We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent if a little out the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent if a little out the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a business trip that included pleasure. It was a really clean smart hotel but there is very little around it , having said that the train station to hooffddorp is a five min walk and goes straight to the town centre ( cost 20 euros) there is also a free shuttle going to the airport so that's easy. The breakfast was a lovely with a large selection , the communal bar area is really nice , the showers in the room are gorgeous. Slept well nice and quiet. I only gave it 4 stars as its location is a bit lonesome. nice friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear caznananna,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol. I am please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I ahve noted your satisfaction with the continental breakfast and the staff. Traintickets to Amsterdam Central station are available for €9.80 return, per person.

Thank you once more for your kind feedback and I look forward to welcome you back!

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    180
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
29
109
32
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice cosy hotel was here for one night, enjoyed my stay , staff very friendly and helpful! Their breakfast is excellent, and the hotel offers free wifi, which is a bonus of you are traveling. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lindokuhle M,

I am very pleased to read the satisfaction about your stay and in particular the contintental breakfast and free WIFI.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for you next journey to the Amsterdam area.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am just home from another lovely Holiday Inn Express experience, this time at Hoofddorp, ( Amsterdam/Schipol ) Netherlands, and just like my previous review of Holiday Inn Express, Sloterdijk ( just up the road ) I return refreshed after a very pleasant and very comfortable stay.

The hotel was fronted by Nick, the manager, a charming man who makes the time to communicate and befriend his clients with ease and welcome. He wasn't alone, as the same could be said for all of his staff, each one a gem, but sadly I only have two further names to applaud, Merlijn and Natasha. How nice can these and their colleagues be? All so amazingly friendly, kind, efficient and dependable.

The hotel follows the new style Holiday Inn Express branding of blue and green, zingy and clean, the bedrooms lovely, the bathrooms gleaming like photographs in a style-catalogue. A very large breakfast room on the ground floor caters for a very comprehensive continental breakfast - the sole member of staff I saw covering the breakfast area working with marvellous efficiency ( I also saw Nick following around with a wet cloth in hand cleaning tables, so he's a multi-tasker as well as a charming guy ). Free WiFi available with very good connection speed.

There isn't a restaurant, but the hotel has great connections with local restaurants and meals can be delivered in ( cash on delivery ) and enjoyed in the neat bar/lounge area, or can be enjoyed at the tables of the breakfast room. It is however, only a 15 minute walk to the local town centre of Hoofddorp, where there are many restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. The nearest, L'hirrondelle is just 5 minutes away and is very good ( medium priced ).

This is a very convenient hotel for the airport of course, but the sound proofing is so good you really wouldn't know it. Note: they run a free shuttle bus back and forward to the airport, very handy. My group and I had a great time here, as it was so central to our requirements in the flower industry; Floraholland, Aalsmeer etc.

I can thoroughly recommend the comfort of the hotel and the warm and special welcome. Thank you Nick and staff, and hope to stay with you again soon.

Room Tip: Hoofddorp is a surprisingly nice, modern town. Good shopping, good eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Graham,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol and for your loyalty to the brand.

I am very pleased to read that the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol delivered on the brand expectations and that you felt so welcome by our team, and especially the Front Office Manager Nick and our Front desk agents Merlijn and Natascha.

Thank you for the feedback that you have provided about your stay and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night at this hotel during a business trip to Holland, we were visiting clients in Maarseen and Groningen, and we decided to be near the airport to pick up the train in the morning.
The hotel is conveniently located near Schiphol airport and particularly good if you arrive late with your flight. The free shuttle service goes from the hotel to Schiphol at 15 past and 45 past the hour. From the airport, just go outside Schiphol plaza and follow the signs for “hotel Shuttles”, the stands are outside on the right side, and you can take the Holiday Inn shuttle as well as the one for the Crowne Plaza (just make sure you tell them you are going to the nearby Holiday in Express).

The hotel seems to be brand new, and immaculately clean, which is always a plus! The rooms are simple but really nice, with comfy beds and an amazing shower. You can see it was built for short stays as there is no proper wardrobe.

This hotel doesn’t have his own restaurant, but there is one in the Crowne Plaza nearby. We decided to have dinner in the city Centre, and spent almost €60 for a taxi ride. On a second thought it was probably wiser (and definitely cheaper) to get a train from the near HOOFDDORP station or from Schiphol airport.
There is a self-service machine at reception for sandwiches, snacks and drinks.

I was quite disappointed to see that there was no cooked breakfast, therefore I was missing my eggs in the morning.

Overall, I think is the perfect place for a short business trip.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lallina1977,

Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol and for the valuable feedback that you have provided about your stay.

I have noted your feedback regarding not having hot items on the breakfast. As part of the European Holiday Inn Express standards we offer a continental breakfast included in your rate, consisting of a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, breads, pastries and selection of coffee and tea. I am pleased to read that you benefited from the complimentary shuttle service that the hotel offers and experienced a high level of cleanliness.

Thank you once more for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is 10 mins walk max. to the business areas and offices in Hoofddorp and the same to the central shopping and eating areas. The staff are very friendly, the rooms smart and clean and the service good.. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear tadleycouple,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol and for the kind recommendation after your stay.

I have noted your feedback about the friendliness of the team and the overall cleanliness and will happily share this feedback with the team.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This is a good hotel. You must remember it is an express hotel. So, no restaurant, pool, work out room, etc. But, the rooms are good, the beds are good, the toilet area is good, etc.There is a small area to buy drinks and small food items and there is a wine/beer bar.
The hotel is careful to have a map of local restaurants, the closest of which is about a five minute walk away.
Good value.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear W B,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol.

I am pleased to read that the Holiday Inn Express standards suited your travel needs and that you made use of the free shuttle bus, vending area and the local restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Perfect for longer layover!
Close to schiphol.. Complimentary bus (always on time),nice breakfast, and cool staff... all what you need...and wifi is super fast! Only one thing..I felt like some fresh air was needed inside room..but everything else was fine..Can't complain

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear VB1991,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol and for sharing your feedback.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Frank Albrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.