We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Amsterdam
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

stayed for bank holiday weekend. free hotel shuttle from airport (7.50 euro charge for journey back to airport so took the train back instead at 2euro each) hotel is excellent, large modern rooms with super comfortable beds and staff especially on reception couldnt have been more helpfull. Arrived early and rooms instantly available.Stayed b & b and breakfast was a variety of cold and hot food, fresh and tasty. Price of evening meal quite pricey so we ate out.
Made use of the free pool and jacuzz, also has well equipped gym but didnt try!
The hotel is about 5 minutes from railway and bus links to Amsterdam which is approx 25 minute train ride. Transport is efficient but not very cheap (about £8 euro return to Amsterdam by train)
Hoofddorp itself is full of shops and has a lovely park. Not much nightlife there but the chinese restaurant serves a tasty banquet.
Would definately recommend the hotel if you are prepared to use the transport links to get about. Excellent stay and thanks to the hotel staff for their attentiveness.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    344
    122
    70
    35
See reviews for
100
111
68
500
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

usual standard from Crowne Plaza Hotels. Good service and good quality.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel. Nice service, good staff. Internet service varies from slow to fast depending on the time of day. Good locstion and bike use is practical and welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased with your comments with regards to the service you have received in the hotel. The speed of internet should normally not vary during the day as we have a dedicated speed guarantee 24h a day. I have asked our IT Manager to look into this.

Again thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and found the hotel quite pleasant.
The Club Room was quite comfortable and the access to the Club Lounge was of great value.
Breakfast was simply excellent, great variety of food and staff very helpful.
Just some critics: I was hoping to find more TV channels, specially CNN; you should provide some sort of rug to avoid slipping in the bath tub; there wasn't a price list for the mini-bar food and drinks.
Anyway, next time I go to Hoofddorp I will be making another booking at Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review with regards to your recent stay in our hotel.

As you mention our Club Rooms and Lounge are well equipped and make your stay even more comfortable.

Unfortunately we are for the moment limited to the TV channels which are offered to us by our local provider. All our Hotel information is stored on the information channel of our TV which also contains the minibar prices.

Again thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I'm an employee with IHG and i stayed here with a friend who is also an employee of the hotel name for 3 nights and it was the best hotel we've stayed in the staff were friendly and hilarious to talk too especially Eugene, Daniel, Lisa, Esther and Mandy as they were really professional about their jobs and serving customers and inspired me to work better in my job as a F£B Team member, their service was brilliant too as we only waited 10 mins for our food and presentation and quality was excellent i don't think their would many complaints at all, the pool was good too, could be deeper but it was great to swim in as well as the jaquzzi it was quite relaxing and spacious, i can say that about the room too, my friend agrees with this hotel and we would definetly stay again we may be back in a few months.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay in our hotel.

Its great to receive compliments like these about our staff and facilities especially if they inspire you to do your job better.

Again thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

great hotel! very clean! great guest service! i would have preferred to stay at central Amsterdam, but cleanness is a plus! as most hotels in Europe are old, dirty and ugly.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay in our hotel.

We have passed your compliments onwards to our housekeeping department and its great to read to you experience our hotel as very clean.

Again thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Big problem with this hotel is the airport pickup. Close to the airport, many airline crews stay here. When the hotel needs to collect the crew from the airport they use the bus that they normally use to collect guests from the airport. Consequently guests are left standing at the airport, in my case today for more than one hour. Marriott, Hilton etc and most other buses came two or three times while I waited for the Crowne Plaza bus. Consider getting on one of those buses and give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

We are very sorry to see that you had to wait that long for our shuttle bus. Please use the direct telephone line at the airport next time to call the hotel directly for a pick up.

Again sorry for the inconvenience and we hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via a private airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant @The Lobby. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available at a charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.