We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this Hotel we stay there every time we are in Amsterdam, the service is Excellent (the staff all speak english). The view from the top floor lounge is wonderful. The breakfast is Excellent. The proximity to the airport is excellent.
We would rather stay a little out of the city and take the train in which is just a short walk away. Amsterdam is so busy at night ( and day too) it is nice to have the hotel away from it all. To relax and get a good nights sleep.

We will be back in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Wenny 1959,

Thank you very much for your very nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam, the service they provided, the breakfast and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    456
    156
    83
    40
See reviews for
141
180
80
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my second time stay at CP Schiphol. Was upgraded to an executive room. The first impression again was really great. The airport pickup was just prompt. I did not try their breakfast but ordered for room service, though the time was give as 30 minutes, I got my food in 15 minutes. Club sandwich, Chicken and rice and soup. Was pretty good. The best part of the hotel is that it is 5 - 8 minutes walk to hoofddorp station, which I found out on this stay, which is just one station away for Schiphol aiport and 3 stations away from Amsterdam Central. The in room free internet is pretty good for just reading mails and browsing.. Dont forget to check the lake across the hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Wanderlusttrokker,

Thank you for staying with us agian and for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was a bit further away from the airport than I first thought, but in the scale of things, not really an issue. The shuttle service from Schipol is unneccesarily confusing and the info board at the airport could be clearer - as they dont charge on the way to the hotel, but do charge 7.50 Euros for the return trip. There is a different colour scheme on the airport timetable - but no real explanation as to what it means. Would make more sense if they just added a charge to the room rate so you dont get put off going to what is otherwise a decent hotel.

The room was well appointed and relatively clean, altough we did have to ask housekeeping to come and clean dried urine off the toilet seat, but things can get missed, so we didnt rate them down for that. The shower control seems a bit too complex for a jetlagged traveller - give me a simpe mixer anytime. Breakfast was excellent, good variety of things, fresh and tasty.

Facility wise, the pool and gym was well appointed and clean, and we had the place to ourselves. The jacuzzi didnt seem to work and the poolside showers seemed to be oddly controlled 15ft away from the shower heads in the high ceiling - which meant it turned off by the time you got under it or checked the temperature. Might be a clever design feature, but totally impractical. Otherwise, a nice facility.

On balance, we would use again, although with a little tweaking of their product and odd shuttle costs, it may get the volume of business it deserves.

The staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you have booked a standard room and there are at least 4 of you travelling from the airport, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jo D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We have taken good note of your comments, and really appreciate your sincerity. This will certainly assist us in achieving the high standards of service we are aiming for.

I have discussed your comments about hygiene with my Executive Housekeeper.
Furthermore I appreciate your suggestion about adding a charge for the shuttle to the roomrate. Because a lot of guests arrive with other transportation we prefer a separate shuttlebus charge.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great first impression as we arrived (even at night) ... 1 porter all by himself was straight at work collecting our tour (30+ ppl) baggages. That's really on the ball by any standard! And in no time we were checked into our room with baggages "waiting" along side the lift of our room's floor ... geez that's first class service!! Room was spacious and amenities were fully loaded. This is fantastic with a facebook's LIKE✅

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sandy_gengar58,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam and rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in our hotel and to receiving your next review. And... "nog een prettige dag gewenst".

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and a beautfully decorated lobby. The check in was easy and we were told that there was an upgrade available which made everything better. The room was extremely clean, the beds were amazing (Queen sized, american-like) and felt like home. The club lounge was well stocked, although there was not always an attendant which made things a little inconvenient. The internet was free, the parking was 15 euro a day but the amenities made the stay worth it. I would stay here again because of the short walking distance away from the train station (Hoopdorf) that was three stops away from the city center of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Become a Priority Club Member and reap the benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear SMarie_21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property. Your compliments regarding the staff are very appreciated and I am sure that they have already read them.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very kind and efficient staff, from receptionist always an smile, also very good breakfast buffet, and warm atmosphere.
Some rooms very far from lifts, but in any case quiet enough for a good sleep.
Very close from Airport and also with shuttle service.

Room Tip: Hoofddorp first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear fyepez,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and I am sure that my team will be pleased to read your compliment.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza (Schipol) for 2 nights before our departure from Amsterdam. We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and courteous at all times. We had a problem with the lock to our room on our first night. The problem was resolved while we were having dinner and we were given complimentary drinks to compensate for the inconvenience. The food was excellent and the facilities at the hotel were very good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Logan R,

Thank you for expressing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that my team members went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable. I am sure my team will be pleased to read your compliments as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via an airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant Aviator Cafe. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available free of charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.