Platinum Elite, Stay AWAY from this hotel.
Before Priority Club became IHG, this hotel offered Free breakfast and lounge access to Platinum member. When I checked in this Month, I expected my usual benefits.
To my biggest suprise, not only did this hotel remove lounge access but it also removed the free breakfast. Funny enough, they gave me a letter upon my arrival "explaining my benefits for platinum" which basically said the only thing I was entitled to was free internet and extra points. What a bargain!! And to top it off, they use to have Nespresso machine in the club lounge room (dont know why they call it club lounge because you dont even have access to the club lounge!!!), but not anymore. When I went downstairs to see if I could have one, they made me understand I was not qualified to have one.

So to sum it up, you wont get anything at this hotel for your platinum status. They dont care anymore. At least with the other competitors, when I reach status I get to always enjoy the lounge and free breakfast in the morning, not with the Crowne Plaza Schiphol.
Also the room are outdated, I needed binoculars to watch the tv in my room (who still has 22 inches tvs!!!), the gym is so tiny that even by myself it seams crowded!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for being a Rewards Club Platinum Elite Member. Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp
Address: Planeetbaan 2, Hoofddorp 2132 HZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via a private airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant @The Lobby. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available at a charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.